We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2008

My wife, two daughters (8 and 6) and I had an excellent stay at The Lodge. It "made" our trip to the Smokies and was a first rate hotel.

From the start, the staff was welcoming and friendly. We had a couple of items that we wanted addressed upon arriving at the room and the staff immediately (and with a service-oriented attitude) satisfied our requests.

The room (Gallery Suite) had an elegant lodge decor, including a gas fireplace, and was spacious with a nice-sized living area and well-equipped kitchen (with complimentary beverages and water). The bathroom was also spacious with a large shower, jacuzzi tub and double sink vanity.

The mountain views from both the bedroom and living room, as well as from the over-sized balcony, were amazing. The Lodge also had a nice walking trail (although we never finished it or visited the pavilion area, since we crammed too much in too few days). The downside to the view is that you have to take a short (less than one mile) winding road to reach The Lodge.

We had dinner at The Lodge's restaurant our first night. The meal was very good and the restaurant had a nice ambiance -- but was on the expensive side. The complimentary continental breakfast was a nice way to start one's day.

As to location, it is excellent. It really feels as if one is in a private home/condo on the mountain, yet only a a short drive to downtown Gatlinburg and to the national park (based on the signage nearby, it appeared The Lodge was actually within the boundaries of the Park).

Overall, our stay was excellent and we highly recommend The Lodge. When traveling, we generally opt to stay at 4-star hotels (or better) and The Lodge was very comparable to such other hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2008

We really wanted to like this place as it was the most luxurious of the hotels we booked during our 2 week trip to the States but we were left with mixed feelings at the end of our stay.

On the positive side we had a nicely decorated room with soft sheets, towels and bathrobes. The Molton Brown toiletries and the free drinks were also good touches. Our room also had a gas fireplace which would be great in the winter.

However, we were on the ground floor and we had real issues with noise coming from the room above us. We were even able to hear the footsteps of the people upstairs. This was loud enough to wake us up each night and every morning despite us being exhausted from days of driving and hiking. The owners really need to carry out some soundproofing work in order to justify their rates for this type of room.

We would have given the Lodge a 4 star rating had it not been for the noise problem. Our recommendation is to go ahead and stay here but avoid the rooms on the lower floors when making your reservation. It would be worth paying a bit extra for some true rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank roscoeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Superb dining; exquisite decor; friendly and timely service. Truly a world-class resort and facility in the mountains of east tennessee. Look forward to visiting again when I return to the area. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thriftr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We found the lodge here on tripadvisor and were there Sept 7-12th. All I can say is wow! I've never had a better vacation in my life. The lodge was a big reason for the success of our trip. If you want to relax and view the mountain scenery this is the place. We met several of the owners and they are the nicest people. The wife and I are actually thinking about going again in November. : )

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RGBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We stayed at the Buckberry in early August en route to Memphis. We selected the Gallery suite as our party included my wife, myself, our baby and my wife's mother. There was plenty of room in the suite for all of us. We arrived quite late and missed dinner but were able to order some desserts to be delivered via room service.

The furnishings were very nice, our 8 month old enjoyed the bath. There was a nice view from the Balcony and we even saw a bear wandering below!

In the morning, breakfast was spectacular, just about the best I had during our three month stay in the US. A beautiful view as well looking out over the mountains.

I would highly recommend the Buckberry to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PrescottPym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We spent a night at the Buckberry this July after reading reviews on Tripadvidor and were not disappointed. The location is lovely and the continental breakfast was superior to most that we have had. Our room was fine, one of the smaller ones, but the bathroom was very large and really nice. We talked to some of the guests about the dinner there which seemed expensive to us and they said it was excellent. There is a very nice verandah outside off the dining room with a great view of the Smokies. We had our breakfast out there. Only con would be that the TV was positioned too high for viewing and we were getting cricks in our necks! We were very glad we decided to stay there rather in the hustle and bustle of Gatlinburg.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank nanasnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

The lodge itself is wonderful, and the setting will take your breath away. However, the staff leaves something to be desired. After reading several reviews about the noise levels, I called and requested a room on the top level and stated I would be willing to pay any extra charges. I was assured I would get a third level room. Well, I did not-- we were on the lowest level and it sounded as if a battle was being raged in the room above ours. The noise was almost unbearable. Then to compound it the smoke detector kept beeping in the hallway. 3 phone calls and 2 hours latter that issue was resolved. We would consider staying there again, but only in an upper level room.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AJLIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.8 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#6 of 78 in Gatlinburg
710 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#9 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4326
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £122 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek has brought the elegance of the “Great Camps” of the Adirondacks to the pristine beauty of the Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee. Designed to reflect the retreats created in the Adirondack Mountains over 100 years ago by some of the East Coast’s wealthiest families, Buckberry Lodge pampers guests with the true natural grandeur of the Adirondack architectural style. Nestled away high above Gatlinburg, Tennessee, The Woods building offers 14 luxury-suite rooms from 600 square feet to 750 square feet. Rooms feature fireplaces, private balconies, bathrooms with separate showers and Jacuzzi tubs. The majority of our suites have a King bed but we do have a few rooms with 2 Double beds. Rest, recharge, and relax within your suite or enjoy the area attractions of Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains. Our property is less than 2 miles from the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and all the beauty it holds. We are also less than 2 miles from Downtown Gatlinburg. There is a firepit which overlooks Mt. LeConte – a great spot to unwind & relax. Although we have experienced a great loss since the November 28th fire, we are very fortunate to have The Woods building to share with our guests. We look forward to welcoming you to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek for your Smoky Mountain lodging destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing