We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Behind the village, great location!”
Review of Johnson's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Johnson's Inn
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

At light 6 down about a block. When we walked to town I thought it would take longer but you go in the entrance to the village and you are right on the strip. Pool is small only 4.5 foot but we enjoyed it all to ourselves. It was clean. The room was your average motel with two beds. They were very comfortable and clean. Nice HOT shower with adequate towels and was cloths. Older t.v but we weren't there to watch t.v. The refrigerator was in the bathroom area which is weird but it worked. Overall probably the best Gatlinburg location we've ever had. We would stay again. Just wish it had been a little less $.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TScrogham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Other than the rooms needing some updating, the entire stay and experience was awesome. The staff was more than accomdating and pleasant. Room was very clean and cool when we arrived. I will be staying here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ashleigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice. I picked this location because It was close to downtown from what I was reading from the other reviews. I also booked this Inn because it showed it had a laundry room. Well come to find out they no longer have the laundry room. I was disappointed because that was the main reason I booked this place. The room was huge and I loved that. The toilet in our room kept running and that was annoying and there were ants all over the counter. The staff was friendly. We had to leave a day early and they allowed us to get our money back for that day. The stay was pleasant but I think I may try somewhere else next time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very soft bed with great location to the shops and entertainment. Walked all over town and sampled the amazing heritage of the town of Gatlinburg. Spent the night in a King size ultra plus bed. Got some great momentous and we return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Perfectlytraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I visited Gatlinburg for the first time after a three days of backpacking in the Smoky Mountains. We booked ahead of time at Johnson's Inn and I chose this location because of three things: good price, good location, and available washer/dryer. First, the price was great. We also got a discount using AAA for some extra savings. The room was basic and somewhat outdated, but it was clean (other than a little staining in the shower/tub) and the bed was comfortable. The A/C and WiFi worked well. The staff were very friendly. Second, the location was hard to beat, a block from The Village, right off the Parkway (which made it a little more quiet), and a short walk from the aquarium, it was a great spot. The washer/dryer availability, however, is another story. That was very important to us since we had just spent three solid days of backpacking and our clothes were in desperate need of laundering. We found out, however, that the washer/dryer was out of service and was being replaced. Our only option was to take the trolly to the other side of town and wash our clothes at a laundry facility. We attempted to do this, but after a bunch of problems that I won't get into, we weren't able to wash our clothes there and had to resort buying a box of laundry soap and washing our clothes in the tub back in our room and hung them up to dry on the balcony and in the room. We made it work but it definitely was frustrating and took up our whole morning dealing with the issue. I wasn't mad that the washer was out of service; things happen. What frustrated me was that we didn't see anything on their website mentioning it and I might have changed my reservation to another hotel that had a working washer/dryer available had we known, because it was an important amenity to us.
Overall, it was a decent place to stay, especially because of the location and price, but I will be sure to check beforehand (no matter where we stay) to make sure the important amenities are available for use.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karvro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

1st glance, pleased w our room w fireplace until the air didn't cool the room after being on for 4hours.Toilet wasn't screwed down well, and shower was dingy in Rm230. Hostess willing to change rooms. Again happy until I decided to take a shower. Water rose and wouldn't drain during shower. curtain wouldn't keep water from spraying the bathroom also in same dingy condition.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We enjoyed staying at Johnson's Inn-the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean. Great location.
The rooms needed updating-but overall we loved it!
The location is across the street at light number 6-near the Village.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovesthatcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#33 of 77 in Gatlinburg
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#18 of 77 in Gatlinburg
1,002 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnson's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson's Inn

Address: 242 Bishop Ln, PO Box 392, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £50 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Johnson's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally family owned and operated quaint motel only steps away from the main street of Gatlinburg. We offer mountain hospitality and affordable rates for clean, quiet rooms that are accessible to all that Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains have to offer. Come sit in our garden by the stream , easily walk downtown to shops and restaurants or spend the day in the national park. We offer standard motel rooms, deluxe rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Johnson's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnson`s Hotel Gatlinburg
Johnsons Hotel Gatlinburg
Johnsons Motel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing