We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE the Fabulous Chalet Inn!”
Review of Chalet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalet Inn
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVE the Fabulous Chalet Inn!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I love this Chalet Lodge! It is an older hotel but has the charm of old Gatlinburg! We stayed in a wonderful Chalet room at the top of the hill. It was very clean. The room had cathedral ceilings and a fantastic view of the space needle and mountains and we could watch the tram go back and forth to the ski lodge. The room also had a large fireplace ready to light (with plenty of extra firewood just outside.) Both the night and morning manager were very nice and accommodating. We also were just a short walk to Howard's, one of my favorite original restaurants of Gatlinburg. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I loved out Chalet room at the top of the hill. The morning manager Bryan also told us that the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyshipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne J, Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you so much for the great comments! We work very hard to make our guests experience the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    55
    39
    27
    53
See reviews for
82
107
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cullman, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The place could be improved with a little TLC and some updating. We stayed here with our youth group for the Xtreme Winter conference. Our rooms were late being cleaned and released. Other than a lot of hair left in the bathroom, the room seemed pretty clean. Our room had no view except for the parking lot and the Wifi did not work in any of the 4 rooms we had. Maintenance was quick as two of our rooms had stopped up toilets. On our second night, garbage bags of sheets and towels were stacked outside of our unit. These were still there when we checked out the next morning. The bed was very comfy and our room was spacious. The location was wonderful! I would have to think long and hard before I stayed here again. I think everything would have been better if housekeeping were not rushed to get us in our rooms...by 5-6 pm. The pictures on the website looked nothing like our rooms.

Room Tip: No view in single level units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne J, Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We always appreciate knowing where we can make improvements. We Thank you for your praise as well ! Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

this was the worst hotel/motel I've ever stayed in. the title should be the fabulous sh** inn by the river. The walls were dirty and needed painted, carpet was dirty and needed replaced. the shower had tile that was broken or missing mold in the shower area. when I was leaving they asked me how my stay was and I stated it was the worst place I had ever stayed and the desk person stated "o well have a nice day" this company owns 3 or 4 other motels/hotels in the Gatlinburg area and use the old bait and switch to fill the rooms

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gatlinburg hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Dirty, dingy, unserviced, in need of repair, clogged pipes, uncomfortable, unfriendly, unethical, and expensive. One would say you get what you pay for but you could get ANYTHING much better for the same or even less price. This place should be closed. Nothing fabulous there. We wanna write somthing nice......can't think of anything.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miamivampires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Made Thanksgiving arrangements to stay 4 nights this hotel. When we arrived the hotel was practically empty (should have been my first clue.) The clerk gave us room key and asked us to check out the space (seemed odd since we'd stayed there many times before) - 0 for 2 on clues. We inspected the room but it hadn't been cleaned. When we asked to have the room serviced they said they had no one on duty and they would NOT put us in any of the empty rooms (there were plenty - not 5 cars in the lot) until they serviced our room the next day. They offered to put us up at one of their "other" Reagan Resort hotels in town at a "really good rate", just not our current rate. The desk clerk then spoke with her manager Linda then said there was nothing Reagan Hotels would do to help us. We went back to our room to collect our things to leave and within minutes a drunken "manager" named Greg who was conveniently out of his business cards bellowed at us to get out.
I've stayed in, and entertained client meetings at, Reagan Resort Hotels for years - but no longer. The hotel complex has suffered from neglect over the years and they do not offer breakfast of any kind. The "Resorts" attitude is in need of a major overhaul and they seem to be tone deaf to their "guests". A drunken and/or "bait and switch" management style are steps in the wrong direction so spend your money elsewhere. There are far cleaner, friendlier, more accommodating hotels in Gatlinburg; Reagan Resorts does not appreciate nor deserve your patronage. They've lost mine for good.

Room Tip: Avoid Reagan Resorts - Choose a name brand chain with oversight management standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Booked a few days during low season, rooms really well priced. Beds were great & the rooms were warm, which given it was getting to -2c was fantastic after coming in from hiking trails.
Host couldn't have been more helpful either with the room or with regard to info on Gatlinburg or the local National/State Parks.
Location is great, just a block or so off the main road so quiet apart from the lovely sound of the stream rushing by outside the room.
Would stay again if I was back in Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomNomNom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter Y, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We are looking forward to having the opportunity to make your next stay even more Fantastic ! Our managers and guest clerks are eager to help in any way we can , as well as our housekeeping staff . The location and views are a great value , while enjoying the Smoky Mountains and downtown Gatlinburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The beds were comfortable, it was quiet at night. The guy at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The location was great and reasonably priced (which is rare in the perpetually overpriced Gatlinburg). It was close to everything (only a two minute walk to the main street where all of the shopping and dining is.) If you're a picky person who wants breakfast in bed and a turn down service then this isn't the place for you, but if you're like me, and you just want a comfortable, safe and affordable place to sleep after a long day of hiking, then I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter Y, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Here at the Fabulous Chalet Inn on the River in Gatlinburg, we pride ourselves on offering good value for the price paid. We also have a pretty darn good location if you like staying on the River on the lower level or great mountain views on our upper level! Anyway, thanks for commenting, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.9 mi away
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
#47 of 78 in Gatlinburg
290 reviews
0.9 mi away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#67 of 78 in Gatlinburg
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
#54 of 78 in Gatlinburg
894 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Inn

Property: Chalet Inn
Address: 516 Sunset Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3122 (Formerly Fabulous Chalet Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting majestically above the town, Chalet Inn maintains the kind of rustic elegance once known to all great smoky mountain resorts. The Inn's landscaped surroundings, mountain stone architecture and charming character-filled rooms make you feel a world away. Yet, the attractions of Gatlinburg are just a few blocks away. The Inn is just two blocks from Ober Gatlinburg Aerial Tramway, with Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies just 5 blocks away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fabulous Chalet Hotel Gatlinburg
Best Western Gatlinburg
Fabulous Chalet Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing