We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greystone Lodge On the River
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 queen room that had been recently remodeled. The room was very clean, and the beds were comfortable. We requested a stream side room, which I would advise. It was nice to sit outside when we came back at night and unwind listening to the creek. The location is great as it is right across the street from the main trolley station, but it also a quick walk to the main strip. The breakfast was not my favorite but it did the trick. The staff was very helpful, especially on helping locate coffee at 6:40 in the morning!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haidee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

889 - 895 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Excellent location and the larger family rooms are great for families traveling with more than 2 children. Rooms have recently been remodeled and were very roomy/comfortable. Also, rooms are right over the river with a balcony. Quite rooms with convenient location to shops/restaurants. Two bathrooms is a bonus!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I am a fanatic when it comes to staying in a clean room. The thought of bed bugs makes me cringe. I requested to see our room before we paid and the clerk was very kind and understanding. The rooms are newly remodeled and super clean. We paid $137 for a weekend night so it was a but more than others on the strip but.. you get what you pay for. Execllent location and walking distance in the heart of Gatlinburg. Delicious continental hot breakfast including biscuits and gravy, toast, oatmeal, cereals and juices. Pool was heated and had a water slide. This will be our place of choice for years to come.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RNmama09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed there again over Mother's Day weekend. The room was great. I love the new rooms. The breakfast was okay. Our only problem was at check in. There was only one working the desk and she answered the phone right after we entered the lobby. The person on the other end was asking a lot of questions (from the sounds of the one sided conversation, the person on the other end was someone who had stayed in the past. We had to wait over 5 minutes to check in. She did apologize to us for the wait.
We cannot wait till the renovations are completely done in Building C, as that is our favorite.
I do wish that they had microwaves in the room. That would be great to reheat leftovers from the restaurants but I will not complain about not having one. We are looking to book our Nov. trip.

Room Tip: River side is the best. You can feed and watch the ducks from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was a little dubious about staying here because it wasn't a "chain" hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in the newly renovated part of the hotel. The hallways smelled fresh and new, which is always your first impression. The rooms were great, with a balcony. The river was directly below. Awesome to sit out there and relax! The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever had. The room was very clean and modern looking. We parked inside the parking garage. The door from the parking garage is right outside your door. All very handy since we were on the 4th floor! You can leave your vehicle there during your stay and ride the free shuttle in town or walk. The only unhandy thing was the long walk we had to the lobby for breakfast, but that was really quite minor. The kids loved the pool which had a slide! We would DEFINITELY stay here next time!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newly renovated part overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Fresh smelling hallway and room. Had a flat screen tv, we were not in the newly renovated rooms,which did not seem to old looking,it actually had the appearance of a a newly renovated room,and was very spacious. Beds, bathroom and carpet was clean. Balcony was big and had a great view. The beds and pillows were too soft which made it uncomfortable to sleep.The bathtub tile was green and the bathroom door looked vintage and needed updating.Instead of supplying travel size shampoos,they supplied the ones that tear open ?? The refrigerator light did not work. No decaf coffee was supplied. The breakfast was AWFUL .. HARD COLD EGGS, NO CHEESE, NO MEAT, NO WAFFLES HARD DONUT HOLE, AND HARD BISCUITS, COFFEE TASTED LIKE WATER,CROWDED LIKE HELL. CAN NOT WALK AROUND ! Its a shame that they cant keep it all GOOD !

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank shiva e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Parking was tight for trucks bigger than an S10. And be sure to have your license plate # when you check in. As the reception wasn't pleasant, I will say this prefer the location for walking the strip, but had I know hey have a bran new Fairfield Inn at the opposite end from where he old one used to be, coming into gatlinburg I would have stayed there. Definitely ask for an updated room if available!!! They do offer military disc., along with SEVERAL other stores, hotels and attractions, take advantage we saved over 300$ ad did so much more because of it! I usually don't ask but I'm glad I did.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Natalie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Historic Nature Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Lodge On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Lodge On the River

Address: 559 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3201 (Formerly Greystone Lodge at the Aquarium)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £32 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 257
Also Known As:
Greystone Lodge At The Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel Gatlinburg
Greystone Hotel At The Aquarium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing