We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware! You are reading deceptive advertising.”
Review of Brookside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brookside Resort
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here after buying an online voucher advertising fireplaces and Jacuzzis. We arrived, but there were neither. Perhaps some rooms do have them, but ours didn't.

However, the room was a nice comfortable size with a high ceiling, ceiling fan, skylight, and lovely brookside balcony with seating. Some reviewers complain it's dated; I found it very homey.

It's just a short walk from the main tourist district in Gatlinburg, which was perfect as it was close, but far enough away to be quiet.

I would certainly recommend it, especially for the price, but I would also recommend asking specifically what amenities your room will offer, as they seem to vary randomly.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank caffeinatedjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I actually really loved my stay at the Brookside Resort. The distance from the main part of Gatlinburg was refreshing, as it meant there wasn't foot traffic along the road at night. The room I stayed in was comfortable. My only qualms are that some of the aspects of the room seem a bit old. There was a crack in the wall of the bathroom, and the mini fridge and AC were a bit old. But considering the price, the room was otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexx416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Visited this property with an admittedly low bar but was very pleasantly surprised. Older decor, but clean and there was a fridge and fireplace. Staff was courteous and helpful. Trolley stop in front of the property was nice and the deck overlooking the brook was peaceful. Good value for a family trip and close to the main drag in Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaceh0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good location, easy walking distance to the main part of Gatlinburg. The fireplace was a nice extra, with a free bundle of fire wood.

Would stay there again, good value for the price.

Room Tip: Top floor, facing the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gastonboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for our wedding in 2013 and was very pleased with our room. We came back for our one year anniversary and stayed in a different room and was very disappointed. The jacuzzi did not work, the ceiling leaked, was mold/mildew near the leak which means this has been happening for a while, and the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. The decor of the rooms is that of the 70's though I'm not sure if this hotel was even built by then. I gave this rating an average and not poor due to one room being great and a second room being terrible. Needless to say, we won't be going back.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not have a leaky ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Enjoyed another stay at Brookside and have future reservations. Love to sleep with our balcony door open, as the sound of the stream is so relaxing. The jetted tub is nice. Breakfast consists of more than just sweetened cereal & sugary treats, which makes this hotel even more affordable because we don't have to buy breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
3.2 mi away
The Summit of Gatlinburg
The Summit of Gatlinburg
#48 of 78 in Gatlinburg
183 reviews
1 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 78 in Gatlinburg
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Resort

Address: 463 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £41 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are City Close but Country Quiet. Brookside Resort is just 3 blocks from downtown Gatlinburg, 4/10 mile up on 321 at Light 3. When you're on the property, it feels like you're in the country yet a short walk to downtown. The Gatlinburg Trolley stops in front of the office. Most of our large rooms have private streamside balconies and wonderful amenities. Season after season, you will love coming back to Brookside Resort. We take great pride in Brookside Resort and in providing outstanding customer service. We offer a wide range of amenities right here on the grounds. Brookside has a basketball court, Shuffleboard, a sun deck, BBQ Grills, 2 outdoor pools, a "River Walk" path along the river. Brookside provides a free hot continental breakfast offering the traditional Southern "Biscuits & Gravy", "Teddy Bear" waffles, hot oatmeal with brown sugar & raisins, a variety of cold cereals, pastries, orange juice, milk and coffee are available. Brookside Resort was built in 1931, 3 years before the Great Smoky Mountains National Park was declared and was once considered one of Gatlinburg's premier hotels. Brookside Resort over the years, has been through many transitions. The new management of Brookside Resort has spent hundreds of thousands of dollars to bring back the exterior charm of Brookside Resort and now are facing the interior renovations with gusto and dedication. The towers now have 39" LED televisions, radio/alarms with phone docks, new carpeting and tiled foyers, Wi-Fi throughout the property, in-room safes, new linens, and many have remodeled bathrooms with much more to come. The staff at Brookside welcomes you to Gatlinburg!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Brookside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Gatlinburg
Brookside Motel Gatlinburg
Brookside Resort Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing