We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”
Review of Johnson's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Johnson's Inn
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 22 October 2006

We stayed at Johnson's Inn Oct. 16-18, because we were visiting Gatlinburg with friends who frequently stay at Johnson's. They were right about this motel being clean, convenient and affordable. We were very comfortable there, and pleased with the size and appointments of the room. Their complimentary breakfast is nothing to brag about, but it gets you started on your day. Anyway, Gatlinburg has several good pancake houses!
We would definitely stay at Johnson's again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank derby_city_kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2006

We stayed at Johnson's Inn August 6, 7 & 8th of this year.
We were well pleased will the overall experience. We stayed on the fourth floor. Our room had a small refrigerator, iron and ironing board. Nice balcony overlooking the pool.
Each staff member we came in contact with was friendly. Our room was clean. We did not have a problem with any type of noises. Even though there was some remodeling type job going on at this site. Breakfast area was very nice. Really enjoyed the older photos displayed. Also, the breakfast area had a alcove type room prior to entering the breakfast bar. Very nice!!! Space well utilized. I would have like to had the option of fresh fruit at breakfast. Location is great! Walking distance to parkway and shopping. From our experience, knowing this is an older motel, I would recommend this location to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetravelinghobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2006

Due to some computer problems, I am late in posting a review of this hotel. We stayed here September 5-8, 2006. We had a 2nd floor creekside room with a balcony. Balcony and creek were ok, but not much on a view. The room itself was very nice, with a fridge, and a ice maker. Also, the room was very clean. The staff was great, as we arrived about 3 hours early, with the intent to park at the hotel and go to lunch, then return to check-in. Our room was ready, so they let us check-in early. Didn't try the breakfast, because it's hard to pass up Pancake Pantry & Log Cabin Pancake House. (Log Cabin was far better on this visit)

The location of the hotel, made it great to walk to either downtown, or into the back of the Village to shop. Far better, than trying to park in downtown Gatlinburg.

Attractions- We went to American Jukebox Theater in Pigeon Forge, for their 50's show, and it was GREAT! The singers were high energy, and put a lot of effort into the show, and were very good. We would go back to see this show again, and if you're a fan of 50's music, this would be a good show to attend. Went to Ober Gatlinburg, and it just seems to be getting worse and worse. The tram ride was great, but we thought everything else seemed to be run down.

As far as Johnson's Inn---- We look forward to staying here,on our next trip to Gatlinburg. It was clean, and worth the price

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoosierfan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2006

This was not our first trip to Johnson’s Inn, but it is our first web review for them. The front desk staff could not have been nicer from reservation to check out. They even let us check in early since our room was ready when we arrived two hours before check in. From past experience we know that they would have provided free parking until check-in time if the room was not ready.

Our room was on par if not better than most of the chain hotels I have stayed in. Spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished, with extremely comfortable beds. All rooms come with a refrigerator, coffee maker with coffee, and microwaves on request. With a cool rainy evening we didn’t use the pool, but it looked pretty nice to me from our poolside room. The continental breakfast bar is much better than donuts and coffee: bagels, toast, cereal, juice, and muffins. I was sorry to learn that the four-storied south tower that the we stayed in is going condo. Luckily the main building will continue to operate as a quiet, decent, economical, well kept, clean, and family owned motel in Gatlinburg. Believe it or not, this winning combination is harder to find than you might think in this town with thousands of motel rooms.

This is the only place in town that we have found that is truly economical and has very nice rooms. Standard rooms with two doubles run anywhere from $20-$40 dollars cheaper than most other hotels in the area with anything approaching this level of comfort. The web prices seem to be fixed according to month or season, so you don’t have to play the pricing game to get a good rate.

The location really doesn’t get a lot better: one block from the noisy county fair atmosphere of the Parkway in downtown Gatlinburg at red light #6. This hotel is walking distance to everything you might want to see in downtown Gatlinburg. Walking is really the only way that one can truly enjoy Gatlinburg. Trying to get to anything by car in the downtown area is nothing short of a hassle. Half a block along lovely little Baskin’s Creek brings you to the back entrance of The Village, by far the most picturesque and among the best shopping complexes in Gatlinburg. The Village is also home to the Pancake Pantry, my top recommendation in Gatlinburg for breakfasts or lunch. Hope to return to Johnson’s later this year for the Festival of Lights.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2006

We stayed at this hotel durning our vacation and we all had fun.
It is close to all the things to do in the Smoky Mountains.
Dollywood is only a 25 minuite drive from here.
The room we got was a standard room with two queen size beds and had a balcony.It was nice with not many frills but clean.
Checking in was fast and easy and they told us about their free breakfast .
We ate at the local restaurants instead.
I will stay at this hotel again because their rates were the best I could find at the time of our vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank leo.19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2006

We flew to Knoxville airport and were picked up by family members and we stayed at Johnsons Inn in Gatlinburg.
It was a rememberable experience.
The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly.
They have a nice rock garden on the stream where you can sit and talk for hours catching up on old times.
They are in the middle of Gatlinburg near the aquarium and all the stuff to do there.
We had a great time and I would reccomend staying there to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank goldie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2006

I passed through Gatlinburg 8-16-06 and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.
The room was nice and clean and even had a vcr. They also had a free breakfast.
The employees were nice and I could park my motorcycle directly in front of my room.
The rate was reasonable compared to several other hotels I stopped at before finding this one.
I will stay there again next time I pass through.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank surferdude22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
2.6 mi away
The Summit of Gatlinburg
The Summit of Gatlinburg
#48 of 77 in Gatlinburg
181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 77 in Gatlinburg
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#36 of 77 in Gatlinburg
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
0.4 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 77 in Gatlinburg
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnson's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson's Inn

Address: 242 Bishop Ln, PO Box 392, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £51 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Johnson's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally family owned and operated quaint motel only steps away from the main street of Gatlinburg. We offer mountain hospitality and affordable rates for clean, quiet rooms that are accessible to all that Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains have to offer. Come sit in our garden by the stream , easily walk downtown to shops and restaurants or spend the day in the national park. We offer standard motel rooms, deluxe rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Johnson's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnson`s Hotel Gatlinburg
Johnsons Hotel Gatlinburg
Johnsons Motel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing