We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renovations good. Clean up not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Ranked #55 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Georgetown, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Renovations good. Clean up not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The room itself was as pictured online. Newly renovated but not completely cleaned. The refrigerator was not working however they did bring us a small one from another room. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. I was disappointed in the outside appearance. The location was only a couple blocks from main street which was nice so we walked. As you got closer to the motel other buildings were run down and my first impression was 0MG..what have I booked. For the money it was workable.. My husband made me feel better about staying there so we made the best of the situation. Would I stay again? No! We had our baby with us (mini schnauzer) Izzy. Gatlinburg is NOT very pet friendly. We did not let that ruin our vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    104
    52
    46
    46
See reviews for
123
110
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I'm writing this review ten months late (we stayed here last April), but I'm in the process of making a reservation to stay here again this March. My husband and I, and our dog, stayed last year in a King room in the back building, near the pool. The room was very clean and extremely quiet. We were on the first floor with occupied rooms all around us and we didn't hear any noise, except outside noise. They are very pet-friendly and don't charge extra for the pet. We encountered a few employees during our stay and they were all very pleasant and helpful. If you need more amenities than clean and comfortable, look elsewhere. For my money, this Motel 6 can't be beat!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusiRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Thanks to the affordable rates at Motel 6 we were able to make two ski trips in January. We stayed a total of 12 nights and were able to ski almost every day. We travel with our dog and have stayed at some nice cabins and condos, but the prices have been cutting our trips shorter over the past few years. This Motel 6 in not fancy but has a friendly staff, is clean, and was just what we were looking for. It is in a great location with plenty of room to walk our dog down by the stream. Just a short walk into downtown Gatlinburg, we were able to carry our skis and take the tram one day when the road was frozen up to the ski resort. I highly recommend this motel if you love to ski and want an affordable, convenient place to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had a great stay. Everything was clean and well organized. The bedding was nice. We had one towel that had spots, but it still smelled clean. Very helpful/friendly staff. The heater worked GREAT!! Will definitely stay on our next trip, since we go to Gatlinburg every 6-8 months. We are also sending my in-laws to this motel for a getaway in the next couple of months.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0126Tamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bay, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great location and a great price, If you want to stay in a 5 star don't bother with motel 6, if you want a safe, clean, and very affordable place to stay on your vacation this is the place to stay. Was very clean, and the staff was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The best thing about this motel is the location. Walking to downtown Gatlinburg is only ~0.5 mile. However, the rooms are terribly outdated, generally uncomfortable, and only minimally "clean". The sheets on the beds feel rough and look extremely tacky, though they did seem to at least be clean. The shower had not been cleaned. I found several strands of long hair in there, as well as a wet dirty washcloth. There was a large booger (in plain sight, not hidden at all) on the front of one of the lamps, near the switch.

The refridgerater was poorly designed (primarily for cans, not for food), which was inconvenient for to-go boxes, Tupperware containers brought from home, two-liter drinks, etc. No continental breakfast is provided, but there is coffee in the lobby.

There are no blinds in the window, just a large single panel curtain, so there's no in-between as far as letting natural light in and privacy goes.

All rooms are pet friendly, but there's a 25 lb. weight limit and only one dog allowed per room. Dogs must not be left unattended in the room. There is a designated dog walking area, which was nice.

The front desk staff were minimally friendly, but generally helpful. I did have an incident with one of the cleaning staff while I was there. As I was loading my car, a man followed me out to my car to ask me in very broken English what hotel room I was staying in. I was very creeped out by his following me, and felt this was information I did not need to give out to him. I replied that I was leaving soon (an hour ahead of check-out time), but his questioning me made me feel very uneasy, rushed, and unwelcome. As I went back to my room, he followed me to the bottom of the stairs and watched me the whole way up as I walked back to my room, I suppose to get the answer to his question. As a young female, I was extremely intimidated of this cleaning staff. I understand he was waiting to clean the room, but do not understand why he could not have communicated with other hotel staff to find out which room to clean and when.

While the old saying goes "you get what you pay for", there are other hotels around the Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg area which run for the same price and have much better value.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the creek have a nice view, especially from the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meaganlael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I chose this motel because I was passing through for one night, and it seemed to be the cheapest one which allowed pets. The room was very big and clean and the woman at checkin was very nice and helpful in suggesting a place to go for dinner. I would definitely stay here again if I was on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
0.6 mi away
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
#61 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#19 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.1 mi away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#67 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains

Property: Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
Address: 309 Ownby St, I-40 at US-441, Exit #407, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3109 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Gatlinburg is along the banks of Little Pigeon River, and the Smoky Mountains! We are only 3 blocks from downtown Parkway. Amenities include an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi. Select rooms have Jacuzzi tubs or fire places. Suites also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing