We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious and relaxing mountain retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We've been searching for "our" Smoky Mountains getaway and finally found this delightful place. It is well situated but feels remote and the views are lovely. The family has a long history with the GSNP. Rooms are excellent. Best location is the top floor. The food at the restaurant is quite good and much better than anything you'd find in Gatlinburg. The staff were welcoming and very helpful -- even sent my husband's car key, which he left behind, by express mail. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Top floor will afford the best view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank meyerdenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Lodge at Buckberry Creek is a lovely, rustic resort set in the scenic Smoky Mountains National Park. Every room has a balcony with a gorgeous view and the property is incredible. After a short (but steep) hike down to the stream, we found an oasis in the woods - a spectacular wooden pavilion complete with rocking chairs, a fireplace and a flat screen tv! A nearby stream provides the perfect backdrop for this secluded retreat. This resort does not have a pool but honestly, we didn't miss it. We kept busy hiking and exploring the surrounding area and there's plenty of river rafting nearby if you want to cool off. The rooms are very spacious, ours included pull-out sofa, fireplace and a full kitchen. The king size bed in the bedroom was unbelievably comfortable and the enormous bathroom was squeaky clean and spacious with a large shower and deep jetted tub. Each morning a generous breakfast buffet (included in the price of the room) was offered in the dining room and there were plenty of tables on the deck so we could eat outside and enjoy the spectacular views. The front desk staff was very friendly. Cindy was exceptionally helpful and pleasant and followed us out to the deck to take a family photo for us.
While this resort isn't really targeted at families with young children, my boys really enjoyed the property and it's proximity to all the attractions at Pigeon Forge. Two very small concerns/complaints...1 The price of dinner in the dining room was cost prohibitive. While I'm sure the food was delicious, we just couldn't commit to spending 20 dollars on a hamburger (one of the cheapest entrees on the menu). So we went to the local grocery store and purchased food to cook and eat in the room and we went out to eat in the town of Gatlinburg. 2. We were provided with a list of activities at check-in, which included a "kids night out" every Wednesday and Thursday in July so that parents could dine alone. When we inquired about registering our children for this event that night (Thursday) we were told that it ended the previous weekend. We visited in July so it should have been offered while we were there. Not a huge deal but a bit of a disappointment for us and for our children. Other than that, no complaints at all. This resort is a bit pricier than others in the area but it's worth the cost for the spectacular views, rustic decor and serene setting.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony with fabulous views of the smoky mountains!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Betsy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review! It sounds like you and your family had a great time while staying here at Buckberry.
We do understand that not everyone wants to indulge in a leisurely chef-created dinner experience. We are glad that you were able to take full advantage of the in-room full kitchen to enjoy meals together at the dining table in your room.
Regarding the summer program for children in July. It seems that there was some mis-communication. In July, we do provide pizza and movies for the children on Wednesday nights, and camp-style activities on Thursday afternoons. If these guests arrived on a Thursday night, they would not be able to participate unless they were staying through the next week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lodge! Our rooms (bedroom, living room with gas fireplace, kitchen & bathroom) were decorated in a rustic style and were very clean and comfortable. Staff was courteous and helpful. Dinner in the restaurant was pricey but we ended up feeling that it was worth it since the food was delicious (amazing, really). We chose to eat our breakfasts and dinners outside on the deck since the views were beautiful. Great place - we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MCL331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The main Lodge is very comfortable with numerous seating areas both inside and outside. They have a very comfortable bar area; and, a lovely dining room for breakfast and dinners with inside and outside eating areas. The food at dinner is very good with excellent menu selections.
I had salmon and a super seafood pasta selection. The salads were exceptional.
The best part is THE LODGE is off the heavily travelled areas of THE SMOKIES and the towns.
It is very quiet, with just the winds whistling among the trees, or an occasional rain storm. They are in a heavily forested area. I have never seen so many trees, bushes and plants.
They have many lovely suites. All have kitchens, dining areas, large separate bedrooms, with very comfortable beds and pillows. The bathrooms are large, well lighted, and a very spacious shower with seating ledge. They have two separate shower heads.
I must say the kitchen has all the modern equipment for coffee making, microwave, ovens; and EVEN AN ELECTRIC CAN OPENER BY BLACK AND DECKER!!!!! I do not have such a nice setup as this in my home!! All this in a remote mountain cabin suite.
The Lodge is a very special treat for us. The staff is so helpful and pleasant. They work many long hours to see that all guests needs are met.

sincerely

eddiethea

Room Tip: A top floor suite on the end with large balcony is preferable.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eddiethea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBL37738, Manager at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

The staff here at Buckberry looks forward to these guests returning. We enjoyed having them stay with us for a week - in our "smaller" mountains than their home. :)
Just a note to anyone reading this review: The electric can opener mentioned is not a standard amenity in all rooms. But, if this is something you need while staying with us, please let us know and we will do our very best to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Everything about the lodge was excellent though some of the walk ways in our lodge area got very wet when it rained.
Food excellent as were the staff.
Wonderful views.
WiFi became very good once our son had spent an hour with the IT specialist sorting out the problems.
Would visit again but stay longer.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek when we went to visit Great Smoky Mountains NP.
It is a beautiful lodge with log walls and rustic furniture.
Rooms are very large and equipped with full kitchens and a separated living room. Views from the balcony are spectacular.
Staff could improve their good mood.
Restaurant is very good, delicious food and helpful service, but a bit slow.
Location is perfect to visit the NP.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carmo_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights. Same soap in shower for entire stay. Continental Breakfast on weekdays - dry cereal, bagels, mini muffins and scones. No protein. White milk only. No soy or almond milk. Weekends eggs and bacon included. Can order off a very limited menu consisting of omelets, oatmeal and pancakes. Dinner from small menu with some items repeating each night. Choice of 5 entrees starting at $29. No pastas. Extra amenities include s' mores at night roasting marshmallows for $12. Half mile trail to creek is very nice and secluded. Very Romantic. Rooms are top notch, rustic and roomy. Free wifi.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank taxadvisors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.8 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#6 of 78 in Gatlinburg
714 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#9 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Buckberry Creek

Address: 961 Campbell Lead Road, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4326
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#2 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £122 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Buckberry Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek has brought the elegance of the “Great Camps” of the Adirondacks to the pristine beauty of the Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee. Designed to reflect the retreats created in the Adirondack Mountains over 100 years ago by some of the East Coast’s wealthiest families, Buckberry Lodge pampers guests with the true natural grandeur of the Adirondack architectural style. Nestled away high above Gatlinburg, Tennessee, The Woods building offers 14 luxury-suite rooms from 600 square feet to 750 square feet. Rooms feature fireplaces, private balconies, bathrooms with separate showers and Jacuzzi tubs. The majority of our suites have a King bed but we do have a few rooms with 2 Double beds. Rest, recharge, and relax within your suite or enjoy the area attractions of Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains. Our property is less than 2 miles from the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and all the beauty it holds. We are also less than 2 miles from Downtown Gatlinburg. There is a firepit which overlooks Mt. LeConte – a great spot to unwind & relax. Although we have experienced a great loss since the November 28th fire, we are very fortunate to have The Woods building to share with our guests. We look forward to welcoming you to The Lodge at Buckberry Creek for your Smoky Mountain lodging destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Buckberry Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Buckberry Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel At Buckberry Creek
At Buckberry Creek Gatlinburg
Lodge Buckberry Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing