We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT GO THERE!!!!”
Review of Bales Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bales Motel
Ranked #48 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Checked in on 5/24/14 went to the room and then checked out. The ceiling was leaking water on the luggage that we brought in. The A/C barely worked and had a plastic pan under it because it obviously leaked too. Old dirty carpet, hard old beds, this place needs to be completely redone.
Was charged for one night because they couldn't re-rent the room for that night. I honestly cant imagine anyone wanting to stay in that room anyway. The room was so old and musty I would rather sleep in a tent and bathe in the creek.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LA4372014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Bill and Ms. Nicole are wonderful. They treet you like family. The rooms are a little outdated but when in Gatlinburg who stays in their room. the pool is a great bonus especially for the price.. We make it a point to come back every year just as we have for the last 10 years!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cadillacgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My family has been staying withe the Bale's for 25 years. The motel is located downtown and within walking distance to all attractions and restaurants. The owner, William Bales, is a descendant of the original families in the Smoky Mountains. If you go to the Roaring Fork Motor Trail you will find the Ephraim Bales cabin. He is a direct descendant of Ephraim. Bill's grandfather, Homer, worked at the Motel until the last few years of his life. He lived to 102 years. He was born in the Bales cabin on Roaring Fork Trail. Bill and his wife, Nicole, are a treasure-trove of history for the area. The rooms are clean, and the beds are great. If you go here to spend your time in your room, you may want a Marriott. If you come for the views and history go to the Bale's. They also have hot tub rooms and condos. The motel is old but is clean and you will not get better or more down south service than you will from the Bales. If you stay, get to know them, don't just check in and out. You'll learn more about the Smoky Mountain area and History than you can from all the books about the area. Bill and Nicole are wonderful southern people and you can learn about the way these people live: Friendly, happy, relaxed. Those of us from the north need to learn from them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Quiet, clean rooms. Very nice staff and owners. Location of this motel is very good. We always walk downtown to the Villiage and to all the shops and eaterys. Close to trolley stations. We have been coming to Gatlinburg for 10 years or more and ALWAYS stay with bales motel. Its our home away from home. Not fancy or brand new, but we wouldnt give our money to anywhere else!

Room Tip: No elevator, only small spiral stairs or cement ramp to upper level. Fireworks going off downtown ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EBeth1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a ground floor room with a kitchenette . The room was very clean, and the kitchenette had every thing we needed. The bed slept great, and the parking was good. Mr. Bales and the staff there were very friendly. This is where we'll stay everytime we return to Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

A simple inexpensive and clean place to stay. The rooms are always clean and the owners and staff are very nice. Very country and simple. A Great place to stay on the weekends, Close to the main strip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This was the nastiest, motel I have ever been in. The shower in the room we were supposed to stay in was leaking into the office. The air conditioner was not working correctly. There were roaches in the room. There was something that looked like rat crap in the bed between the sheets. Will not ever stay there. Not a suggested stay, unless you like filth.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Economy Inn & Suites
Economy Inn & Suites
#53 of 78 in Gatlinburg
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#24 of 78 in Gatlinburg
585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marshall's Creek Rest Motel
Marshall's Creek Rest Motel
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Johnson's Inn
Johnson's Inn
#40 of 78 in Gatlinburg
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olde Gatlinburg Place
Olde Gatlinburg Place
#39 of 53 in Gatlinburg
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bales Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bales Motel

Address: 221 Bishop Ln, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3532
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £23 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a family-run motel in the heart of the Smokies and that means we're clean, we're quiet, we're cozy, and we're cheap. And that's all we think you need on your next vacation. Give us a try. *Closed from November to March every year.* ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bales Town And Country Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing