We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“37 year Carr's customer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My family and I have been going to Carr's since 1977. Seems as if each stay gets better and better. The last 7 years I make at least 2 - 3 trips to Carr's.
The owners and staff are the best bunch I and my family has ever delt with in the Motel / Hotel
industry. Last year my Mother's family from across the country choose Carr's for a reunion in which the owners and staff went out of their way to help with.
We have always found the accomadations clean and the grounds well kept.
Will be traveling back in August for my second trip of the year and totally looking forward to it.
Carr's - Keep up the GREAT! work.

Room Tip: Carr's has any kind of room you can think of. Just ask the desk staff when you call to reserve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice, once in Spring 2012 and again last week. I rented an apartment creek side the first time and a cottage the second. My first experience was great! I was pleased with the amount of space and I was ok that it was old. This time I was not as happy. Our first night we discovered voracious ants in the kitchen! We called down to the office and were told someone would come in the morning to spray since we didn't want our daughter in there let alone the rest of us. The next night we came back to dead ant bodies all over the counter and window sill in the kitchen. Ok, gross. One of the chairs was also broken and they said they would fix it. Ok that was done fine. The following night we came home to water all over the kitchen floor and into the living room. Not cool at all. Then I started noticing that the toilet seats were really worn and it's like $10-20 to replace one? So it seems like whoever owns it now is not that interested in proper maintenence? A few small things would perk it up. We talked to the manager who said she would talk to the owner about at least a night refund since two nights were very inconvenient. When we went to check out the owner was standing right there and never once looked at us, spoke to us or apologized. That is what finally pissed me off. I can let a lot go with some sincere empathy but her behavior was so disappointing in an area that prides itself on friendliness. I went there not because it was the cheapest but because I am a loyal customer until you act like you don't want my business! Next time we will go anywhere else because of all these things. Then we get home to find out they double charged us! Let's see how they handle that! I am hopeful that the owner will reach out, solve the problem and apologize for the inconvenience.

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank Lulu8098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyatCarrs, Manager at Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Of course, we care about our customers and their comfort during their stay. The problems that were reported during the stay were promptly attended to with care, consideration and apologies. Regarding the double charge to the credit card, there was a charge for the accommodations and a separate charge of a different amount for Dollywood tickets that the guest purchased during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Other places had rooms, however, this had the king we wanted, on the CREEK, and the prices were spot on!!! If you want room service, it's there, but we don't do too much to the room, so we just exchanged towels, and left it at that. We just really needed to get away and not be tethered by other meands, phone or otherwise. It wasn't the ideal with all the bells and whistles, BUT, we had everything we needed and more. The room was very clean. Well appointed and comfortable.

Room Tip: no restaurant, but close to walk everywhere!! All kinds of rooms. Best pricing!! We loved this pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I waited until the last minute to decide to go to Gatlinburg for the Memorial Day weekend. Unable to get a "reasonable" on-line reservation through the various travel/hotel websites, I thought about Carr's. My family vacationed there many times when I was a child (more than 50 years ago!). Very much to my surprise, I was able to get a room at Carr's for a reasonable rate. I had an enjoyable room with a balcony that overlooked the creek. The room was large with two queen beds and was very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bk8mile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved our cabin! We had a jacuzzi in the room that was amazing! Great value and great staff! Definitely would return! Just outside of downtown but close enough to walk to downtown and avoid all those parking fees. Perfect!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DOuellette0337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

An interesting combination of various architectures.
Our room had a kitchen. It has seen some years; but was clean and well provisioned.

The staff was friendly and very helpful.
We enjoyed the hot tub each evening.

Far enough out of Gatlinburg to be away from the crowds, but easy to get into town and to the Great Smokeis National Park.

Good value. We would return for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My family stayed here for 2 nights very nice clean place to stay. Not real fancy but rooms were clean and it was on the river.It is less than half the price of other hotels in Gatlinburg so if your looking to save some money this is your best choice . It's only a mile out of town so you could walk to town in just a few minutes. Great place will stay again next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 78 in Gatlinburg
75 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
1.1 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#35 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zoders Inn & Suites
Zoders Inn & Suites
#15 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gatlinburg Inn
Gatlinburg Inn
#6 of 78 in Gatlinburg
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr's Northside Cottages & Motel

Address: 421 W Laurel Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5072
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#18 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £43 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are currently closed for a complete remodel. For those of you that had reservations for 2017... due to the loss of our office, laundry, and other structures in the recent wildfire we are currently unable to comfortably accommodate guests. However, our future is bright as we continue to move forward. We are very excited for this new chapter in our family business. We would like to thank our loyal family of guests for their love and support. The Carr Family ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carr`s Northside Cottages And Motel
Carr`s Northside Cottages Hotel Gatlinburg
Carrs Northside Hotel
Carrs Northside Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing