We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation spot”
Review of Brookside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brookside Resort
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family vacation spot”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My family had a great time at Brookside Resort. The location is lovely and we really enjoyed the amenities. Our kids loved the pool with its waterfall and slides and had a fun time at the playground as well. We all enjoyed the delicious complimentary breakfast in the breakfast room. Overall, it was a fantastic value and we can't wait to plan our next trip.

Room Tip: The backdoor opened to the beautiful Roaring Fork and was just what we were looking forward to for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer Schmal... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    313
    195
    115
    162
See reviews for
446
420
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Brookside Resort for our 4th wedding anniversary. The location was great but when we got to the room we were very disappointed. The room was dark and had never been renovated. There was no bedspread or blanket on the bed, only sheets that i was hoping were clean but had most definitely seen better days. I reluctantly went to bed there that night planning to spend the next night somewhere in a different hotel. Since the room was paid for another night we decided that it would be a waste of money to pay for the night at another hotel so we bought a blanket and stayed the second night. I got a good deal for the two nights but i think i would rather pay a little more and have a comfortable up to date place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, USA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A little dated but a very good value. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfy. Stayed in one of the honeymoon suites and the room was very large with Jacuzzi and fireplace on the second floor. With a private balcony, you just open the door and sleep to the sounds of the little river running below. Very relaxing. Plenty of parking. Large pool for the kids and grounds to play or barbeque. Not really a walk to the center of things and the trolley is sort of hit and miss so plan on finding a place to park when you go in. But if you don't mind, just being away from the crowd is worth it. Breakfast is just ok, they feature oatmeal but also have the usual continental style stuff. Plenty to get you going in the morning. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmccrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This place is good value for what you get. they always seems to have some deal going on either Groupon, Living Social, or Amazon Local, so you can't really beat the prices considering the rooms and location. The room was clean and comfortable, if a little dated. The breakfast was adequate, and the service was ok. It certainly wasn't outstanding, by any means, but I had no complaints. It was within walking distance of all the attractions (if you don't mind about a ten minute walk) and is is very picturesque out back with the creek running past.

Room Tip: If you're travelling as a couple, ask for a room with a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank as1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The room was great. We bought the discounted room rates on Amazon Local and were pleasantly surprised.

Let me start by saying that it truly is so close to the main strip that you can walk, but far enough away for true peace and relaxation! We loved it and will definitely stay here again!

We stayed on the fourth floor, in a Deluxe King room. The view of the stream was great and we were able to enjoy the sound from our private balcony.

We had a fireplace in our room, it being summer it went unused, but there is a firewood, smokey smell, from the fireplace, which I enjoyed but my husband did not. You either like it or hate it... I loved it.

The air conditioner was a little older and did leak onto the balcony, when in use. It wasn't a huge deal to us though, since it didn't impede on our balcony time.

Our concern was that elevator. It seemed that if someone was riding down from the one floor and had made it to the main level then someone on another floor pushed the button, it would go back up, before letting the other riders out. It's hard to explain, but needless to say, we took the stairs most of the time.

The rooms are quiet and we didn't hear a peep from the people on either side of us. Even on the balcony.

Like I said, we'll be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Faith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise T, Manager at Brookside Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Brookside Resort professional elevator servicemen were on site to fix the elevator immediately. We regret that sometimes things break and soon, according to schedule, the elevator with be modernized. The Great Smoky Mountain National Park provides hundreds of miles of trails throughout the park. Apologize that for this day our stairways at both ends of Clingman Tower became a climb for our guests. ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just got back from our night in Gatlinburg (great deal courtesy of Living Social).This resort is in a wonderful location. It's just out of town, less than a mile, and I believe all the rooms have a back deck on the babbling brook. Front entrance is off the parking lot so the rooms are huge. You are better off outside of town. I wouldn't want to stay amidst the hectic chaos of downtown. Brand new bathroom and beautiful clean bed linens. Comfortable king bed-not too firm as one person said. The A/C should have been on when we entered because it smelled a bit-but that went away immediately after turning on the air. We both really enjoyed the pool-nice and clean. Give it a try-you won't be sorry. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fun-in-the-sun292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It is not the newest hotel on the strip but it is quaint they offer us a great rate because we always stay there. Close to main drag and on a stream. It is on the North side of town but only a couple of blocks from everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soggy-Dollar-Bar-JVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#38 of 78 in Gatlinburg
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#68 of 78 in Gatlinburg
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Resort

Property: Brookside Resort
Address: 463 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are City Close but Country Quiet. Brookside Resort is just 3 blocks from downtown Gatlinburg, 4/10 mile up on 321 at Light 3. When you're on the property, it feels like you're in the country yet a short walk to downtown. The Gatlinburg Trolley stops in front of the office. Most of our large rooms have private streamside balconies and wonderful amenities. Season after season, you will love coming back to Brookside Resort. We take great pride in Brookside Resort and in providing outstanding customer service. We offer a wide range of amenities right here on the grounds. Brookside has a basketball court, Shuffleboard, a sun deck, BBQ Grills, 2 outdoor pools, a "River Walk" path along the river. Brookside provides a free hot continental breakfast offering the traditional Southern "Biscuits & Gravy", "Teddy Bear" waffles, hot oatmeal with brown sugar & raisins, a variety of cold cereals, pastries, orange juice, milk and coffee are available. Brookside Resort was built in 1931, 3 years before the Great Smoky Mountains National Park was declared and was once considered one of Gatlinburg's premier hotels. Brookside Resort over the years, has been through many transitions. The new management of Brookside Resort has spent hundreds of thousands of dollars to bring back the exterior charm of Brookside Resort and now are facing the interior renovations with gusto and dedication. The towers now have 39" LED televisions, radio/alarms with phone docks, new carpeting and tiled foyers, Wi-Fi throughout the property, in-room safes, new linens, and many have remodeled bathrooms with much more to come. The staff at Brookside welcomes you to Gatlinburg!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Brookside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Gatlinburg
Brookside Motel Gatlinburg
Brookside Resort Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing