We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place with a killer view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckhorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buckhorn Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Gatlinburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“A wonderful place with a killer view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and stayed for two nights to celebrate our anniversary and my birthday which are just a few days a part. We stayed in cottage 3 and the view was spectacular. We love the cozy feel of the cottage. We toured a premier room and found it to be lovely also.

The staff is very friendly and Lee and John are as gracious as described. Since it was my birthday, I got a candle with my breakfast. The meals were yummy (yes you can skip a big lunch). There are lots of special touches. It was great having a great meals and no driving.

The grounds are lovely and a nice walk around the property is fun. I artist community is a great day activity. The Greenbrier park area is worth a trip. There are trails for different levels of hikers close by.

If you want the beauty of the mountains but not the busy tourist area that the city has become, I recommend the Buckhorn Inn and love forward to going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHavron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    37
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
49
354
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Acworth GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife I stayed at the Buckhorn Inn this past October for the first time. I can assure you it will not be the last. In fact, we liked it so much we have already stays for the April wildflowers and the fall leaves.

The cottage we had was perfect as was everything about the stay. The Almond Crusted French Toast we had for breakfast was incredible. I can put down the food yet could not finish it.

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room or cottage with a view as they are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdj1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
333 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had booked the Tower Room because its quirky charm appeals to us, but when we arrived, were told that we had been upgraded to Cottage 7 (we still don't know why -- not that it matters). We were slightly disappointed, as we had been looking forward to the unique Tower Room, but disappointment vanished on opening the door to cottage 7. Full living room with gas fireplace, kitchenette with mini-fridge, stove top (no oven), microwave, coffee maker, and the usual dishes and utensils. King-size bed and a bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. Everything was spotless; the furniture was well-chosen; there were lots of little decorative touches that made it feel like a home, not a hotel room. We opted not to have dinner that night; after a 7-hour drive, all I wanted to do was take off my shoes, put my feet up, and enjoy a nice glass of wine. We had brought provisions for dinner with us. We had been given a short tour of the Inn, and the dining room decor does seem to suggest that you dress for dinner, which we were in no mood for. A nice soak in the jacuzzi guaranteed a wonderful night's sleep. Breakfast was outstanding; service was excellent. It is not, however, as some of the literature states, a buffet (which is a good thing). After breakfast, we strolled around the mile-long nature walk on the property before getting in the car for the drive to the Great Smoky Mountains. The e-mail confirmation we received did mention the 10% gratuity to be added to the bill, so there were no surprises there, although I wish they had waited to run the final bill until we checked out. I would have increased the gratuity (yes, I know; I could have asked the to run it again, but there were others waiting to check out). One other suggestion -- we considered purchasing a sweatshirt, but they were 50% polyester; we would have paid for 100% cotton.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_QBatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Staying at The Buckhorn Inn is ideal for special occasions like anniversaries and birthdays. My partner and I stayed at The Bebb House on the Buckhorn Inn property and it was more than worth the amount we paid. The views alone make it more than worth the price. While you're staying at The Buckhorn, enjoy the tranquil wooded area, the quiet, and most of all, the views! Dining at The Buckhorn is a religious experience and should not be passed up. Breakfast is also included, of course, and guests are encouraged to be in the dining room between 8:00am and 9:00am - do not miss breakfasts, the owners will know ;)

The owners, Lee and John Mellor, are the nicest innkeepers I have ever had the fortune to meet, they truly make the experience of staying at the Inn so special.

I cannot recommend the Buckhorn Inn highly enough!

Room Tip: If you don't mind spending a few dollars and like having space, try one of the guest houses, (Li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amonarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This visit to buckhorn inn was a girlfriend getaway , I just cannot say enough about this wonderful B&B. First let me start by saying the innkeepers John and lee were gracious as always,ilook forward to seeing them at breakfeasts John is such a gentlemen he holds your chair for you to help you get seated. Lee and John provides each guest with personal attention , they make you feel like you have come home.The staff is the best they are genuine they want your stay to be the best, I liked to personally thank Debbie , Heidi, Libby , Brooke , Hugo , Gloria , jack and all others who name escapes me at this time, for such a wonderful stay at the inn. The food is great!, the grounds are beautiful, the guest house was warm and inviting. The returning guest make you feel like family. I say you should give this inn a try you will not be dissatisfied you will make this your new home away from home, go and enjoy the buckhorn inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fancydance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Only stayed one night but enjoyed every minute of it. Pretty room with big comfortable bed, sitting area, t.v., iron & board, great toiletries, writing desk, plenty of reading light., small but sparkling clean bath, just a great room. The inn also has lovely grounds with it's own nature trail and pond. Other amenities include: a comfortable lounge area with fresh cookies, sink area, ice etc. My breakfast was superb, pancakes with carmelized bananas and also served with a basket of biscuits and yummy lemon bread.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mallybos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Now I see why Buckhorn Inn is rated #1 of places to eat in Gatlinburg. Dinner was wonderful. Food was delicious. Service was excellent. And, the view of the mountains from our table was breathtaking. Pricey...but definitely worth it. Would love to stay there at the Inn sometime. Beautiful.
Recommend the Buckhorn Inn tea....very good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank PHYLLIS O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
6.5 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
4.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast
5.5 mi away
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
5.4 mi away
Tudor Inn Gatlinburg
Tudor Inn Gatlinburg
#1 of 9 in Gatlinburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckhorn Inn

Property: Buckhorn Inn
Address: 2140 Tudor Mountain Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-6042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckhorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beauty, peace, and solitude emanate from the pine and hemlock forest surrounding Buckhorn Inn, while the ever-changing view of the Great Smoky Mountains across mountain meadows of wild flowers never fails to inspire the visitor. We offer a range of Gatlinburg accommodations, from full, private guesthouses to private cottages to traditional inn rooms. Pick the Smoky Mountain lodging that fits your style and length of stay and plan your Tennesee vacation today! East Tennesee's classic country inn, The Buckhorn offers the grandest Smoky Mountain views of any Gatlinburg bed and breakfast. Elegance and period charm mix with the inn's friendly, romantic atmosphere of a Smoky Mountain lodge. Buckhorn has been a favorite destination for visitors to Gatlinburg, Tennessee and the Great Smoky Mountains since 1938. Situated less than a mile from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Buckhorn Inn is convenient to all activities and attractions in the area including hiking, arts and crafts, musical theaters, and the Pigeon Forge Outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Buckhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckhorn Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing