We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Close to Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Close to Heaven”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I love this property!! I brought my mom up to this Lodge for a mother-daughter getaway and we loved it. You are treated very well from the friendly greeting to the sweet treats left on your pillow. The rooms have a rustic lodge feel and the views are spectacular. Words just cannot express how beautiful it is. The stay is pricey compared to other places in Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg but you won't get the service and certainly not the views. The beds were very comfy and the fireplace was lovely. Our only issue with our stay was the guests on the floor above us were extremely noisy and came in late at night, around midnight and made noise until 1 or 2 in the morning. If I stayed again I would request an upper floor suite but that is the only thing I would change.

Room Tip: Get an upper level suite if you do not wish to hear the noise from rooms above you - don't worry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    177
    48
    23
    15
See reviews for
279
631
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Our 1 night in Gatlinburg was spent at Buckberry Creek. After touring the town, we found Buckberry a breath of fresh air. The room was well appointed and clean. The mountain views were amazing. The restaurant, food and service were outstanding. Once you park your car you don't have to drive anywhere. Great place for couples celebrating a occasion, not for families with kids

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We chose Buckberry Lodge because of the ratings on Trip Advisor. This lodge is ideal for adults and kids that are teens+. perfect for romantic getaway. No pool, or hot tub. nice walking paths that are owned by the lodge.

ROOMS
We stayed in a Lodge Suite which was perfect for our needs. It had a full kitchen and good amount of space. Nice balcony overlooking the mountain....gorgeous views. I recommend that you stay in the Section #5 because the views are best...little further from the main lodge but worth it...only 1 minute walk. Our room was nicer than the photos on their website.
Each building has 3 storeys (I think 4 buildings in total plus main lodge) and charge extra for 2nd & 3rd floors, which they call "Premium rooms". I think it was about $50/night extra for the premiums. We were happy on the 1st floor, views just as good.

FOOD
The food was outstanding. There were local people who owned mountain houses & other who were staying at other hotels who came to dine at this restaurant. Dining room only has 10 tables so it's very small & quaint. They have another dining room that they use for "overflow" diners but it's separated & no fireplace & not as many windows for the views. I guess they didn't have reservations.

Breakfast: There's a continental breakfast buffet included in the price. I was surprised to discover that almost everyone ordered off the menu for extra money. The continental breakfast that was included had some of the best pastries I've ever had...made fresh everyday. Try the raspberry scones (still warm from the oven) & the apple pecan puff pastry - TO DIE FOR! They did't have maple syrup for my french toast, which was tough for me as a Canadian but they had bananas Foster which I had never had before...it was ok (nothing replaces real maple syrup!)

Dinner
This was outstanding. I love their dining room with the fireplace creating an amazing ambiance. service was fantastic.
Beef tenderloin - amazing!
Duck - outstanding
Pork tenderloin - also amazing
I really enjoyed the Buckberry salad - interesting & different
**make reservations for Fri & Sat night...especially in high season


LOCATION
The lodge is located up in the mountain about 10 min drive from the entrance of the Smokey Mountains National Park. We were hesitant to have dinner down in town with drinks & then try to drive up the mountain back to the lodge in the dark. but it wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: ask for building #5/section #5 - best views I don't recommend paying extra for top 2 floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We just got back from our stay here and really enjoyed it! We had a Lodge Suite, room 5202 and it was terrific!

Room was very clean, spacious, and comfortable! Even had a kitchenette in there! I really liked the nice sitting area with the fire place in the room. Bathroom was quite big for a hotel, so that was nice.

View from the room was beautiful. We sat on our balcony every morning and enjoyed the complimentary tea and hot chocolate that was in the room.

We checked in late (after 10p), but had no problems with it. The woman who checked us in was friendly and welcoming.

Housekeeping did a great job cleaning the room each day!

We even had a card waiting for us in the room, saying Happy Anniversary! It's the little things like that, that made our stay great!

I definitely recommend everyone take a few hours to head down to their little spot by the creek. We took the trail down and back. It wasn't bad at all. They have fire pits, rocking chairs and even a restroom down there. Grab some s'mores and enjoy the evening there.

It was also really nice to have a continental breakfast included with the room each morning. Bagels, pastries, cereal, yogurt, etc. Perfect for us!

If we had to pick one thing that could use some improving, it would have to be the dinner we had at the restaurant on property. Our waitress was friendly and good, but for the price, it just left something to be desired. I grew up in Las Vegas and have been very fortunate to eat at many amazing restaurants so maybe my views are a little skewed when it comes to food. The Buckberry Salad I had was probably the smallest salad I've even seen and it was $8. I ordered my steak medium and it came out well done. My wife had the fish and it was simply ok.

The other problem with dinner, and I'm not sure something could be done about it, was that in another room they had a dinner party going on, a reception of some sort. So the wait staff had to keep taking all the trays of plates through the dining room the entire evening, so that got a little old quickly, and also caused for quite a bit of noise. Half a dozen trays of salads, then entrees, etc.

Not a horrible dinner by any means, just not what we were expecting for the price we paid.

So while we may not have dinner at the Lodge again, we most certainly will be back to stay again and recommend you check it out as well!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westchester,ny
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Warm,lovely,friendly,clean .....perfect.
After a long trip and an awful rent a car disaster...we were greeted with warm southern hospitality. t We were welcomed by the owner as well as the nicest staff. The common area was warm and inviting. The room was lovely with a fire place and the most wonderful view of the mountains.
The dining room was was has a fireplace and was quiet. The food was excellent.

Great place in a beautiful part of "our" country. Would certainly travel back.
P.S..........you can't trust a GPS in the mountains. If you get lost it is just more beautiful sights to see.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The room, the service, and the staff were great. We enjoyed the fireplace every night. The breakfast was wonderful. The resturant is a little pricey for dinner everyday, but you must try it at least once. The views were tremendous.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikejay316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here during the last week of October as a celebration to our honey moon and the hotel and view are absolutely delightful. The pictures on the website don't do justice to how magnificent the place and its surroundings are. Not only are the views amazing, but every detail of the hotel is so well thought out and beautifully decorated. Also the staff was so kind and helpful we could stayed there forever. This is a must stay if visiting the Smokys.

Room Tip: Ask for second or third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.5 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Property: The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4326
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek has brought the elegance of the “Great Camps” of the Adirondacks to the pristine beauty of the Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee. Designed to reflect the retreats created in the Adirondack Mountains over 100 years ago by some of the East Coast’s wealthiest families, Buckberry Lodge pampers guests with the true natural grandeur of the Adirondack architectural style. Nestled away high above Gatlinburg, Tennessee, The Woods building offers 14 luxury-suite rooms from 600 square feet to 750 square feet. Rooms feature fireplaces, private balconies, bathrooms with separate showers and Jacuzzi tubs. The majority of our suites have a King bed but we do have a few rooms with 2 Double beds. Rest, recharge, and relax within your suite or enjoy the area attractions of Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains. Our property is less than 2 miles from the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and all the beauty it holds. We are also less than 2 miles from Downtown Gatlinburg. There is a firepit which overlooks Mt. LeConte – a great spot to unwind & relax. Although we have experienced a great loss since the November 28th fire, we are very fortunate to have The Woods building to share with our guests. We look forward to welcoming you to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek for your Smoky Mountain lodging destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing