We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth stopping' in!”

Smoky Mountain Shakes N Dawgs
Ranked #6 of 197 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Definitely worth stopping' in!”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I visited Smoky Mountain Shakes N Dawgs after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. It's not much for looks, but once inside, we were pleasantly surprised to find a huge menu of nontraditional and quite inventive hot dogs/burgers! The pretzel cheddar bacon burger was better than any fast food restaurant and the shakes were simply delicious!! Worth trying, even when it's 35 degrees outside! Highly recommend stopping by!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    142
    52
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick lunch on the way back to our cabin. Saw the reviews and I would agree that it is great food. Owner met us at the door to greet us and we had great service the whole time. We love to try the local non chain restaurants and we would absolutely recommend this one. Itd a nice change of pace and prices are very reasonable.

Helpful?
1 Thank RollTide817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland Tn
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth looking for”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Saw this on Trip Advisor and it sounded good. Very laid back just like it should be in the Smokies. As one review said the milkshakes were worth the trip. Try the peanut butter chocolate-taste like a familiar candy cup-awesome. The dogs were great and the variety is unlimited because if it's not on the menu(dozens) then they will make it. Really good and worth looking for.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland, ohio
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews on tripadvisor, we decided we were going to stop here during our trip to Gatlinburg. We are so glad we did! We had the chili/slaw dawg, pretzel bacon cheeseburger, fries, onion straws and a chocolate malt... all of which were delicious. The hot dog nuns were toasted perfectly. My husband said it was the best pretzel bun burger he has ever had! We will make this a stop every trip we make to TN!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluebluesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miamisburg
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gotta try this place.”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Second time I,ve stopped here and will stop Everytime I come to Gatlinburg. Very nice owner aims to please and does. Had the dawgs and burgers and they are both excellant. Wife had a moonshine dawg marinated in Popcorn Suttons own special blend. Wont get any info on the special blend but the dawg was killer. I thought I made good milk shakes but these are top shelf. Tried a chocolate-peanut butter and it was the best!! Nice clean small place a short drive out of town definently worth going to. The owner also told us that Guy Fierie from Triple D ( Diners , Drive ins and Dives) is coming buy in a month or so. Good job!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hessmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smoky Mountain Shakes N Dawgs also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Smoky Mountain Shakes N Dawgs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing