We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Go for a fabulous rustic lodge experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
fort lee , new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
598 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Go for a fabulous rustic lodge experience”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I spotted this lodge online while searching for accommodations around Smoky Mountain National Park. Decorated as a great camp of the Adirondacks in upstate New York it reminds one of The Lake Placid Lodge or The Point. Congrats to Buddy & the two other owners! Our room was constant in the theme with a great view of the Smokies. The restaurant was excellent. Few steakhouses offer the quality of the tenderloin they offer. Breakfast or dinner on the deck offers a great view with a gracious staff. Only drawback was the fireplace smell in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfbmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for selecting The Lodge at Buckberry Creek for your recent stay in the Smokies! We are always pleased to hear of guests enjoying our property as much as we do.
Just a note for everyone, the fireplaces on the top floors are all real wood burning fireplaces, as opposed to gas on the other floors - and unlike other hotels and cabins in the area, we allow our guests to use the fireplaces all year round. Which is why these guests might have smelled a slight lingering odor of wood smoke in their room - from the last guests' use of the fireplace. If these is an unpleasant odor for you, please request a lower level room. We want your stay to be as perfect as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    177
    48
    23
    15
See reviews for
279
631
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I went in April with a friend. The room is decorated in full wilderness theme with log beds, etc. we had a fireplace, small kitchen and great balcony with a view that was amazing. We ate breakfast there on the outdoor area. The food was great, well priced and again amazing views. They have a sitting area by the creek and they light a fire in the fireplace and fire pits every night. There are blankets if its cold, seating for about 20 and a bathroom which is great because it is a mile walk uphill back to the resort. But if that is too much, which it was for us one night after a 13 mile hike earlier in the day, you just call the resort and they will drive down and pick you up. They have a great bar area with comfortable couches, tables and views for a happy hour. The only reason I didn't give it a fifth star was our room was a little warm and it was only April. We called and said our air wasn't working and they sent someone to fix it, but when we returned from our hike it was still a balmy 80* in the room. We had to sleep with the deck door open. So I would never go there in the heat of the summer. We didn't ask to be moved, so maybe other rooms are ok. The location is only 5 minutes from all the stuff in Gatlinburg, however it is so remote looking, you think you are all alone in the Smokies. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
We encourage all our guests to let us know immediately whenever there is a problem, and give us the opportunity to fix it for you. We certainly would have moved you to another suite when the repair did not effect the desired result! All our guest room rooms have modern heat/air for the comfort of our guests, which are all generally in top working order. We are sorry to hear that this one issue, that could have been fixed, marred your vacation time with us. Please do come back, we would like to make sure you have the best holiday in the Smokies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I almost don't want to tell anyone. We LOVED this lodge. The room and balony was prefect. We eat at the lodge twice because it was sooo good. I recommend taking a bottle of wine to the pavilion by the creek in the afternoon. We had it all to ourselves. We hope to come back with more family. My thirteen year old son had a great time. We highly recommend this as a must stay, must experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacwicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Township, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Found this place on tripadvisor and we loved it!. Stayed for three nights at the end of July, very clean, plenty of space, quiet and so relaxing. View from our room was breathtaking! Front desk was very friendly and helpful. Had hot breakfast twice and food was delicious! We definitely will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I would like to say that i am judicious with whom i give 5 stars to, but this one easily earned it from me! Went for a weekend trip to Gatlinburg with my two teenagers, a friend and her son. My friend and I agreed that for us, the Buckberry Lodge was the best part of our trip! My expectations were exceeded, all around. I hope to stay here, again. My friend and I both agreed that it would be a great romantic getaway spot if we had someone to be romantic with! I was very impressed with the cleanliness of our suite. Both days, Breakfast was the only meal we ate at the restaurant. One morning we ordered from the menu and we were served generous portions of delicious food. The other morning we just had the continental b'fast. The pastries were so good! I expected them to taste like they'd come from a freezer, but they tasted like they'd been delivered from a bakery that morning. The beds were very comfortable. My 15 year old son slept on the sofa bed and he commented that it slept better than he thought it would've. The bathroom and kitchen were nice. We enjoyed having a balcony. I liked sitting out there before my kids woke up, enjoying the cool mountain air.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKLinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Buckberry Creek consists of five buildings around the main lodge. The main lodge has the reception room and restaurants. The buildings are three stories high and the second and third story units have the best balcony views. We had a unit in building 5 on the second floor. The unit was spacious with a king bed and a queen sofa. I found the bed to be very comfortable and my only gripe would be that the bathroom had only one sink and we were four. The bathroom, though, is huge with both a shower and a big tub.
The Lodge provides an included breakfast of coffee, juice, fresh pastries, fruit and cereal. The fresh pastries were delicious. Breakfast is served at 8 am so if you are an early morning hiker you are stuck with plain coffee and cereal, no pastries. There is also an optional breakfast menu of hot foods which is very good and reasonably priced.
The Lodge has the best restaurant in Gatlingburg. Gatlingburg is a culinary wasteland and God help you if you are vegetarian (I'm not). I was disappointed that although the Lodge claims to change their menu daily the menu only changed significantly once in the five days I was there (they have 5 items on the menu, they would add one item, remove the same item, add another item, remove it again, but the 5 same items stayed on all the time). I wish they would have changed the menu significantly so that I could eat there everyday since, though expensive, it is much better than anything in town.

Room Tip: Second and third floors offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank interterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Nice lodge outside of the Gatlinburg tourist trap area, great views of the smokies, except for our room!!! The room was nice but could use some updating and some better bedding (mattress was very hard and pull out sofa was even worse). The best thing about our visit was dinner at the lodge restaurant, very good fresh entrées served in a great atmosphere. We booked months in advance and got stuck in a room with not much of a view in the lower level lodge. All in all it's a nice place but not worth the price paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.5 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Property: The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4326
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek has brought the elegance of the “Great Camps” of the Adirondacks to the pristine beauty of the Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee. Designed to reflect the retreats created in the Adirondack Mountains over 100 years ago by some of the East Coast’s wealthiest families, Buckberry Lodge pampers guests with the true natural grandeur of the Adirondack architectural style. Nestled away high above Gatlinburg, Tennessee, The Woods building offers 14 luxury-suite rooms from 600 square feet to 750 square feet. Rooms feature fireplaces, private balconies, bathrooms with separate showers and Jacuzzi tubs. The majority of our suites have a King bed but we do have a few rooms with 2 Double beds. Rest, recharge, and relax within your suite or enjoy the area attractions of Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains. Our property is less than 2 miles from the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and all the beauty it holds. We are also less than 2 miles from Downtown Gatlinburg. There is a firepit which overlooks Mt. LeConte – a great spot to unwind & relax. Although we have experienced a great loss since the November 28th fire, we are very fortunate to have The Woods building to share with our guests. We look forward to welcoming you to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek for your Smoky Mountain lodging destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing