We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Beautiful views, serene, friendly staff, clean & cozy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Beautiful views, serene, friendly staff, clean & cozy rooms”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed here on a quick, weekend trip for our anniversary, and I don't think we'll ever stay anywhere else! The staff was very welcoming even though it was late when we arrived. The room was very clean, and I am very particular about that! The decor was rustic and the room very cozy with a gas fireplace, comfortable bed, jetted tub, and huge shower. We woke to absolutely stunning views of the Smoky Mountains! We enjoyed the trail down to the creek and laid in the hammock by the creek just enjoying nature for over an hour. I don't have anything bad to say about the Lodge at Buckberry Creek. We will definately return!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    177
    48
    23
    15
See reviews for
279
631
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We felt like we were doing them a favor by staying there. Not sure why it's 4 star... upon check- in , they "pointed" to where our room was - handed the keys with absolutely no direction or even cabin name to go by. We couldn't find the remote to the non HD tube TV and when we called the front he said it would be over an hour before he could bring a remote. Hot water ran out in the shower. Front desk help came off very pretentious. We witnessed a conversation where a guest asked a simple favor / question and was told by the front desk that they were very busy and would have to get to it later... This guest had 2 rooms booked and it seemed to me that a paying guest at least $200 a night would take precedence. Need to re- evaluate what is important in customer relations!!! WILL NOT RETURN.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerrihouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The view in this place is beautiful. It is way in the mountains. The cabins are cozy and clean. And the main reception building is very nice.
I found it a little overpriced for the services provided in the hotel. After certain time, it is hard to get in contact with the front desk. There is a restaurant in the premises which is very expensive and that’s it. No gym or spa. Dinner and breakfast is served at the restaurant, no lunch.

Room Tip: The cabins on the left side have a better view than the ones on the right
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Havanaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Havanaguy,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek. The views overlooking Mt. LeConte are truly worth the short drive up Ski Mountain. Its a pleasure to hear you were fond of the comfort and coziness of your suite. However, please accept our apology that you were not able to take advantage of all the services we do offer. Our gym is located in "The Woods" building adjacent to the Lodge - and is available to guests 24 hours, 7 days a week. We also offer a range of in-room spa services including massages and facials - by appointment only. Our new restaurant menu does offers guests a wide selection of options from Tapas starting at $8 to Entrees starting at $22. Although we do close the kitchen during breakfast and dinner, boxed lunches are available every day with advance notice. We would be honored to have you as our guest again in the near future so we can exceed your expectations and provide you with the best service possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, CA
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We were dismayed by the traffic and touristy kitsch when we drove into Gatlinburg. But we were delighted when we found the Lodge at Buckberry Creek! It is on a hill outside of the main town and away from the masses. Our room was spacious (it even had a kitchen which I did not expect), clean, inviting and had a lovely view. The welcome was very warm, with the staff explaining all about the property and its offerings... including what to do if we encountered a bear! We also enjoyed both dinner and breakfast at the lodge. In fact, in the morning we had an extra treat as we ate while HGTV filmed part of its "House Hunters" show in the dining room. We had no noise issues. Be sure to check out the artists' loop if you have the time...lots of galleries and studios, many in old homes. Though we are from the other side of the U.S. and not likely to be in the area again anytime soon, if we were, we would most definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear canncan,

Thank you for the outstanding review! We genuinely look forward to welcoming every guest and like to make sure that your aware of all our offerings - even if its a visit from our animal neighbors. We wish you well and look forward to your next visit, whenever that may be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We knew the lodge would be special after visiting their website, but it was so much more. We were guests just one night. If there was any way to change our plans and stay a couple more, we would have done it.

We arrived on the first Saturday in May at 3:00 - the afternoon was warm and sunny. Check in was at four, so we drove just two miles to the Great Smoky National Park and toured and hiked until 5:30. Our room on the top floor was ready when we returned. Unlike another guest, we experienced no noise issues. Our rustic designed room was very clean (small deck with table and chairs, large seating area with couch and chairs in front on a wood burning fireplace, queen bed, large bath with whirlpool, walk-in shower and two sinks. Sure the TV could have been updated with a large flatscreen, but who stays in this gorgeous setting to watch the news. Having said this, we did watch the Derby.

The views at the lodge are simply spectacular - jaw dropping. Our dinner on the deck was excellent - food wine and service were all 5 stars. Romantic, I should say! The next morning we enjoyed a continental breakfast on the deck.

The staff was very helpful and responsive. Before we checked out, we were taken a 1/2 mile down to the bottom of the canyon in a 4WD vehicle to check out the lodge's large pavilion. This was a perfect spot for a couple, small group or family to relax and listen to the sounds of birds and a gentle stream. There are rocking chairs, a hammock and fireplace - a great spot to read or enjoy a picnic.

And another benefit - you can easily avoid the commercialism of Gatlinburg

We will return again.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I booked a room at Buckberry on a spur of the moment get away. It turned out to be an excellent pick and we both really enjoyed the stay. The lodge is on mountain adjacent to Gatlinburg. So you are close to the restaurants and "attractions" in town without all the noise and mess of all the masses roaming the strip. When I said it was on a mountain I'm serious. If you had a skateboard and a set of iron balls you would be in for the ride of your life into town. The rooms were comfortable, the bed was too and had like 400 count sheets. The rooms are kept spotless and seem to be new. It is a wood framed structure so it does transmit noise more than a steel and concrete building. Noise wasn't a problem for us. The views are panoramic and well worth the extra cost. They have a continental breakfast and lots of good coffee in the AM. It was my favorite to sip coffie and take in the view. The staff are all very nice and helpful. A lot of resorts could take a lesson on customer service from their crew at buckberry. We got a room with a Jacuzzi. If you are going to do some hiking and you are not in top shape you will really need that. They have a trail that leads down the mountain to a small creek and veranda. Very nice touch. The fireplace in the veranda is an excellent place to hang out in the evening. It was a good place and we will be back.

Room Tip: Higher up is better so you get a view over the oak trees. Get a room with a Jacuzzi if you plan and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrCarlOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We spent our 10th anniversary here this past weekend and I expected a lot considering how much money I had to convince my husband to spend to stay here. It is in a beautiful and private location and the view from our room was great. The staff was very friendly and even gave us a personal tour and a history of the lodge when we checked in. Our room was nice and cozy with a kitchen, sitting area, fireplace and balcony overlooking the mountains. The room was clean but our bathtub had some dirty "spots" in the bottom of the tub and my pillowcase had mascara on it and it was not mine as I had not laid my head on it yet - Yuck! My biggest complaint is the noise. I expected our room to be more sound proof considering the $200+ a night rate. The pipes in the ceiling made noise every time someone would flush or take a shower and we could hear every footstep of the people in the room above us. I think they were running races across the length of their room until 1am on Saturday. Not exactly the "romantic" feel I was going for. I personally wouldn't stay here again but I wouldn't discourage anyone else from giving it a try. Just request a room on the top floor and I think you'll have a better experience. I will also add that the trip into Gatlinburg from the lodge is a short drive on a back road but on VERY steep hills.

Room Tip: Request a top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MMahala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear MMahala,
Thank you for sharing about your recent stay at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek. We truly value both your positive and negative feedback as this is the most useful way of ensuring our guests receive the best experience possible. Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay and trust that your concerns will be addressed by management. Also, we appreciate your kind words encouraging travelers to give The Lodge at Buckberry Creek a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.5 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Property: The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4326
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek has brought the elegance of the “Great Camps” of the Adirondacks to the pristine beauty of the Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee. Designed to reflect the retreats created in the Adirondack Mountains over 100 years ago by some of the East Coast’s wealthiest families, Buckberry Lodge pampers guests with the true natural grandeur of the Adirondack architectural style. Nestled away high above Gatlinburg, Tennessee, The Woods building offers 14 luxury-suite rooms from 600 square feet to 750 square feet. Rooms feature fireplaces, private balconies, bathrooms with separate showers and Jacuzzi tubs. The majority of our suites have a King bed but we do have a few rooms with 2 Double beds. Rest, recharge, and relax within your suite or enjoy the area attractions of Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains. Our property is less than 2 miles from the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and all the beauty it holds. We are also less than 2 miles from Downtown Gatlinburg. There is a firepit which overlooks Mt. LeConte – a great spot to unwind & relax. Although we have experienced a great loss since the November 28th fire, we are very fortunate to have The Woods building to share with our guests. We look forward to welcoming you to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek for your Smoky Mountain lodging destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing