We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gatlinburg Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Ranked #52 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Martinez, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gatlinburg Vacation”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed in Gatlinburg Motel 6 again this year the last week in October. The evening clerk was very friendly and told me of the "resident bear" that frequented the area every night-- "be careful with the two dogs"! Indeed the bear passed our room every night, but after MN so we were tucked in. The room was great, housekeeping excellent, and as we checked out clerk thanked us for coming . Already planning next year's trip. Motel 6 is a great place for for us.

Room Tip: Rooms have been great every visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    105
    56
    48
    47
See reviews for
125
116
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It is very close to downtown, and to Texas Roadhouse, my favorite steak restaurant. The clerk was quite friendly. The room was clean, and quite. What is amazing, there are two black bears seeking for food around. They are safe, and never attack people (I was told so). They usually show up after dark in fall, searing for food to prepare the coming dormance.

Room Tip: No elevator. So if you have big luggages, book the 1st-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McAfee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Had a very short vacation in Gatlinburg and stayed at the Motel 6. Clerk was very nice and told me to watch out for some local bears that frequent the motel nightly. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Very reasonable and close to downtown. Walking distance to every shop there although walking is the best way to enjoy the view and making sure that you don't miss anything.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the motel tend to be a little less secure since bears frequent the area. Overal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duck240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copperhill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Called for reservations a week early and requested a first floor room,non smoking,arriving with 2 small dogs. We were assured that that was possible as we had called early. We arrived at 4:35 pm and were assigned a second floor room at the back of the motel thru a breeze way,my daughter explained that I have a very bad ankle and stairs would be a problem but they said we could not have a first floor room because we had pets (the people underneath us had a loud Lab) and we would just have to use the stairs. The breeze way and the drink,candy,and ice machine were filthy. The room itself was spotless and did not smell like smoke but the commode was not attached to the floor and the re bath type thing in the tub slipped and slid around when you stepped on it. The grounds were littered and dirty with trash and food garbage. You kind of have to wander about the neighborhood to get to the parking place for the back section.the dog walk is off this area and is actually dangerous . It was overgrown with weeds and briers, partly blocked by a pile of moldy sand and littered with trash and food trash , a broken trash can was overflowing. There is a very steep bank falling away down to a stream at the entrance, the ground was an uneven dirt path. A room on the first floor by the stairs had at some point been trashed broken window with large shards of glass, door open and lights on.there was no police tape or anything, but the room stayed just like that all night. The stairs at the breeze way were rusted out underneath. I did take pictures which I sent to motel 6 and we were given a free nights stay but this was a miserable stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Barbara M - We apologize for the maintenance issues you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience they caused you. Please contact our guest relations department so we will have a record of your experience to better address these issues and improve your experience with us in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

Norton, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Where do I start..., We can afford to spend more on motel/hotel rooms. But we never do because we don't need a lot when we travel. Just a bed and a shower. We are not picky people by any means! When I arrived the front desk told me there are NO SMOKING ROOMS, and that is what we booked on Orbitz. The biggest issue is the WIFI does not work! Never got the wifi to work for the ipad, and the lap top only worked a few hours out of 4 days we stayed. I really like that the room had hardwood floors, if the floors were laid right! One section of the floor was bubbled. And no matter where you walk you hear a crinkle sound. So forget about getting up in the middle of the night to use the restroom, because you will wake up everyone else in the room. One of the maids opened up our door when we were in the room without knocking. And he didn't even apologize. I was even nice about it! Then he was pushy telling us he would be back in 15 minutes. The room was clean for the most part. The back of the toilet didn't look like it was wiped down. There is no hot water in the morning, so we just learned real quick to take our showers at night. This motel is in a bad area of town. We were constantly looking outside to check on our car. I did not feel comfortable leaving our electronics or anything valuable in the room. We locked these things in our trunk when we were not in the room. The exterior of the building needs help big time. And little things would make a big difference; trimming the bushes, pulling weeds, power washing the building and sidewalks. Come on people, take some pride in your business! There is an ice machine that is broke, either fix it or throw it away! It is leaking water all over the place. There is an ice machine that works on the other side. There is an nasty dumpster at the edge of the parking lot and dirty old mattresses that the trash company did not take. This was the worst motel we have ever stayed in. The good news is the staff did authorize us to end our stay two days sooner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferEsterle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RESACA,GA
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a pet friendly motel that doesn't charge extra for your pet being with you.It is clean,convenient,free wifi.The staff are super,I was early getting to the motel but it was no problem.They let me check in after about five minutes to verify my room was ready.

Room Tip: schedule a couple of months ahead if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1EAGLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

booked through expedia unpublished rates... was listed as a 3 star hotel... I wouldn't give it a 1 star. Hotel desk was nice but hotel is seriously run down. I was scared to fall asleep. Hotel is not in the the best of neighborhoods. I was so upset w expedia and their policy with unpublished rates I tried to cancel but sales are final. The hotel is nowhere near a 3 star rating it was listed. No free breakfast no restaurant on site and the room was jus gross.. My husband got bitten by bed bugs.Hair dryers kept in office (because their customers run off with them all the time per lady at front desk) Dirty old mattresses on side of dumpster outside. jus pitiful. learned my lesson will never use hotwire/expedia again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Julie P,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
0.6 mi away
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
#58 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#22 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.1 mi away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#66 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains

Property: Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Address: 309 Ownby St, I-40 at US-441, Exit #407, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3109 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Gatlinburg is along the banks of Little Pigeon River, and the Smoky Mountains! We are only 3 blocks from downtown Parkway. Amenities include an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi. Select rooms have Jacuzzi tubs or fire places. Suites also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing