We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best treat on the strip”
Review of Donut Friar

Donut Friar
Ranked #1 of 15 Dessert in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Takeout
Louisville
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best treat on the strip”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

If you like a treat, you have to try an eclair from this spot. It's a few steps off the main road in the village. Trust me, skip the overpriced desserts and get a dessert here.

Helpful?
Thank notworkingtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,487
    321
    126
    39
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Always a nice treat!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We have stopped here several times and every time it is good. Love the éclairs. The kids like the cookies. The cinnamon beard is a good choice to share.

Helpful?
Thank MattHeather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“ECLAIRS”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I would have to say they have the best ECLAIRS ever made. Every bit of 8 inches of pure delight. Definetly a diet crusher but oh so worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love the Donut Frair and go EVERY time in G'Burg”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This place has become a tradition to us. First, it's in The Village, which feels like you've suddenly arrived in Sweeden. We go every visit to G'Burg for our traditional evening hot cocoa and doughnut every night during our trip. We sit and relax at the fountain there and just really look forward to this place. Yummy doughnuts and the best hot cocoa!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMWhitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We love how close to our motel it was and could go early mornings and afternoons. They have, by far, the largest assortment of non traditional tourist coffee mugs and cups to chose from to take home as gifts. Wonderful place to stop by !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dusty0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donut Friar also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Donut Friar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing