We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just keep comming back”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greystone Lodge On the River
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I have been comming here since it was a Howard Johnsons back in the late 80's. I would guess that we have been there more than 10 times. Every once in a while, we try a new hotel in Gatlinburg but we keep retuning to the Greystone. We always get a room overlooking the Little Pigeon. The location is great as you can walk up town and leave you car parked at the hotel (parking in G-burg is somewhat difficult). We always spend at least one afternoon at No Way Jose's Cantina for a pitcher of Margaritas and then stumble across the parking lot to the room or the pool for an afternoon nap. The rooms are alway clean and the staff are very accomidating. Stay here if you want the true Gatlinburg experience.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side. It's great to hang out on the balcony after a long day in the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,038 - 1,044 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

Just stayed 3 nights and found the motel to be very clean and quiet. Continental breakfast was sufficient with cereal, bagels, fruit and biscuits & gravy. Excellent location for walking to everything Gatlinburg has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEKDESTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This Lodge is located in the center of town. It is no problem to walk anywhere from here. We stayed for a few nights over Memorial Day weekend and loved the location. We had a king room with a balcony overlooking the Little Pigeon River, which we enjoyed. It was very relaxing to sit and listen to the rushing water and unwind. The room was very large, although the bed could have been a little more comfy. We had a microwave and a mini fridge, both of which were handy to have. The bathrooms are a little small but I think this is an older motel. We parked in parking deck one and it was nice to have covered parking right outside of our door. There is a nice enough pool area and we swam in the pool a few times. It was clean, so no complaints. Every person we encountered from the hotel was very friendly. Check in and check out was very fast. This hotel is not fancy if that is what your taste is, however it is clean, and in an excellent location for touring around Gatlinburg. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hartgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times. Its been OK in the past, not great, but good enough that its convenience to everything made me return. Not so after my last stay! The room was really damp and dingy. Several spiders were making their homes in the corners. On the 2nd day there I stepped out of the shower to find my room door wide open. I called the front desk and was told it was probably just housekeeping and not to worry about it. Housekeeping had already visited early that morning. This hotel has become "average" at best.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alis780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

My family and I just completed a three night stay at the lodge. The location is outstanding, right in the middle of everything and a footballs throw from the best aquarium in the east. The rooms were a bit dated and very average. The restrooms in the rooms were very dated and showed lots of "wear." The free breakfast was subpar only offering cereal, oatmeal, juices, fruits, and hot biscuttes and gravy. The breakfast area was small and lines were an issue on he weekend. All in all I was ok for the money we spent, but we have had batter places in Gatlinburg

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thebeqst50316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

for the second time in a row, we booked a different hotel for our family vacation (second time due to family we were vacationing with) in Gatlinburg and were VERY upset by what we found. both times we called Greystone Lodge - they had open rooms, and very competitive prices ready and waiting. Both times the attendant at the desk held rooms for us w/o a credit card so we could get out of our awful places and to them. as a mother of two small children the location is PERFECT for us to walk out of our room and onto the parkway. I use a double stroller which worked well with the handicapped ramp at the end of our building, we never used the Trolley but it is nice knowing it is right there if we ever do decide to.
the pool does however mislead you with its 5' markers, it was at least 8' deep in the deep end, and 6' or better in the "middle" depth. We plan to continue to use Greystone Lodge for our future visits - nice staff, clean large rooms and great location. One small "issue" is no microwave for the rooms, would be handy but not a deal breaker by any means. Never tried the breakfast provided but the cleaning staff was always willing to hand out extra towels, extra coffee packs and anything else without question or hesitation. I also noticed that the parking situation is not enforced like the signs say - but we never had an issue being able to park - maybe because we walked most everywhere everyday except times we went to Pigeon Forge.

Extra pointer for first-timers or people revisiting Gatlinburg after years away - go up (turn left between Bennetts and BUBBA GUMP SHRIMP) go apx 1/2 mile its on on left) to the LOG CABIN PANCAKE HOUSE for your breakfasts --- it is REALLY good and a good deal for the food MUCH better than the Pancake Pantry ever thought about being. They serve breakfast entire time open and a lunch buffet or lunch menu from 11-2.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This hotel is an older property that needs some renovations. While not terrible, mediocre is a better description. With a room with 2 double beds, the bed nearest the window is a mere foot or so from the air conditioner that will blow freezing air on as you try to sleep. I put the ironing board beteween me and the AC and draped a blanket on it to shield the air off of me. While blocking the air, the problem is that it causes the thermostat to sense it is colder than the room is and then you get hot.

The tile in the tub/shower area is old, green and patched in many spots.

The room does have a refrigerator which was nice and a flat screen tv but with limited channels.

Little Pigeon River does flow along the backside of the hotel and we did have a balcony overlooking the river, but the balcony area could use being powerwashed to whiten the dingy concrete floor.

Breakfast consists of 2 choices of dry cereal (frosted flakes and something else) , bisquits & gravy (who puts gravy on bisquits?), apples, instant grits packs and instant oatmeal packs. They did have 3 types of juice. After one visit we did not go back the following mornings.

We ate at Pancake Pantry, just a short walk away, the next morning, BUT did not realize until paying there they ONLY TAKE CASH. NO CREDIT CARDS.

We were there for a school trip with two buses of middle school kids. Some other groups were there also. I susupect they get alot of group travel.

Bushes along the lower floor rooms facing the parking lot were mostly dead. Parking garage was nice for floors 2-5 since it rained every day we were there.

Gatlinburg is full of tourist trap shops, expensive attractions for kids, and old time photo shops.
Everything seemed to cost 10 -20 dollars and the kids spent money like drunken sailors on mirror mazes, haunted houses, put put golf, old time photos and ice cream. The mountains although within view were not even noticed by junvenile throng of unleashed youth.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KennDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Historic Nature Trail
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Lodge On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Lodge On the River

Address: 559 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201 (Formerly Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £33 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 257
Also Known As:
Greystone Lodge At The Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel At The Aquarium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing