We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Dated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brookside Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Brookside Resort
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Little Dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for our wedding in 2013 and was very pleased with our room. We came back for our one year anniversary and stayed in a different room and was very disappointed. The jacuzzi did not work, the ceiling leaked, was mold/mildew near the leak which means this has been happening for a while, and the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. The decor of the rooms is that of the 70's though I'm not sure if this hotel was even built by then. I gave this rating an average and not poor due to one room being great and a second room being terrible. Needless to say, we won't be going back.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not have a leaky ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    277
    171
    100
    146
See reviews for
369
384
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Enjoyed another stay at Brookside and have future reservations. Love to sleep with our balcony door open, as the sound of the stream is so relaxing. The jetted tub is nice. Breakfast consists of more than just sweetened cereal & sugary treats, which makes this hotel even more affordable because we don't have to buy breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winder, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The motel was a bit old, (old smell, wood paneling in the rooms, rickety elevator) but was good for the price. Nice views of the river, and very close to town, friendly desk clerk, and quiet. My only complaints were the odd creaking in the room at night that we couldn't pin point the location of, and the house keeper threw away my personal shampoo from the shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JessicaE07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Arrived there for the stay to find out Groupon canceled my Booking. The guy at the front counter was able to get this situated with Groupon and he put us in a room with a nice view!! Close to downtown Gatlinburg!! Very quiet too! Loved it! Staff was awesome!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ecreel31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had of room with a fireplace and a jetted tub the room was spacious. It's of course an older Hotel but that's kind of part of its charm and the balcony overlooking the stream was awesome. We will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjack88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Came here for a small business meeting. The room was spacious and well equipped for the price. The only room issue was a very cold bathroom floor. Staff was okay, no complaints. Because of two problems, I would never come back here. 1. The elevator did not work (stuck at the basement level for several minutes) then the outdoor stairs coming up 4 floors to the room were dark, icy, and very dangerous. 2. Their wifi connection put an ad at the top of every web page I visited--how annoying!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WXRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We read other reviews of the place before booking, and for the cost, the stay was reasonable. It looks like there are two kinds of rooms--drive-up motel style, and a hotel version. I think there are also cabins? We were there in the off-season, over New Year's (12/30 to 1/02). The rooms are old and a little worn, but everything was clean and in good repair.

Since it is off 321 and not on the main drag, parking was easy and free. The trolley was 50 cents and stopped right in front of the hotel, but it only ran every half hour or so. Still, the walk to the parkway wasn't too bad. Across the street is a plaza with a health-food grocery store, a pancake house, a bbq place, and the awesome SALT AND PEPPER MUSEUM!

There was a "free breakfast" which was not worth the trip across the lot--it was set up in what looks like an old party room, not much space, two bins of biscuits (they were out of sausage gravy), a crock-pot of oatmeal, and a table with bagels and english muffins. Also some froot-loops and milk, some thermoses of coffee, and a bowl of apples with two old and mushy bananas. Don't think of the breakfast as a value-added amenity, and you won't be disappointed. We had a fridge and microwave in our room and saved a lot of money bringing our own food. Since it was winter we did not take advantage of any other "amenities" but there is a nice new playground set out front, appropriate for school-aged kids, and there is a pool for the summer.

The gentleman on duty when we checked in (evening) was friendly and helpful, however the only sour note was the very rude woman at checkout (morning.) We had questions about the room charge, and she couldn't be bothered to even make eye contact. Turns out, we were right--they undercharged us. Oh well.

If you are coming to Gatlinburg for the attractions and are looking for a clean, safe, and reasonable place to stay, Brookside is fine. I'm sure in summer the creekside rooms are a bonus.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Resort

Property: Brookside Resort
Address: 463 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are City Close but Country Quiet. Brookside Resort is just 3 blocks from downtown Gatlinburg, 4/10 mile up on 321 at Light 3. When you're on the property, it feels like you're in the country yet a short walk to downtown. The Gatlinburg Trolley stops in front of the office. Most of our large rooms have private streamside balconies and wonderful amenities. Season after season, you will love coming back to Brookside Resort. We take great pride in Brookside Resort and in providing outstanding customer service. We offer a wide range of amenities right here on the grounds. Brookside has a basketball court, Shuffleboard, a sun deck, BBQ Grills, 2 outdoor pools, a "River Walk" path along the river. Brookside provides a free hot continental breakfast offering the traditional Southern "Biscuits & Gravy", "Teddy Bear" waffles, hot oatmeal with brown sugar & raisins, a variety of cold cereals, pastries, orange juice, milk and coffee are available. Brookside Resort was built in 1931, 3 years before the Great Smoky Mountains National Park was declared and was once considered one of Gatlinburg's premier hotels. Brookside Resort over the years, has been through many transitions. The new management of Brookside Resort has spent hundreds of thousands of dollars to bring back the exterior charm of Brookside Resort and now are facing the interior renovations with gusto and dedication. The towers now have 39" LED televisions, radio/alarms with phone docks, new carpeting and tiled foyers, Wi-Fi throughout the property, in-room safes, new linens, and many have remodeled bathrooms with much more to come. The staff at Brookside welcomes you to Gatlinburg!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Brookside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Gatlinburg
Brookside Motel Gatlinburg
Brookside Resort Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing