We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful did not stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We had a reservation for one night. When we got to the room it smelled awful like dog. The room looked dirty as well. We told manager and he gave us a different room. That room smelled and looked dirty too. We got a refund and went to a different hotel. Do not try it!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_740, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for posting your review on our page. I am so sorry that you had a bad experience while checking inn. While checking inn you said you are allergic to pets and wanted non-pet rooms. We told you that we as a Red Roof are proud pet friendly motel & we do keep our room clean . We did show you are newly renovated rooms which has new wood looking LVT floor . Guest who have stayed in our new rooms have appreciated our pet friendly floors, which keeps the room hygiene & smell free. Once again thanks for our feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

The room was "newly" renovated. I almost liked the fact there was no carpet. It made it "yucky". There were bugs and dust in the corners. I felt the bathroom could have been cleaner. The decor was just okay. The curtains and comforter gross, heavy and way out-of-date!! There was a pool. The kids did swim, a few times. There was a nice television and a nice sized frig. Don't think I will go back.

Room Tip: Front only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for one night. A dog was left on the balcony below us. It barked for 5 hours. I called front desk concerned for this poor dog and they said they were trying to look after it. The dog's owner obviously went down town and left the dog tied up on the balcony. Very annoying! The hotel was clean and a good price. It was a good walking distance to down town. Breakfast was basic. But this hotel needs a policy that no animal is left unattended on the balcony. Very cruel to the dog and all the paying customers who had to listen to this for 5 hours.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 02Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_740, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

“Thank you so much for your review & staying with us. I am sorry about the noise . All guest comfort is important to us and we take great pride in ensuring it . Once notified of the noise issue we took action to ensure that the owner’s pet was taken care of and safe. We are a pet-friendly facility and do allow pets . While we are pet friendly please be assured that this was an isolated incident and we do require that pets are kenneled when the owner is out of the room. Thank you again for your feedback and it is my hope that you give us the opportunity to serve you again on your next trip to our area.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here after first seeing the horrible Days Inn next door. The Red Roof is clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are quiet and have a balcony with a nice view. Breakfast is very good. The pool area is nice and there is plenty of deck space for enjoying the day. The hotel has recently been renovated and looks wonderful. We would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank HSandFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Good price and good walking distance to down town! Will stay again next time! Room was clean and staff was very helpful. The view was awesome and pool was nice during the nite!! The parking was very good also! We had a good experience in Richmond ky that's why we chose red roof in gatlinburg!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_740, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for your most recent stay with us Amy R. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the view & pool lights . We are close enough to everything but tucked away to get away when you need to, that's' the best things that we have to offer. I hope that you will continue to stay with us every time you visit this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were a little skeptical of what we would find based on the office; however, we were pleasantly surprised by our room! The room was clean. The beds were comfortable with 3 pillows and new mattress! The room did smell like a dog a bit. It is a pet friendly Inn. Overall the location is great because you don't have to fight the traffic further into town. I hope the owner works on some of the tacky decorated rooms shown on the website and goes with more classic decor.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank BUX4FUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My sister and I just returned from Gatlinburg where we stayed at the Red Roof Inn and Suites. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel and our room. It was much nicer than I expected.

PROS: new mattresses on both beds in our room, new sheets, 3 pillows on each bed, great air conditioning, new TV, room was huge, nice balcony that overlooked the pool, etc, friendly staff at Check-In, great location, hot water for shower, water pressure pretty good, pet friendly.

CONS: Pet Friendly - our room had a pet odor. When you don't have a pet, you can smell that odor anywhere. It wasn't terrible, but it was there. The carpet really needs to be replaced - it was clean, but holds the pet odor. Also, the buttons on our phone were not all there. Not that anyone ever really uses a hotel phone, but....

I was looking for things to complain about but I just couldn't find any deal-breakers. The items in the vending machines were not even expensive like at some hotels. Parking was ample and free.

I would stay here again if I ever returned to Gatlinburg. But, the chances of that are slim and none - in my opinion, Gatlingurg has gone downhill since I was a kid.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank KimBux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#33 of 77 in Gatlinburg
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 77 in Gatlinburg
479 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg

Address: 401 Hemlock St, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3009 (Formerly Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £41 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg. We are right across from "Gatlinburg Mountain Coaster" and also 1.5 miles from Great Smoky Mountain National Park, the busiest of all national parks with over 9 million visitors each year. The park offers endless outdoor activities such as downhill snow skiing, class IV whitewater rafting, golf, hiking options from 600 miles of trails, and fishing in hundreds of miles of streams. Relax at Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg while you're enjoying all Gatlinburg's restaurants, family fun museums (such as Ripley's Believe It or Not and Hollywood Star Car Museum), Dollywood Amusement Park, Splash Country, Dixie Stampede, and many, many other great attractions, fun for young and old. Year round events and concerts combine to make Gatlinburg a true entertainment destination in the beauty of the Smoky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg - Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Red Roof Inn And Suites Gatlinburg - Aquarium
Wildwood Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing