We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating, low flow”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greystone Lodge On the River
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Needs updating, low flow”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This hotel is in such a great location, but the rooms need serious updating. They advertise mini fridges in each room, but they are REALLY mini, as are the microwaves (in the king jacuzzi suite only). The low-flow toilets and showers are disappointing, and the toilet paper/tissues are like low-grade sandpaper. The TVs in the normal rooms were bigger than in the king jacuzzi suites, even though they were the more expensive rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly-M-Neal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    324
    132
    47
    46
See reviews for
440
372
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Ok...the hotel is on the older side, but it is clean and right in the middle of Gatlinburg! We had covered parking and a spot right outside our door! The trolley and Ripleys Aquarium are right across the street! We were busy from sun up to sun down and this was a great place to shower and rest and save my $$$ for all the other activities in and around Gatlinburg!! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pscandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Alabama, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have always stayed at Greystone when we visit the mountains.Love the location-it's so close to everything you can usually walk.Love to feed the ducks and little critters that live by the stream just outside.I love stepping outside and hearing the water rushing-it's so peaceful to me.I have never experienced any problems.The staff is always nice and friendly.The rooms are always clean and now they have fridges in the room.It's nothing fancy, but it's a nice,clean place to stay.Just got back from there and will be staying there next trip.Also, love the free breakfast in the morning of biscuits and gravy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Nothing really to brag about. Just a nice budget and family friendly motel. Nice pool and close to attractions. Wish they had wifi and larger beds (no one sleeps in a full size bed anymore) nice breakfast but it's the same breakfast each day and that got old really fast. Overall a nice place for a family on a budget to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broncobait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

This was a last second put together family vacation. Hotel was great. Room was clean. Loved that we got a creek side room at the last moments notice. We had a double bed room since my stepson was with us. Only complaint I have was the small beds. Ok for one but not two adults sharing. But that can be easily fixed. Was able to use pool this time. Very nice size. Wish it had hand rail for the stairs though. But overall it was great room for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kygirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
812 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Large dated room in a good location to walking to the shops and restaurants downtown. We had a "King Deluxe" room. It had a nice view of the river from our first floor porch. The room is very dated, however, it was clean enough and comfortable enough. We would stay here again. It is right next door one of the best Aquariums I have ever been too. Friendly desk staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevewilhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I have been comming here since it was a Howard Johnsons back in the late 80's. I would guess that we have been there more than 10 times. Every once in a while, we try a new hotel in Gatlinburg but we keep retuning to the Greystone. We always get a room overlooking the Little Pigeon. The location is great as you can walk up town and leave you car parked at the hotel (parking in G-burg is somewhat difficult). We always spend at least one afternoon at No Way Jose's Cantina for a pitcher of Margaritas and then stumble across the parking lot to the room or the pool for an afternoon nap. The rooms are alway clean and the staff are very accomidating. Stay here if you want the true Gatlinburg experience.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side. It's great to hang out on the balcony after a long day in the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#17 of 78 in Gatlinburg
923 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Lodge On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Lodge On the River

Property: Greystone Lodge On the River
Address: 559 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201 (Formerly Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 257
Also Known As:
Greystone Lodge At The Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel At The Aquarium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing