We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient stay in the smokies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gillette Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gillette Motel
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient stay in the smokies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Good location to down town Gatlinburg. And close to bypass roads around town. Clean rooms and grounds. We aim to please attitude. Great restaurants all within walking distance. Convention center across the street. Pigeon forge is 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestAbeOCALA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    39
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
35
33
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Proctorville, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel has everything you could wish for without going overboard in luxury. It was very clean with friendly staff and within walking distance of anything you wished to do. The Log Cabin Pancake House is within a very short walk and many other eating establishments. The hotel is family owned and very economical as far as your vacation budget is concerned. We had a balcony overlooking the road as well as a side balcony where a group may gather and just sit. Our refrigerator and microwave was very clean and met our needs. They actually had a room with a Jacuzzi available but we did not want to take advantage of that option. We definitely will consider staying here on our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have stayed in this motel several times over the past 3-4 years. The rooms are big and always clean. We have previously been attending events at the Convention Center, which is directly across the street. It is close enough to the main street for a short walk , but far enough to give you a little more quite time. It is an older motel, but has always been very clean and is a very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The room is clean, which hearing the stories from friends in nearby hotels can be difficult to find around here. There is a small working fridge and microwave which is nice. The bed is ok, sore back in the am. Pillow are pretty bad, my friend is using her travel neck pillow because they are pathetic. The tv has been upgraded to a flat screen which is nice. Some improvements in the bathroom could make a HUGE difference - new vanity and better bathroom harware, the shower head is a bit of a joke and the towels are thin. We had really hoped for a hot tub to relax in after work, but there isn't one. Think of this as a cousin to a motel 8. The bonus of this is just that it is incredibly convnient to the convention center. A quick walk across the street and you are there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seattlenailgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was our second trip to Gatlinburg in the last three weeks. We stayed at the Hampton last time and I decided to go back to Gillette becuase it is so much less expensive ($79 vs $149). The Gillette is a family owned property and what you get is a large room that although dated somewhat is neat and extremely clean and the employees are very friendly. We have stayed here numerous times and always enjoy our stay. It is about a block off the main street so if you like a little more peace and quite this is perfect. They have upgraded to flat screen TV's and also have microwaves and mini-fridges in each room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Arrived on the 18th of July 2013 at around 6 p.m. We did not make any reservations anywhere. Was just winging it to find a room when we arrived. After several failed attempts found this motel with a sign, walk ins welcome. Asked for a single queen room for two. They did not have one available at that current time but would accommodate us with a double room on bottom floor and switch us to a single queen the next morning and for the rest of our stay. Prices was outstanding only cost us $239.04 for the three night stay. The staff their was very friendly and ready to go above and beyond there regular duties to make sure we were comfortable. The rooms were very clean and could tell they had been updated or being updated. The carpet, shower, towels, bedding, mirrors, and all was clean. You can tell that it is an older hotel kind of 70's stylish but it didn't bother us. You can't see the river when your sleeping anyways and most days are spent shopping Gatlinburg which gives you more money to enjoy your stay. OH almost forgot it is still American owned and operated. Will be staying here

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mshepp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We love the location and great staff!! Very clean and well maintained,beautiful flowers and nice pool area!! Locally owned,very clean rooms and right in Gatlinburg!! Can't ask for more!!! Definitly a great place to stay!! :)

Room Tip: Great location and within walking distance to local attractions and restaurants. Best place to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daddysgirl1734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#22 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel
Econo Lodge Belle Aire Hotel
#57 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#38 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reagan Resorts Inn
Reagan Resorts Inn
#39 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillette Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillette Motel

Property: Gillette Motel
Address: Historic Nature Trail Road, Post Office Box 231, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#16 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Gillette Hotel Gatlinburg
Gillette Motel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing