We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehhh not what I expected”
Review of Wild Plum Tea Room

Wild Plum Tea Room
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ehhh not what I expected”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Well we went here being because it was the #1 restaurant per tripadvisor and not quite sure why.. Yes the tea is good and they're muffin are good too but the food lacked taste altogether and didn't quite give you a wow factor. The salads are different but they also are severely lacking in the taste dept. We tried a couple desserts but again they were lacking. Yes the food is decent but nothing worth driving for. Oh and it's not really in gatlinberg it's on the outside city limits so be prepared for a long drive and parking sucks. Staff was uncoordinated and seemed to not know what to do or what tables were theirs. Save yourself a trip sorry

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    116
    43
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, SC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Mountain Restaurant”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Wild Plum Tea Room was a perfect experience. My family ate outside on a beautiful summer day. My husband got the lobster pie which was awesome. I got the Wild Plum Medley, and everything was delicious. I was very impressed with my daughter's grilled cheese kids meal. It came with fruit making the face of a girl with a bow in her hair. We got the amaretto bread pudding and brownie with homemade chocolate chip ice cream for dessert. They both tasted like heaven. If you prefer high quality over quantity I'd highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank squeekcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fresh, quality food”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

One of the few places for a foodie to enjoy around Gatlinburg. We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. There were a lot of choices and everything was freshly made. Parking is a little limited, but we happened to be there when a large group was having a party, so that may not always be the case.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Elinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great find off the beaten path!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We found this place via Trip Advisor. It's not in the hustle and bustle of Gatlinburg, which was nice... yet, only 15 minutes from most of the main attractions. And, it's a lovely drive!
We were seated promptly on a Friday, for lunch. I have been to restaurants similar to this one, with small, quaint tea room/café atmosphere, yet original in menu and taste. I liked this place! I enjoyed lunch with my husband and four year-old son. They had nice options for children. My son had a chicken and cheese tortilla wrap, accompanied with various fruits (kiwi, pineapple, grapes, berries). The chicken was tender, like rotisserie chicken. I had the lunch trio with their chunky, chicken salad with apples, tomato bisque, and yummy pasta salad. The chilled fruit tea was good, not the very best I've ever had, but I make fruit teas at home, and have tried so many at various restaurants. Still, yummy and was served with a slice of orange in the glass.
The service was great. Our waitress was so lovely and friendly. We really enjoyed lunch here!
I wouldn't take young children here... It's more of an atmosphere for adults, or kids that have good table manners and can sit still, in my opinion. After all - it's a tea room! But, my four-year old enjoyed it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagamore Hills, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Tea Room is a Misnomer”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a unique restaurant with unusual and delicious entrees for lunch. We tried several things that we have never had before and thought it was terrific. However, my idea of a tea room is having several varieties of tea to choose from. This is not the case. In fact, it is either a hot or cold blend of tea with other added juices, sugar, and spices. It is very tasty, but not a tea lover's paradise. If it was advertised as an eclectic cafe, I would have given it a 5 star rating!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank froglady607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Plum Tea Room also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Wild Plum Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing