We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay & won't be back!!”
Review of Gillette Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gillette Motel
Ranked #31 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second stay & won't be back!!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have stayed in Gilette before.. It is a old hotel but because it was clean and convenient to downtown Gatlinburg we chose again... The water was SO HARD to get adjusted in the shower!!! Took me ten minutes to get the water from scalding just so I could get in the shower... We had problems upon check in..we were supposed to have three rooms two connecting.. No rooms connected... ( this was a MUST, we are a youth group and couldn't let 12-15 yr old boys stay in a room by themselves) when I explained the situation I was told they couldn't do anything and isn't there some we cld put in the other room... Um, NO!! Ended up getting a little $ back but the boys and my husband had to all 7 share one room so they could be chaperones...The boys had a problem everytime they left the room with someone fussing about something.. ( we do not let them act crazy... One time the boys were talking to me about how three were going to have to share bed that night the guy said "WE DONT TREAT BEDS LIKE TRAMPOLINES!!" I guess he tht they said something else.. ( kids could do nothing right and these are a great group of kids!!!) one time boys walked in front to ask if they had playing cards as soon as they walked in they were asked " WHAT DO YOU WANT???" Just overall rudeness from the staff!! And keep in mind that you are right on main road and the street noise if close to the road in hotel is really bad.. Especially at night like after midnight!!! We had to sleep with TV on to drown out street noise. Lastly, I was in the lobby when the lady who wrote other recent bad review about booking a specific room and didn't get it was in there... They had paid for a specific corner room... Someone else (a longtime customer had a problem and was moved to the (Prime Room) "owners words"that the other lady had paid for specifically and she was told there was nothing they could do... Customer service was bad to say the least!!! Next time we'll try the econo lodge, microtel or one of the hotels on the opposite side of the convention center...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mom21by1gl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    41
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
37
37
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We hand selected a room ahead of time. Charges were made to our card ahead of time. Day of arrival they said that room is no longer available, but we gave you this other room. Upon inspection the second room was no near the level of the first room but yet the same price. We asked for an equivalent room, which the front desk person replied "there is nothing we can do about it" then refused to give us a refund. No other resolutions were offered. The real kicker is I think I was talking with the owner. We cancelled and walked away, losing out on the money. When we went back into the office later they said they already rented it out, charging us and them. My husband asked "if that is so how is it you are charging us?" She then begrudgingly gave the refund

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have stayed at the Gillette Hotel for over 35 years when we go to Gatlinburg. Although it is not the most luxurious hotel anywhere, it is the cleanest. You can never doubt that your room and bath will be spotless. The location is also the best, just across the street from the Civic Center, and blocks to downtown. The hotel has been family owned since it was built and has a super friendly staff. I highly recommend the Gillette, the only negitive is watch the hot water it gets extremely hot fast. We have stayed several times at other hotels in town but never got the peace of mind to know our room would be clean.

Room Tip: Love the office side view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boaz, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked at the last minute, the gentleman that I talked with was very nice and helpful. The rooms are a little dated, but are very clean and well maintained. The bed was super comfortable. The ladies in the office were very friendly and helpful. We definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tgree6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was my first stay at the Gillette. It has been recommended by colleagues, but I have always been a bit hesitant about staying there. I will not be hesitant any longer. It is somewhat dated, but the facility is well-cleaned and well-maintained.

I arrived without a reservation, on a Thursday night in the height of 'leaf-season', and was promptly and politely provided a room with a king bed for $75 plus taxes. The room was extremely spacious and very clean. A small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker (including a pre-packaged coffee pack with sweetener and creamer) were provided. The Wi-Fi worked well in my room. The king bed was very comfortable. Soap was available, but no shampoo. There was a hair dryer. The staff with whom I dealt were friendly and accommodating.

The Gillette's convenient location is directly across the street from the Convention Center, and it's a short walk to the Parkway's restaurants and shopping. The Gillette Motel will be on my short-list of places to stay on future trips to Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meriartn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Good location to down town Gatlinburg. And close to bypass roads around town. Clean rooms and grounds. We aim to please attitude. Great restaurants all within walking distance. Convention center across the street. Pigeon forge is 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestAbeOCALA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proctorville, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel has everything you could wish for without going overboard in luxury. It was very clean with friendly staff and within walking distance of anything you wished to do. The Log Cabin Pancake House is within a very short walk and many other eating establishments. The hotel is family owned and very economical as far as your vacation budget is concerned. We had a balcony overlooking the road as well as a side balcony where a group may gather and just sit. Our refrigerator and microwave was very clean and met our needs. They actually had a room with a Jacuzzi available but we did not want to take advantage of that option. We definitely will consider staying here on our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Creekside
Quality Inn Creekside
#33 of 78 in Gatlinburg
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillette Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillette Motel

Property: Gillette Motel
Address: Historic Nature Trail Road, Post Office Box 231, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#16 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Gillette Hotel Gatlinburg
Gillette Motel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing