We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Nearby Hotels
US$125
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$145
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Edgewater Hotel(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$157
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zoders Inn & Suites(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gatlinburg Inn(Gatlinburg)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
87
119
59
54
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
119
59
54
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleandog walk areared rooffridge and microwaveplenty of hot watertwo blockswithin walking distancewould stay againnational parkgreat place to stayfront desk clerkcoffee makerober gatlinburgthe main streetpetsmotel6hardwood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed in Gatlinburg Motel 6 again this year the last week in October. The evening clerk was very friendly and told me of the "resident bear" that frequented the area every night-- "be careful with the two dogs"! Indeed the bear passed our room every night, but after MN so we were tucked in. The room was great, housekeeping excellent, and as we checked out clerk thanked us for coming . Already planning next year's trip. Motel 6 is a great place for for us.

Room Tip: Rooms have been great every visit
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It is very close to downtown, and to Texas Roadhouse, my favorite steak restaurant. The clerk was quite friendly. The room was clean, and quite. What is amazing, there are two black bears seeking for food around. They are safe, and never attack people (I was told so). They usually show up after dark in fall, searing for food to prepare the coming dormance.

Room Tip: No elevator. So if you have big luggages, book the 1st-floor room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McAfee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Had a very short vacation in Gatlinburg and stayed at the Motel 6. Clerk was very nice and told me to watch out for some local bears that frequent the motel nightly. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Very reasonable and close to downtown. Walking distance to every shop there although walking is the best way to enjoy the view and making sure that you don't miss anything.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the motel tend to be a little less secure since bears frequent the area. Overall, great motel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duck240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Called for reservations a week early and requested a first floor room,non smoking,arriving with 2 small dogs. We were assured that that was possible as we had called early. We arrived at 4:35 pm and were assigned a second floor room at the back of the motel thru a breeze way,my daughter explained that I have a very bad ankle and stairs would be a problem but they said we could not have a first floor room because we had pets (the people underneath us had a loud Lab) and we would just have to use the stairs. The breeze way and the drink,candy,and ice machine were filthy. The room itself was spotless and did not smell like smoke but the commode was not attached to the floor and the re bath type thing in the tub slipped and slid around when you stepped on it. The grounds were littered and dirty with trash and food garbage. You kind of have to wander about the neighborhood to get to the parking place for the back section.the dog walk is off this area and is actually dangerous . It was overgrown with weeds and briers, partly blocked by a pile of moldy sand and littered with trash and food trash , a broken trash can was overflowing. There is a very steep bank falling away down to a stream at the entrance, the ground was an uneven dirt path. A room on the first floor by the stairs had at some point been trashed broken window with large shards of glass, door open and lights on.there was no police tape or anything, but the room stayed just like that all night. The stairs at the breeze way were rusted out underneath. I did take pictures which I sent to motel 6 and we were given a free nights stay but this was a miserable stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Barbara M - We apologize for the maintenance issues you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience they caused you. Please contact our guest relations department so we will have a record of your experience to better address these issues and improve your experience with us in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Where do I start..., We can afford to spend more on motel/hotel rooms. But we never do because we don't need a lot when we travel. Just a bed and a shower. We are not picky people by any means! When I arrived the front desk told me there are NO SMOKING ROOMS, and that is what we booked on Orbitz. The biggest issue is the WIFI does not work! Never got the wifi to work for the ipad, and the lap top only worked a few hours out of 4 days we stayed. I really like that the room had hardwood floors, if the floors were laid right! One section of the floor was bubbled. And no matter where you walk you hear a crinkle sound. So forget about getting up in the middle of the night to use the restroom, because you will wake up everyone else in the room. One of the maids opened up our door when we were in the room without knocking. And he didn't even apologize. I was even nice about it! Then he was pushy telling us he would be back in 15 minutes. The room was clean for the most part. The back of the toilet didn't look like it was wiped down. There is no hot water in the morning, so we just learned real quick to take our showers at night. This motel is in a bad area of town. We were constantly looking outside to check on our car. I did not feel comfortable leaving our electronics or anything valuable in the room. We locked these things in our trunk when we were not in the room. The exterior of the building needs help big time. And little things would make a big difference; trimming the bushes, pulling weeds, power washing the building and sidewalks. Come on people, take some pride in your business! There is an ice machine that is broke, either fix it or throw it away! It is leaking water all over the place. There is an ice machine that works on the other side. There is an nasty dumpster at the edge of the parking lot and dirty old mattresses that the trash company did not take. This was the worst motel we have ever stayed in. The good news is the staff did authorize us to end our stay two days sooner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferEsterle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews