We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
Ranked #44 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 7 April 2010

When we drove up to the hotel I'll admit that it looked older than the pictures. However, everything else more than made up for that. We found the staff to be kind, helpful, & polite. The room was spotless. No torn wallpaper, strange smells, dirty furniture, stains, or anything like that. The hardwood floor didn't even have dust in the corners,(yes, I check things like that), and under the cushions of the couch was even clean. The bed was soft and very comfortable. The pillows were fluffy and comfortable, not to mention that there were 6 of them on 1 king size bed. The room, including the bathroom, had great lighting. The air-conditioning, t.v, alarm clock, phone, coffee pot, microwave, ice machine, & hair dryer all worked perfectly. The free breakfast was good and included: 2 types of cereal, 2 types of juice, 2 types of milk, toast, pastries, biscuits, butter, jelly, cream cheese, a basket of fruit, & decaf/regular coffee. The types of cereal & pastries changed daily. The decor of the room actually looked better than it did in the photos and the view of the river was lovely and sounded very nice. The wi-fi also worked great and was very fast.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

940 - 946 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2010

When we arrived at the hotel the first thing I noticed was if you got a room with a fireplace they charge you a $25 per NIGHT cleaning fee if you use the fireplace. They already charge you more to have a room with a fireplace then a per night cleaning fee?? I have never heard of that. The hostess was completely unfriendly, gave no information about the fees, hotel policies, etc. Also no receipt was given or even offered. When I pulled up to my room I noticed there was a huge amount of weird colored paint all over the bottom half of the door. I was also sadly disappointed when I opened the door and saw the room has carpet when the online advertises hard wood in the king rooms. I know that is not a huge deal but that is honestly one of the things that made me chose this hotel. The view is not at all like advertised, on the balcony you see a run down old store, not to mention there was several groupings of cigarette butts everywhere on the hotel's property. The heater barely worked and the room smelled like a strange floral cleaner that was extremely overwhelming. The only thing I can saw was the price was nice, I paid 88.97 for two nights. I guess you truly get what you pay for. I am extremely disappointed in this hotel and will NEVER be coming back. I go to Gatlinburg twice a year but will not coming to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missmurder1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

The hotel was clean, but it certainly was not new. The view, the pool, the lobby, the rooms, the bathrooms... none are as nice as the pictures would have you believe. The view from the balcony is of an old car repair shop across the street. It is at the end of what I would call the main shopping strip in Gatlinburg. We did walk to all the shops we wanted to visit, but it was not a short or easy walk. The balcony did not have nice furniture; rather old and rusty.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boo_nonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Clean, comfortable, overlooking the river, with a balcony. The downtown area was a five-ten minute walk away, but the trolley stop was very close if your feet were tired. The bathroom had a real exhaust fan and heat lamp. Unfortunately the heating unit didn't seem to work properly, and the staff didn't seem to be able to fix it; fortunately, the weather was such an extra blanket was all we needed. The river gurgling over the rapids just outside our window made up for any inconvenience. Watch carefully, it was a bit hard to find.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catperson2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This is our default motel when we go to Gatlinburg for a casual weekend. It's an older but nicely located property recently purchased by DaysInn. If you are used to the hit or miss of Days Inn, you'll be fine here. Sometimes it's cleaner than other times, but we've never had a problem we had to complain about. It's adequately stocked with the usual basic amenities, soap, shampoo, iron, hair dryer, etc. And it has free Wi-Fi which we really like.
The best thing about this place is that every room is creekfront, with a balcony and chairs. You can sit and listen to the creek and watch the world go by to your heart's content. It's got a fridge and microwave, basic cable channels, and some rooms even have wood burning fireplaces, with free firewood (In season only).
We like it here, it's not fancy, but it's usually pretty clean and comfortable, and within walking distance to downtown.
Go here if you're not fussy, but like to be right on the creek!

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
Thank pittysmom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

dirty carpet, ants in bath room and the bath tub water was brown!! yuck stay away

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

After checking out three days early from the Quality Inn Creekside (see my review there), we were able to get a room here and at a reasonable cost comparable to where we had just left. The staff were all helpful and friendly on the phone and in person. The room was basically clean and stocked with the usual amenities each day. Beds were comfortable. Room was nice sized with a back-door balcony with comfortable chairs overlooking the creek. The free breakfast was spare but adequate. No fresh fruit though. Just dry goods- bagels, cereal, oatmeal. Nice size, quiet in-room refrigerator plus microwave. The air conditioner wasn't working properly and that was the only problem with our stay. It is a long walk to the main part of the town but that is not a problem for us.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goose007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
#50 of 77 in Gatlinburg
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#37 of 77 in Gatlinburg
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Creekside
Quality Inn Creekside
#35 of 77 in Gatlinburg
664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River

Address: 304 Hemlock St, State Route 441/321, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £36 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing