We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Our Stay at Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium, Gatlinburg, TN” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greystone Lodge On the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greystone Lodge On the River
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Stay at Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium, Gatlinburg, TN”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stay at this hotel twice a year, every year, on our bi-annual trips to Gatlinburg. Every year that we go back, the hotel changes, and not always for the better. They have gone to an almost all mexican staff & some of them can barely speak or comprehend english, so communication with the housekeeping staff was an issue. The LOCATION is excellent. Downtown Gatlinburg & within walking distance of the restaurants & shopping on the strip. I am debating on looking for an alternative location to stay for our next trip. The quality of this hotel has definitely declined over the years due to changes in management, how things are done there & there is such a dramatic difference from our first trip to Gatlinburg & subsequent trips that we have made.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    298
    122
    48
    45
See reviews for
374
323
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamersville, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I haven't had time away in over 5 years and for my birthday, he booked us a weekend away from the kiddos, in Gatlinburg. We searched a few other hotels and felt the reviews seemed mid range, pricing and location of Greystone fit our needs, etc. He called and booked on July 16th and spoke to a very friendly young lady who advised our late night check in was perfectly fine, as it happens all the time with those traveling a far distance.

We soon found out, upon checkin that the late night Staff is UNBELIEVABLY rude! Counter attendants were arguing loudly with one another when we arrived. My husband attempted joking to lighten the mood and make it a little more bearable. The cashier said "It's no use joking w/ me. I don't have no sense of humor" and continued to make rude comments under her breath during the check in. My husband made mention that Tennessee was on a “State wide tax free weekend” and before he could ask if the hotel was included in this special; was quickly snapped at “We since we don’t sell school supplies..... that doesn't include us”.

My husband was then instructed to make sure we only parked in the side lot to the left of the building or we "would be towed". We did as we were "told" and there were no parking spots available. However; we saw 8 spots roped off. We drove back to the front desk, and inquired as to why there were no spots open except the chained off spots. We were informed that the chained off spots were for a group of guests coming Saturday night and snapped at "do NOT park there!" What an ordeal this was becoming! All we wanted was to check in and SLEEP! After my husband said he just wanted our money back and we'd find another hotel (hopefully with much more professional staff!) an older employee told us we could have his spot since he was leaving. The counter attendant also made the snarky comment "Well, normal check in is at 4, so..." Again, completely rude and insinuating that had we checked in at 4, we would have found a spot. Who cares what time you check in?! There should be parking for all rented rooms! The employee spot was in the back end of the hotel, in a darkened area and we had quite a hard time fitting our Town & Country Mini Van in the spot and had to figure out just how we were going to get it back out the next day.

When we got into the room everything looked good. That is until he turned on the AC unit. It was stuck on 70 degrees and high fan. All night, my husband had to get up to turn it off or turn it back on, to make the room comfortable. (the two attempts we made to call the front desk. we were placed on hold and never returned to.)

The next morning we left the room at 10 am to go do some shopping and things in town. When we arrived back at our room at 5:30, Housekeeping hadn't been to make the bed or restock our towels. Not a huge deal but, we generally expect that when we travel as it's a common practice.

When we went to check out Sunday morning, he was asked his name and then shuffled out the door without a chance to bring up our multiple concerns from our stay.

Overall I am HIGHLY disappointed in our stay at Greystone. The rooms on the website are boasted as being “newly remodeled" however; the door to our balcony looked as if someone tried to break out with a claw-hammer and was then, painted over. The toilet paper holder in the bathroom was broken and the roll kept falling off. The shower tiles had missing grout and the cable was choppy and HBO didn't come in at all.. just fuzzy lines. The beds were old and just had "new" comforters thrown on them to spruce them up a bit. The hardest mattresses. We both woke up with sore backs both mornings.

We will not be booking here again. The "convenience" of being near the strip is NOT worth it! The trolley's make various stops on the strip and in Pigeon Forge! We generally stay at Comfort Suites, Kodak and I'm kicking myself that we decided to go with this place. Comfort Suites is amazing and take great care of their guests!

Room Tip: IF YOU DECIDE TO STAY HERE: We did enjoy how quiet the room was. It was on the second floor right in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mimigwen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norlina, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The newly renovated room was great, a nice bathroom, a good sleeping bed and roomy. The service was great and we enjoyed being there. Ask for a room on the river. It seems like you aren't in a bustling tourist town when you go out on the balcony and sit down and listen to the river roar. a good place to sit and read and relax. The hotel staff was very helpful and when the tv station we were watching went out, they had someone within 5 min. to come and check on it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river and ask for the newly renovated room. We were on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galion, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

First time at this hotel. The location cannot be beat! Short walk to the Parkway in Gatlinburg for shopping, eating and people watching. The rooms have been updated recently and are nice. We enjoyed the balcony over looking the stream....especially with all of the rain....the water levels really changed. My husband could have spent hours watching the ducks. A word of warning, I did not catch that there were not hair dryers in the rooms. I missed that on the website so I have not been able to blow dry my hair while here......little frizzy, little flat so the good thing with the rain is my hair hasn't looked any worse then it would have normally

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed there this past weekend had a sewer pipe burst on our floor the smell was terrible!!! Didn't know what had happened and was walking down the hall and got splashed with sewage on my legs (gross) then they emptied the carpet cleaner outside where the smoking area is so you got to smell it then along with having toilet paper and sewer when you went out to smoke. If im not mistaken that drain leads to the creek and if thats the case there should be some criminal action taken against this. Not only this but we got a suite and when we turned the jacuzzi on black particles came out of the jets. Very very sorry that we stayed here and wont be back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katelyn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We loved the location! It is right across from the aquarium and right at a Trolley stop. It is steps away from the Main Street of shops in downtown Gatlinburg. The room was very clean. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad locations for the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 139JanetP139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

rooms were grade, but location was spectacular. Right next to the aquarioum and walking distance to everything else. shopping, chairlift, restraunts, etc. parking was under hotel which was nice. dont opt for prettier suite as the regular rooms have a better river view!

Room Tip: dont opt for prettier suite as the regular rooms have a better river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJenniferToney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#8 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Lodge On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Lodge On the River

Property: Greystone Lodge On the River
Address: 559 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201 (Formerly Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#9 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 257
Also Known As:
Greystone Lodge At The Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel At The Aquarium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing