We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and price”
Review of Grand Prix Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Prix Motel
Ranked #70 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hotel does need a major make over replacing some things to freshen up but its still a decent hotel close to downtown. The pool was not open for the season at the time we stayed. The staff there is very nice and observant of what goes on. We felt safe at all times. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms appeared to have a balcony so request one if you like having a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

I am hiking the AT with my husband. We were picked up at Newfound Gap by a friendly AT maintainance volunteer and dropped off at the Grand Prix. I saw that the place was full of AT hikers so we decided to give it a try. The owner was welcoming and gave us the unbelievable low hiker rate. A rate so good that you really couldn't stay and complain about anything. They had a computer, coffee and a laundry room. Our room was outdated but clean. I am usually a Holiday Inn kind of girl but was very grateful for this place. The place caters to hikers. I did not realize until the next morning that the bright light outside our window was controlled by a switch in the room!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFlynn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My wife and scheduled this as an overnight stop and resupply in Gatlinburg during a 9 day hike on the Appalachian Trail. We hitched from Newfound Gap into town in the rain around 7pm. the front desk was courteous and had our maildrop ready to pickup. The hiker rate was excellent. the laundry room was nearly new. The room was reasonably clean though not exactly up to date. The free toiletries might not be to some peoples preference though. We liked it so much that whenever my wife's knees gave out 3 days later we hitchhiked back to the same hotel, until we could arrange to pickup our car. Though it is near the edge of town, getting around was simple. and its very convenient to the new NOC Outpost for hiking supplies, getting to an actual grocery store is abit more involved though but there is a small general/convenience store nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfleming72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This is the worst place in the world to stay !! The room stunk like a whole football team had practice in there and never showered, Which they couldn't have because there was only one towel in the bath room and there was a shower head but no shower. The heated pool was drained so there couldn't have been any swimming in the heated pool. I itched the whole 30 minutes of our stay. Even though we were booked for 3 nights we had to leave !! This trip was for my birthday which was the worst ever !!

Room Tip: Stay away from this place !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dhill229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We are backpackers and were headed to the smokies. Because of an unexpected I-75 closure, we arrived too late to head out on the trail. It was Saturday and the area was PACKED. We ended up here because we have pretty low standards when it comes to accommodation [I mean, we're people who voluntarily live in the woods for a week, right?] - clean, safe and cheap is all I need. This was kinda pricey for what it was, but the lady knocked off $10 because we are backpackers. I appreciated that, and the total was $55 afterward. The room was "OK". Very, very dimly lit by a few gross lamps (stained) and shabby. We were still fairly happy until we tried to close our blinds. They were broken and stuck open. We told her the problem and she basically said to deal with it. We ended up using a rag to individually close the dusty little slats as best we could. I was pleasantly surprised to have a microwave and mini fridge.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaitlinK1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We asked for a none smoking room. The door had a non smoking sign on it, but the room smelled like the crappy place it was. Our jack russell would not even stay on the floor. You know you are in trouble when you find a sack of garlic hanging over the door, supposedly to the kitchenette, which had a 2 burner stoved w/no front and a sink built in attached to it. The commode handle was held together w/electrical tape. The ceiling fan had dust balls hanging from it. The owner stated it was the only room he had (we had reservations), but he booked three more rooms by the time he decided to offer us the 'owners suite' which had a broken towel bar, smelled bad, paper thin walls. We were disturbed all night with banging noises and loud talking. Never, ever again. GARLIC, seriously!! Oct 16, 2011.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gmdaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The pictures! There's no way, NO WAY that these are the rooms listed on the web site. Totally different layout. Bed bugs and bed bug feces behind the unattached head board. If you can imagine a motel rented by the hour this is it, And it has a for sale sign on it.
To add the the nightmare they tell you no refunds. Call
your cc company or bank. Don't take my word for it see for yourself

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jkrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#53 of 77 in Gatlinburg
77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
#52 of 77 in Gatlinburg
934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
0 mi away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.1 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prix Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prix Motel

Address: 235 Ski Mountain Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3142
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Prix Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Prix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing