We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greystone Lodge On the River
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed there again over Mother's Day weekend. The room was great. I love the new rooms. The breakfast was okay. Our only problem was at check in. There was only one working the desk and she answered the phone right after we entered the lobby. The person on the other end was asking a lot of questions (from the sounds of the one sided conversation, the person on the other end was someone who had stayed in the past. We had to wait over 5 minutes to check in. She did apologize to us for the wait.
We cannot wait till the renovations are completely done in Building C, as that is our favorite.
I do wish that they had microwaves in the room. That would be great to reheat leftovers from the restaurants but I will not complain about not having one. We are looking to book our Nov. trip.

Room Tip: River side is the best. You can feed and watch the ducks from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was a little dubious about staying here because it wasn't a "chain" hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in the newly renovated part of the hotel. The hallways smelled fresh and new, which is always your first impression. The rooms were great, with a balcony. The river was directly below. Awesome to sit out there and relax! The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever had. The room was very clean and modern looking. We parked inside the parking garage. The door from the parking garage is right outside your door. All very handy since we were on the 4th floor! You can leave your vehicle there during your stay and ride the free shuttle in town or walk. The only unhandy thing was the long walk we had to the lobby for breakfast, but that was really quite minor. The kids loved the pool which had a slide! We would DEFINITELY stay here next time!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newly renovated part overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Fresh smelling hallway and room. Had a flat screen tv, we were not in the newly renovated rooms,which did not seem to old looking,it actually had the appearance of a a newly renovated room,and was very spacious. Beds, bathroom and carpet was clean. Balcony was big and had a great view. The beds and pillows were too soft which made it uncomfortable to sleep.The bathtub tile was green and the bathroom door looked vintage and needed updating.Instead of supplying travel size shampoos,they supplied the ones that tear open ?? The refrigerator light did not work. No decaf coffee was supplied. The breakfast was AWFUL .. HARD COLD EGGS, NO CHEESE, NO MEAT, NO WAFFLES HARD DONUT HOLE, AND HARD BISCUITS, COFFEE TASTED LIKE WATER,CROWDED LIKE HELL. CAN NOT WALK AROUND ! Its a shame that they cant keep it all GOOD !

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank shiva e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Parking was tight for trucks bigger than an S10. And be sure to have your license plate # when you check in. As the reception wasn't pleasant, I will say this prefer the location for walking the strip, but had I know hey have a bran new Fairfield Inn at the opposite end from where he old one used to be, coming into gatlinburg I would have stayed there. Definitely ask for an updated room if available!!! They do offer military disc., along with SEVERAL other stores, hotels and attractions, take advantage we saved over 300$ ad did so much more because of it! I usually don't ask but I'm glad I did.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Natalie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First time staying here and for sure will be back, the room was clean front desk help was great no issues at all at anytime. The location was even better once the car is parked you really have no need to get in again. you can walk to anything you need or trolley which is literally right beside the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mikeb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stay at this hotel twice a year, every year, on our bi-annual trips to Gatlinburg. Every year that we go back, the hotel changes, and not always for the better. They have gone to an almost all mexican staff & some of them can barely speak or comprehend english, so communication with the housekeeping staff was an issue. The LOCATION is excellent. Downtown Gatlinburg & within walking distance of the restaurants & shopping on the strip. I am debating on looking for an alternative location to stay for our next trip. The quality of this hotel has definitely declined over the years due to changes in management, how things are done there & there is such a dramatic difference from our first trip to Gatlinburg & subsequent trips that we have made.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cecilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I haven't had time away in over 5 years and for my birthday, he booked us a weekend away from the kiddos, in Gatlinburg. We searched a few other hotels and felt the reviews seemed mid range, pricing and location of Greystone fit our needs, etc. He called and booked on July 16th and spoke to a very friendly young lady who advised our late night check in was perfectly fine, as it happens all the time with those traveling a far distance.

We soon found out, upon checkin that the late night Staff is UNBELIEVABLY rude! Counter attendants were arguing loudly with one another when we arrived. My husband attempted joking to lighten the mood and make it a little more bearable. The cashier said "It's no use joking w/ me. I don't have no sense of humor" and continued to make rude comments under her breath during the check in. My husband made mention that Tennessee was on a “State wide tax free weekend” and before he could ask if the hotel was included in this special; was quickly snapped at “We since we don’t sell school supplies..... that doesn't include us”.

My husband was then instructed to make sure we only parked in the side lot to the left of the building or we "would be towed". We did as we were "told" and there were no parking spots available. However; we saw 8 spots roped off. We drove back to the front desk, and inquired as to why there were no spots open except the chained off spots. We were informed that the chained off spots were for a group of guests coming Saturday night and snapped at "do NOT park there!" What an ordeal this was becoming! All we wanted was to check in and SLEEP! After my husband said he just wanted our money back and we'd find another hotel (hopefully with much more professional staff!) an older employee told us we could have his spot since he was leaving. The counter attendant also made the snarky comment "Well, normal check in is at 4, so..." Again, completely rude and insinuating that had we checked in at 4, we would have found a spot. Who cares what time you check in?! There should be parking for all rented rooms! The employee spot was in the back end of the hotel, in a darkened area and we had quite a hard time fitting our Town & Country Mini Van in the spot and had to figure out just how we were going to get it back out the next day.

When we got into the room everything looked good. That is until he turned on the AC unit. It was stuck on 70 degrees and high fan. All night, my husband had to get up to turn it off or turn it back on, to make the room comfortable. (the two attempts we made to call the front desk. we were placed on hold and never returned to.)

The next morning we left the room at 10 am to go do some shopping and things in town. When we arrived back at our room at 5:30, Housekeeping hadn't been to make the bed or restock our towels. Not a huge deal but, we generally expect that when we travel as it's a common practice.

When we went to check out Sunday morning, he was asked his name and then shuffled out the door without a chance to bring up our multiple concerns from our stay.

Overall I am HIGHLY disappointed in our stay at Greystone. The rooms on the website are boasted as being “newly remodeled" however; the door to our balcony looked as if someone tried to break out with a claw-hammer and was then, painted over. The toilet paper holder in the bathroom was broken and the roll kept falling off. The shower tiles had missing grout and the cable was choppy and HBO didn't come in at all.. just fuzzy lines. The beds were old and just had "new" comforters thrown on them to spruce them up a bit. The hardest mattresses. We both woke up with sore backs both mornings.

We will not be booking here again. The "convenience" of being near the strip is NOT worth it! The trolley's make various stops on the strip and in Pigeon Forge! We generally stay at Comfort Suites, Kodak and I'm kicking myself that we decided to go with this place. Comfort Suites is amazing and take great care of their guests!

Room Tip: IF YOU DECIDE TO STAY HERE: We did enjoy how quiet the room was. It was on the second floor right in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Mimigwen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Lodge On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Lodge On the River

Address: 559 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201 (Formerly Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £34 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 257
Also Known As:
Greystone Lodge At The Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel At The Aquarium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing