We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Wonderful, comfortable stay with friendly, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, comfortable stay with friendly, helpful staff”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We were in Gatlinburg in the end of December til the first of January. We had a wonderful stay at Carr's.

The staff was friendly, helpful, and prompt. We had some issues with our toilet one night and they sent someone immediately to fix it.

The room was not huge, nor the appliances state of the art, but it was cozy and very clean. Not a single hint of bugs, mildew, or dust. Furniture, appliances, and paint were well maintained.

This hotel does not advertise wifi, but we stayed in room 19A (right above the office) and had perfect internet connection the whole time. And were even able to stream movies on our laptop.

I saw when we were looking in to this hotel that some people complained about the comfort of the bed and I can see what they were talking about (the mattress is quite firm), but we slept very well every night and it was not an issue for us.

Carr's is located off traffic light 3. The center of town is around traffic light 6 (about 1-1.5 miles) We walked to town (to Ober, restaurants, attractions, and bars) at least twice a day with no problems at all. We had no reason to drive the entire time we were there.

Lastly, the price is amazing considering all you get and compared to similarly located places. It was a great deal!

We had an excellent stay and will stay again next time we are in Gatlinburg! Thanks Carr's! :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lydiajane1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    117
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
202
120
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
484 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We spent our honeymoon in Gatlinburg 38 years ago and have made return trips almost every year since. Carr's has been a favorite place to stay for many reasons. The staff has always been accommodating and helpful. The location is close to downtown without being in a crowded area. It is across a creek from Hwy. 321, so it is quieter. There is a nice breakfast place (Flapjacks) just up the street within walking distance. We had a favorite motel room we reserved for years until my husband found this little log cabin on the property (see picture). There is a large room with bed, jacuzzi, and recliners in front of a fireplace. An addition to the original cabin provides a small bathroom with shower and a tiny kitchen area (small refrigerator, microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot and sink). A beautiful snow arrived on our second morning and the cabin looked lovely. On a previous visit, it was warm enough to enjoy the porch swing and to eat outside at the table.

Room Tip: Carr's has many choices; we have stayed in a motel room, a chalet off site and this cute log cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenkins
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It is a little bit country/backwoods, but, so worth the price. We got a room that was the size of an apartment. It had two bedrooms with a livingroom/kitchen and a fireplace. It was a full kitchen and there was plenty of moving around room. It is close to downtown Gatlinburg, so it is esay access to fun!
The price is below what you would pay for most motels/hotels in the area. It is worth trying.

Room Tip: Choose the apartment size/full kitchen rooms, they are much better than the average, double bedded r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenkinsHappyvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

If you want to feel like you are in the mountains then Carr's is a good choice. You are off the road and somewhat secluded. There is a stream that runs thru the property and a covered bridge that crosses the creek. If you are looking for a place that is family friendly this is your place. If you are looking for 5 star luxury, go elsewhere, but if you are looking for a quiet, restful place, Carr's is a good fit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bulld0gS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Me and my husband spent the weekend here at Carrs. The price was affordable for our budget. Our cottage was very clean and comfortable. we had great service they were helpful and courteous. We will stay here again and highly recommend the stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julietharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

So we took a spontaneous trip to Gatlinburg this past weekend to look at the leaves, and luckily we found Carr's. Carr's is not located on the main strip but not a far walk from it, about 3 blocks. Which was fine with me. Now this is by no means a brand new place but again that's fine with me, our room was very clean, older but I liked it. For the price you can't beat it. We had a small kitchenette, a porch with a table , right by the stream, comfortable bed, and decent size bathroom. There was also a charcoal grill right by the porch outside of our room. The service checking in and out was great. Very nice people. My only negative to our stay at Carr's was our neighbors in the complex beside us, but Carr's couldn't help that and you will have noisy neighbors about anywhere. They have great prices on their rooms, they have a lot to choose from, cabins, apartment type rooms, regular hotel type rooms...we will defiantly stay here again! Thank you Carr's for a great stay!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kdobbs4211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had the chance to get away for a long weekend get-away. I haven't been to Gatlinburg in 7 years, but knew as soon as I was asked to plan a get-away, I would want to stay again with Carr's Northside Cottages. We reserved Chalet #701..it had 2 queen size rooms, 2 full bathrooms, a nice size living space with fireplace, inside jacuzzi and 3 decks with table and chairs. We only booked for Friday and Saturday night, but had the chance to stay 1 additional night (which got for 1/2 off the nightly rate). The staff at Carr's couldn't have been more professional and helpful. The Chalet was easy to find and kept very clean, and we had plenty of towels and firewood! I would recommend Carr's Northside Cottages to anyone looking for a nice place at a reasonable price in Gatlinburg!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioGirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#39 of 78 in Gatlinburg
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
446 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#34 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zoders Inn & Suites
Zoders Inn & Suites
#11 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Johnson's Inn
Johnson's Inn
#42 of 78 in Gatlinburg
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel

Property: Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
Address: 421 W Laurel Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5072
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#21 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are currently closed for a complete remodel. For those of you that had reservations for 2017... due to the loss of our office, laundry, and other structures in the recent wildfire we are currently unable to comfortably accommodate guests. However, our future is bright as we continue to move forward. We are very excited for this new chapter in our family business. We would like to thank our loyal family of guests for their love and support. The Carr Family ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carr`s Northside Cottages Hotel Gatlinburg
Carr`s Northside Cottages And Motel
Carrs Northside Hotel
Carrs Northside Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing