We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go, it is wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckhorn Inn

Buckhorn Inn
Ranked #50 of 195 Restaurants in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Elliston, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go, it is wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a special place. Go for a special occasion, or make any occasion special by going here. When you go, arrive early and set on the porch or in the library for pre dinner conversation and wonderful views. The staff was great describing the menu for me when I made the reservations. This is important as there is no a la carte. It is a four course meal. The crab cakes over fried green tomato was delicious. The salad dressing complemented the high quality fresh vegetables and greens. The bread was French style with a crunchy crust and soft interior. The main course was chicken with some of best rice pilaf I have ever tasted. Dessert was chocolate cake with real vanilla ice cream. Yum. I recommend you try their spiced ice tea. You won't regret it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sturat911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    26
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Special Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This place gave us a nice, quiet experience for our anniversary breakfast. We both went w/ the apple waffles they had, and we enjoyed all of the other food that came w/ the meal as well. It pretty rare that I'll eat pineapple, but it was absolutely perfect here. I would have liked more options for breakfast, and we had to inquire about regular sugar for our coffee, but as we were not staying at the B&B, I admit I'm nitpicking a little. The service was superb, and the peace & quiet here is fantastic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rootabena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOUNT JULIET
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Lovely Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful place for dinner! The views were amazing and the four-course meal was delicious. We brought our own wine which was opened for us so we could enjoy it on the veranda before dinner. At $35 per person, this is a terrific value for such a lovely evening. We will definitely return......perhaps to the B&B, as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank helpforkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nola
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“the best place in gatlinburg.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

the location is great. the view is great. the service was great. the food , not quite so great but still very good if you like "english country style" dining. i do.very different from "smoky mountain country" food. well worth the higher prices.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank williamNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Face, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

For a wonderful dining experience, the Buckhorn cannot be topped. A lovely Appalachian Inn located off a side road in Gatlinburg, the dining room has a serene ambience that immediately distresses.

Our four-course meal started with a basil-dressed tomato Gouda tart, a blend of flavors that let each star, on a lovely fresh pastry. The bread this evening was a French boule served with real butter (becoming a clear mark of a taste-aware restaurant). Fresh salad dressed with the house ranch had unpitted olives (which might fluster some).

Main course was roasted pork tenderloin dressed with a sweet barbecue (my taste runs toward vinegary but still tasty), a buttery succotash (suspicious of gmo, I picked the corn out), a caramel used green onion, and mashed potatoes: all excellent with each flavor clear and complementary.

Dessert was a peach and almond crust tart on a raspberry syrup. The almond flavor was a lovely touch with the peaches, but the raspberry was too sweet. However, still excellent. I devoured every bit.

The decaf coffee with cream was a lovely ending to the meal.

Besides wine, two decaf teas were offered: unsweetened plain and sweetened spiced (orange with cloves). Pick the spiced; the clove flavor warms the palate. The unsweetened was strong and overwhelmed even lemon.

The hostess and server were prompt and polite, neither aloof nor intrusive.

All in all, a wonderful (belated) birthday celebration.

Helpful?
1 Thank EmmiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buckhorn Inn also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Buckhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing