We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, friendly and as close as you will get”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smoky Bear Campground & RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very clean, friendly and as close as you will get”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We camped here in a small RV for the better part of a two week vacation in June 2013. It was the cleanest campground ever seen (haved camped throughout U.S.). Ever. Hands down cleanest. Also the potted flowers throughout make it very lovely. The pool and playground and hosts were delightful. They checked to ensure we were happy, and did not bother, but definately CARED about the quality of our stay. It was very quiet when we were there also. It is not a destination/amusement-park style campground, but if you come here you should enjoy the outdoors of the Smokeys and so this campground is perfect because it has just what you need to have an idyllic and relaxing stay.
It is hard to tell where things are located down there until you get there. So I will tell you: this campground is pretty much a similar distance to Gatlinburg and the N.Park as are nearly all the other private campgrounds. The only way to really be super close to the N.Park is to be inside it - by booking one of the N.Park campgrounds; However, they do not have the amenities some campers want (e.g. hookups, etc), and they also get booked up quickly. Probably this campground also gets booked up quickly, so we booked far in advance.
Enjoy your Smokey's vacation!

Room Tip: They are all good - level and immaculate. Just specify the type you want (e.g. pull-through vs bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McCoyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    22
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
153
75
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penn
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We were on our way up from Atlanta, through the Great Smokies and needed a place to stay. I found this place in the Good Sam guide and called. The owner was wonderful!!!!!!! We chatted until I lost cell reception and when I called her back (when we reached Gatlinburg) she was so happy we had made it over the mountains ok. It took us a while to get through town and when we got to the campsite, what a nice surprise to see how beautifully laid out it was!!!!!! And the info sheet was great!!!! Our hostess was the best!!!! A dog lover!!!! We are planning another trip (not during spring break) and will try to stay there again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank roadtoretirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoosick Falls, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were a little late arriving due to following the GPS and Chong called to be sure everything was OK and directed us there. Barry checked us in and asked if we needed help backing into our site and was more than happy helping my husband get us all settled in. Campground is quiet, clean and just far enough from Gatlinburg to seem like you weren't near the hustle and bustle without being too far away. We spent a lot of time riding our motorcycles while we were here and Barry and Chong were great about being sure we were having a good time and helping us find places to go and places to eat. We can't wait to return! Wish there were more campgrounds like this one available in more places.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

An excellent place to camp with clean restrooms. The most friendly and helpful staff I have ever seen. We checked in little late. However, the owner had made all the necessary arrangements and also checked in with us to see if everything was ok. Definitely would like to visit smokys and stay here

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHVohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clintwood, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The camping spots are no where as big as they would have you to believe. The only level spots are pull through that are paved. There's a lot of road noise. I would rate it as a 2 star at the most.
The bathrooms are clean, but I have seen cleaner.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This Campground is excellent. The restrooms are beautiful and super clean. The staff is excellent. Our vehicle broke down while we were shopping in Gatlinburg. The owner was willing to come out late at night to help us out. The people are super friendly and the campground is quiet and cozy. Best and cleanest campground we have ever been too. Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was the cleanest, best kept campground we ever visited. The owners are super friendly and very helpful with visitor information and really made us feel welcome. The bathrooms were immaculate; the best we've ever seen. Highly recommend this campground.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatlinburg
12.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
12.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arrow Creek Campground
Arrow Creek Campground
#32 of 52 in Gatlinburg
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Bear Cove Village
Bear Cove Village
#18 of 53 in Pigeon Forge
132 reviews
9.4 mi away
Honeymoon Hills Gatlinburg Cabin Rentals
12.5 mi away
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoky Bear Campground & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoky Bear Campground & RV Park

Property: Smoky Bear Campground & RV Park
Address: Hwy 321, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-0454
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Smoky Bear Campground And Rv Park
Smoky Bear Campground & Rv Park Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing