We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet Inn
Ranked #46 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here for a final night in the smokies. Had a hard time finding a room for the night and this is where we ended up. Hotel staff was friendly. Room was older but you can tell they had tried to spruce it up as much as they could on a budget. The stream view and patio we had on the stream was really nice. Beds were comfy but the top. Could have been cleaned a little better around the edges. Wifi worked part of the day we checked in but quit during the night and was out all day the next day. Hotel is in a good location, would stay again for a night but not any longer than that.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CarGuyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    50
    38
    23
    49
See reviews for
72
101
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The only thing Fabulous about this place was it's in Gatlinburg.Other than that this place is a DUMP.The room was not what we ask for,they were doing work on the place which started at 6:00am.The toilet was UNDER the sink's counter which made it real fun to try and sit on.I would sleep in my car before I would ever stay here again.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardmoondogg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duffield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

When looking at the room online and reading reviews they had very mixed reviews. I booked a room with 2 queen beds, when I got there I was notified that my room i had booked was unavailable and I had been upgraded to a 2 queen suite at no extra charge. When we got to the building we had a little trouble finding the room. We did not know that rooms was outside and down the stairs on the back side of the building and after 2 trips looking we finally found it, but was very pleasantly surprised! The room had been completely upgraded. It had a living room, kitchen, bath, and bedroom and was very nice for no more than we had paid ($49.99 plus tax) for the night! The location was also very private and relaxing!

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms are being upgraded or not but I would ask for a remodeled room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuffieldPixxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights, two were free due to last stay at a reagan resort was so awful. The good- Maid servcie and staff were friendly and competent. Location was good, nice view. The bad- Wi Fi did not work...I told them twice, they did not know how to fix it.
Room was clean but outdated and in need of massive repair. Lamps broken, wall paint peeling, windows that had no locks.
Bathroom had attempt to be updated but they put sink counter over toliet..had to lean over to use it. It was so bad it was funny, we all got good laugh from it.
Phone had no numbers and front desk closed down, never seen that before.

Bottom line is I would not stay at a Reagan hotel unless I got a discount and had no other choice. They have great locations but need to spend money on updates.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reh12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is close to the park and within walking distance of everything you could want in downtown Gatlinburg. The staff was very accommodating, allowing me to park there before check in (and parking in Gatlinburg on a holiday weekend would not have been fun) and also allowing a late checkout. The beds were clean, and the bathroom was clean. The carpet seemed dirty and everything did need to be updated. While there was a small fridge, there was no microwave. I'd stay again if I had to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herculaneum, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

At first, we thought it was a little strange they asked for payment at check-in. The photos on their website are very flattering and make the rooms look nice and cozy, but in reality (and for the price we paid) our room really needed updated and there were a few spider webs. All things considered, our room was very clean including the toilet, vanity, shower, and sheets. The mini fridge and microwave came in handy and the heated floor in the bathroom was nice too. We loved being able to leave our car parked for free while we went to shop and eat.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MRandMRSHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent Christian staff. Nice low pricing for a king size bed with jacuzzi. Would tell friends and family to stay here when visiting Gatlinburg. Thanks so much enjoy your trip. It was very quiet. Not far from park way. With in walking distance of Ober of Gatlinburg. I highly recommend it. My husband and I plan on returning again the next trip we get to take to Gatlinburg. Had plenty of towels and the jacuzzi was great.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
0.9 mi away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#67 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.9 mi away
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
#41 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Inn

Property: Chalet Inn
Address: 516 Sunset Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3122 (Formerly Fabulous Chalet Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting majestically above the town, Chalet Inn maintains the kind of rustic elegance once known to all great smoky mountain resorts. The Inn's landscaped surroundings, mountain stone architecture and charming character-filled rooms make you feel a world away. Yet, the attractions of Gatlinburg are just a few blocks away. The Inn is just two blocks from Ober Gatlinburg Aerial Tramway, with Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies just 5 blocks away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fabulous Chalet Hotel Gatlinburg
Best Western Gatlinburg
Fabulous Chalet Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing