We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White Water Retreat”
Review of Tree Tops Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tree Tops Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“White Water Retreat”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by the rushing white water creek right next to the parking lot/road at the resort. You only need to take a few steps away to enjoy the relaxing sound of mountain water rushing over the rocky stream. This was my favorite part. The room was nicely spacious also. The Temperpeadic mattress on the first night was quite nice, but unfortunately we had to be moved to another unit without the same type of mattress. That night was not as restful, as the mattress was too soft and uneven. This might happen if you are arriving on a Saturday. Then moved to a Sun-Sun unit. Not sure why we had to move.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    76
    25
    13
    7
See reviews for
143
99
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Property is adjacent to the National Park. Suggest you take the scenic auto tour that starts in Gatlinburg at light #8 and literally ends at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tadouglas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We just returned from a five day stay at Tree Tops.

The 2BR/2BA until in building four...was great. The unit and the grounds are well cared for.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grassy Creek, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Loved the room, the layout of the resort, and the location. Trip was going great until our final day when the front desk called, wanting to come do a "review" of our experience there. After telling her we were still in bed, she said they would be there in an hour and a half. Then, a greasy used car salesman shows up, promising us enough points to take 4-5 weeks of vacation for the low price of $2000. Didnt want to purchase, didnt ask for a sales call, but I really (insert sarcasm here) appreciate them wasting about an hour of my last day of vacation, after running me outta bed...by the way, the points he offered us, equal about a four to five day vacation...not 4-5 weeks...beware!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pamela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Great location in Gatlinburg, in a wooded area on a hill directly adjacent to one of the borders of Great Smoky Mtns. National Park. The official park entrance is 5 minutes away if there's no traffic; 10 minutes with traffic. The staff at Tree Tops was very friendly and helpful. We didn't participate in the resort activities but there are daily events. Our 2-bedroom unit was spacious, very comfortable and had a great view of "tree tops" around the resort from the balcony. The unit was also very well-equipped for cooking and serving 6 people. There are indoor and outdoor pools. We especially appreciated the indoor pool where our family, including our grandchildren, played for hours. Our only complaint was that the internet service was extremely slow. When I asked about it, I was told it was due to the location, however, part of our family stayed at an inexpensive motel at the bottom of the same hill and internet service there was excellent. We would highly recommend Tree Tops to anyone wanting to vacation near the Smokies.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VagabondBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
2,770 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,151 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Tree Tops is located in a unique mountainside of Gatlinburg. Because of it’s location on Roaring Fork Road there is little tourist or native traffic in the area, and a second approach will provide superior grocery stores and restaurants without the bother of the downtown traffic chaos.

Tree Tops offers a first rate product, that is well maintained and managed. Tree Tops is constructed on property bordering the Great Smoky Mountains. We prefer the two bedroom and two bathroom with private balconies over-looking the Roaring Fork river (actually, a very dynamic trout fishing stream). We do not prefer the single units higher up on the mountain. The kitchens are well designed, and the units tend to be smaller than we prefer. An obvious complaint is the lack of unit washers and dryers (we have become very particular over the past 25 years). Imagine setting on a private balcony with morning coffee and viewing truly magnificent mountains and a large mountain stream.

The property is a bit dated; WiFi has recently been added.And the lack of unit washer and dryers is a real problem.The second bedroom is in radical need of a king size bed makeover. The master BR also demands a kingsize bed.

The imaginative and sincere beauty of The Great Smoky Mountains, the many trails, the waterfalls, the scenic beauty is the irenic reason for our continual visits.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Just returned from a great trip to TreeTops and the Smoky Mts. Own here and usually come evey other year but exchaneged with other owner this year to be able to bring grandkids before school started. Got to stay in Building 5 along the creek but big drawback was with 2 tots 3 & under they were able to stick heads between rails so doors remained shut. The twin matresses were awful but generally I so tired from hiking in the beautiful mts I managed to zonk out. We did a hike every other day and played at the resort the other days. One day at OberGatlinburg-pretty expensive. Go early and stay late to get your money's worth. Not much for the wee ones so don't buy the adult ticket just to take them.
Several days after we left the resort they called to tell us we had left personal items in the room and we made arrangements to get them shipped home-great service!
Loved the WiFi upgrade and kids alternated between pools (kiddie pool at upper pool & playground at lower pool). Waterfall in upper pool not working so we didn't get our regular photo shot but hopefully next time.
Love the quietness and sound of the creek. Short walk and you are in the National Forest.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CJs_Nana_Enon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
451 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
1.9 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Tops Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Tops Resort

Property: Tree Tops Resort
Address: 290 Sherman Clabo Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5066
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Gatlinburg
Hotel Class:4 star — Tree Tops Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Also Known As:
Tree Tops Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing