We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville
1 review
“Do Not Stay Here”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

At 4 am, my family was awakened by a piercing beep and "Low Battery Warning". The warning occurred every 15 min. and as I was falling back asleep (even while wearing earplugs) Finally around 6 am, I had enough and hunted for the source (we had blamed cell phones, ipods, etc). It was the smoke alarm! I finally took it off the wall thinking that would fix it--it still continued to beep! At 6:30 am, I delivered it to the front desk so they could listen to it. Front desk was understanding and told me to come back at 9:30 am to speak to the manager. I told the manager, "We are staying for 2 evenings, you need to comp this first night. My family came here to rest and enjoy Gatlinburg. Our first night was ruined and now we would drag the rest of the day." The manager said, "We will take care of it." That satisfied me until checkout.
At check out, he discounted the room a full 15%! Ridiculous!!! I responded there was no way he would put his family through a similar experience. He offered another 15% off the price. I steamed out of there never to return. When I checked out, that room still did not have a smoke alarm. DO NOT STAY HERE.
Other Cons: Dated rooms,
--Room smelled of animal urine
--WiFi was unusable
--Air Conditioner required repair
--Ice Maker did not work
Pro
--Pet friendly unless you have a fire in room
--Other guests tried to warn us not to stay here (sorry we did heed their warning)

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_740, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Gatlinburg Aquarium Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies
I never comitted for comp room for first night.
We have given 25% off on first night. We also offered additional 15% .
We could not put back fire alaram because there was a Do Not Disturb sign on the door
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    234
    110
    45
    48
See reviews for
318
244
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Well I'm writing this review from the balcony of the Red roof inn. 1st off do not believe that this red roof is any where near the Aquarium because it's at least 20 mins away from it by walking and 10 by driving due to heavy traffic. The Internet works if you come outside and use it but n the room is useless. The business center they speak of is 1 computer in the office which looks like it was a a reject from the 70s. The staff is full of excuses for the net not working or the ice machines not working or extra pillows.
The rooms are clean and the beds are semi soft. If you are a big guy like me "professional wrestler" then a queen size bed with your wife is a nightmare. We have yet to try the free breakfast but as my review title says if you think you are getting a hotel close to the strip you are being taken and they should have to change the name. It is own by a family of pakastains who have no clue as to how Americans should be accomdsted so take that as a warning. But my advice is steerr clear of the Red roof inn nowhere near the strip in gatlinburg

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_740, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
We do not expect Dicriminatory remarks from our guest
I am a proud american
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

It needs updated like flat screen tv's. But it was a pretty nice stay with good views. The beds need softer mattress too. Not bad for the price. We paid 55.99 for the room. It is 100% smoke free hotel. But they do let you smoke on the balcony if you shut your door. If you smoke in your room they will charge you a fee of $200.00. It's says by the aquarium which it's about two to three blocks away..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinx1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We had been looking for something affordable in Gatlinburg that accepted pets. That is what the Red Roof Inn provides. Pluses: There is no pet fee unless you have more than one pet, there is a trolley stop just steps away from the parking lot, the rooms are clean (also huge) and all have balconies, Very friendly staff, great location. The only minus would be the breakfast... just a bit of a cramped room and not enough choices. We aren't real big breakfast people so it really didn't matter. I would stay here again for sure. We would like to come back in the winter so we can use the large fireplace that was in the room. Also, we saw a beautiful black bear walk by. This hotel backs up to some woods, which is a plus.

Room Tip: I would spend the extra few dollars and get a suite with a kitchenette. I found a price of $56.99 on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkansasfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Dated property, with big room and ok location. Not really walkable to town so have to take shuttle or drive and pay to park. One very slow elevator with warning not to panic if it gets stuck and breaks down!? No good area to walk the dog so its not easy to have a pet.

Room Tip: smoking allowed on balcany if you keep door to room closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glassman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virgina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We were so surprised at what a nice place this was after reading some of these bogus reviews about it online. The price was very cheap and the rooms were so large. The Desk Clerk and maids were so nice. It is not a luxury hotel but for the price it comes close. You can park near your room no matter which one you are in and that was a great convenience.

Room Tip: all rooms face the pool but this motel is very high on a hill, so if you do not like heights request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shuffsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Abor, Mi
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We had an very large room....king, corner room, 6th floor that was so spacious and roomy. It also had a nice gas fireplace. (although we didn't need it, since it was 90 degrees outside...but would be very cozy for a fall or winter visit) Since it was a corner room (#613) it had a wrap-around balcony, which gave beatiful views of the surrounding mountains. The staff is very friendly and accomodating and the place is super clean. The bed was very comfy too...unlike some Red Roofs that we've stayed in. We chose this hotel in Gatlinburg based on the fact that they accepted pets and they seem to be the only hotel in Gatlinburg that allows pets! We would definitely stay here again.

The only suggestion I would have for the hotel is to have some bags and a disposable container handy, so that people could easily clean up after their pets.

Room Tip: Upper, corner room is very nice for views of surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
462 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#36 of 78 in Gatlinburg
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#17 of 78 in Gatlinburg
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Address: 401 Hemlock St, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3009 (Formerly Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg. We are right across from "Gatlinburg Mountain Coaster" and also 1.5 miles from Great Smoky Mountain National Park, the busiest of all national parks with over 9 million visitors each year. The park offers endless outdoor activities such as downhill snow skiing, class IV whitewater rafting, golf, hiking options from 600 miles of trails, and fishing in hundreds of miles of streams. Relax at Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg while you're enjoying all Gatlinburg's restaurants, family fun museums (such as Ripley's Believe It or Not and Hollywood Star Car Museum), Dollywood Amusement Park, Splash Country, Dixie Stampede, and many, many other great attractions, fun for young and old. Year round events and concerts combine to make Gatlinburg a true entertainment destination in the beauty of the Smoky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg - Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Red Roof Inn And Suites Gatlinburg - Aquarium
Wildwood Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing