We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow....better than we had expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marshall's Creek Rest Motel
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My wife and I used to visit Gatlinburg, often. We used to stay at the Park Vista. Well, we haven't been in 9 years, Since then, Park Vista has been updated....along with their prices. Too much, just for a room to sleep in, which is all you're going to need it for when staying in Gatlinburg. So, I went to Trip Advisor to take a look at what some folks had to say about some other places. Everybody had great things to say about Marshall's, and there were a few photos posted by previous guests. Marshall's looks like the kind of motels that my family stayed in when we travelled the U.S. when I was a kid, so, I thought it would be kind of cool to let our young son experience that on his first trip to Gatlinburg. We didn't know what to really expect, but I can tell you this much, Marshall's far exceeded our expectations. The staff is wonderful. The owners are wonderful. The place is spotlessly clean. It is quiet and relaxing and only a few blocks off of the main drag in Gatlinburg. It's a short walk from the motel to the main drag, and you come out smack dab in the middle of the main drag. This place is great. I would put in more positive comments, but, I don't want all of you rushing to book here, as we will be back and we don't want all of the rooms taken up. As far as I'm concerned, Marshall's is the ONLY place that we will stay during our future trips to Gatlinburg. We stayed 6 nights for LESS than we would have paid for just 2 nights at the Park Vista!!! What a super value, and, no phones, no wi-fi, just a nice, quiet, clean place to relax. That's what a vacation should be. Unplug and unwind. That's exactly what we did. Marshall's is perfect.

Room Tip: Book as far in advance as you can. There are only 20 rooms and the place is always full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissouriTravelFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

Our family has been staying here on and off for the last 50 years. Always clean, pleasant and everything in working order. Think the same family has owned it for 3 generations. Close to downtown too. Older motel with no internet or breakfast, but the coffees always hot in the morning!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTCruisin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here for a night during spring break and just loved it. You truly feel you have been time warped into in 1955. The screen door, the light over your room when you arrive, the little shelf between the beds for the phone long gone, all very charming. My only disappointment is they require a 3 night minimum stay starting in May, so we can't stay here for weekend summer get-a-ways. If you want brand new everything, then this is not your place, but if you want to experience a place that has been well kept and lets you see how your parents use to vacation, then this place is for you.

Room Tip: They all look like good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dynamicdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We were so pleased to find that Marshall's Creek had a room available for our stay during Thanksgiving week. It is an older hotel without all the whistles. It doesn't have the internet - no problem - if you are on vacation, who wants it. Be sure to bring your own shampoo and blow dryer. Only drawback of the hotel - you can hear muffled sounds of the guests staying beside you. The rooms are very basic but very clean. Great location. I enjoyed my stay so much that I came back the next weekend with my sisters, brothers and mom. We booked four rooms! Can't wait to come back in the summer...the outdoor pool looks great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penny412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

They require 15 DAYS notice or you will be charged. Other than that the motel is a quirky, different place to stay - screen doors, porches, etc. It’s certainly not updated, but neither are their prices. Wood paneling doesn't bother me when paying $50 a night. The room was clean and close to the main drag through Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnTheNarrowRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We spent two nights at Marshall's Creek at loved it! The rooms were extremely clean and we loved the room. We stayed in #19 and it was at the end of the motel so we had the creek right beside our room. We could hear it when we opened the windows! I would highly recommend this motel to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrea r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed here for one night in August. They were booked the following night so we had to check out. We hated to leave. We fell in love with this cute little motel. We paid double somewhere else and didn't enjoy it nearly as much as Marshall's. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the porch and the short walk to the Parkway was great. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebrownsc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.4 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 77 in Gatlinburg
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 77 in Gatlinburg
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#32 of 77 in Gatlinburg
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#25 of 77 in Gatlinburg
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall's Creek Rest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall's Creek Rest Motel

Address: 313 Baskins Creek Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £49 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marshall's Creek Rest Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Marshall's Creek Rest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall`s Creek Rest Hotel Gatlinburg
Marshalls Creek Rest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing