We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what they say.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smoky Bear Campground & RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Clintwood, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what they say.”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The camping spots are no where as big as they would have you to believe. The only level spots are pull through that are paved. There's a lot of road noise. I would rate it as a 2 star at the most.
The bathrooms are clean, but I have seen cleaner.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    22
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
151
74
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This Campground is excellent. The restrooms are beautiful and super clean. The staff is excellent. Our vehicle broke down while we were shopping in Gatlinburg. The owner was willing to come out late at night to help us out. The people are super friendly and the campground is quiet and cozy. Best and cleanest campground we have ever been too. Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was the cleanest, best kept campground we ever visited. The owners are super friendly and very helpful with visitor information and really made us feel welcome. The bathrooms were immaculate; the best we've ever seen. Highly recommend this campground.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

While this campground was beautiful and very well maintained they do not have ANY Pet Rules Posted nor will they do anything about other campers that abuse. We have camped for years and never had a problem such as this. We do own a dog and love dogs. However, this campground allowed campers to place multiple pens on their sites with multiple dogs in them. We had a camper one campsite over that had 3 miniature doberman pincer's that were left outside and that continuously barked all day long, rarely stopping for 5 minutes. In as much, as the campground did have quit hours from 10 pm - 8 am these dogs woke us up at 7:22 am and continued to bark for over an hour straight 2 days in a row. My husband and I have never complained at a campground before, but this was affecting our vacation. We complained to management 3 different times and the last time the Owner, Barry yelled at me and told me I was exaggerating because he was just over there and they only barked when he approached and walked away. However, when I offered for him to stay at our camper for 30 min. he refused and told us they weren't going to ask them to leave because they drove a long way. Needless to say, we booked this site 6 months in advance, paid for it and were not bothering any other campers, we were asked to leave if we didn't like it. Let me understand this, let the camper whom is the one causing the noise stay and ask the ones to leave that bring it to your attention more than once. There was also another camper whom has been camping there for 9 years and he stated that this was the worst he has ever seen it. We are from Michigan and all I can say is that this type of behavior from campers would not be Tolerated at any campground and they would have been asked to leave. The response we received from Barry was totally unacceptable and beyond belief.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I am somewhat of a campground snob and am not easily impressed, however, Smoky Bear Campground is beautiful. The grounds are pristine and the owners are fabulous. I even got a call on my way in to make sure I did not get lost. It is obvious when you see the beautiful landscaping and the ultra clean facilities that Chong and Barry work very hard to make it so nice. Be careful, though, this place can spoil you. Nothing else seems so measure up now. I cannot wait to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank camplife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We loved the campground and the pool and hot tub. The Papa Bear cabin was really big and had a cool loft (the ceiling was low and you are guaranteed to bump your head, but the kids loved it). The living room area was spacious and the deck was big also. We would definitely return here. We didn't need the large cabin, but the others were sold out and we were only there for one night so we took it and loved it (one adult and 3 teens). Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed 7 night, May 30-June 6. First, I will note that the wifi Internet comes and goes. So if that is a necessity, you may want to keep this in mind. We found it a plus as we checked our email a few times but without wifi all the time, our kids could not sit on their kindle and iPod. Also, there is no AT&T service but down the road when driving to attractions, there is service. But note that there is not service in the smoky mountains either. So it's hit and miss.
About the campground: this is the cleanest campground we have ever stayed! The campground is extremely well maintained. The owners take pride in their campground and it shows. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The camping spots are very level. The pool and restrooms/showers are very very very clean. We camped in a camper but did look at a cabin. The cabin was very clean and looked fairly new.
The campground is approximately 10 miles from gatlinburg so it's quiet and away from the tourist attractions.
We highly recommend this campground. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mom_USA70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatlinburg
12.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
12.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.3 mi away
Arrow Creek Campground
Arrow Creek Campground
#28 of 51 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Bear Cove Village
Bear Cove Village
#18 of 53 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.6 mi away
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
#6 of 51 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
12.5 mi away
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoky Bear Campground & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoky Bear Campground & RV Park

Property: Smoky Bear Campground & RV Park
Address: Hwy 321, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-0454
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Smoky Bear Campground And Rv Park
Smoky Bear Campground & Rv Park Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing