We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Bear Inn & Suites
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 8 June 2012

several stays at the clarion inn and suites in gatlinburg after tiring of pigeon forge staysand older gatlinburg properties. fantastic location near the mountains and right in town. staff very friendly and helpful. amy always has a smile and is a big help at all times. great breakfast and good views, near quality venues on the main drag. definitely recommend.

Room Tip: not a bad room, hard to keep light from coming in if you are a late sleeper
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brentiscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion G, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

The Clarion Gatlinburg is pleased to hear that you enjoyed yet another stay with us and that it was great.. The hotel does offer a wonderful Full Hot breakfast with many items to choose from such as made to order omelets, sausage,biscuits, gravy, hashbrowns. The Clarion Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comment. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Smokies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
There are newer reviews for Black Bear Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

We've had some pretty scary hotel experiences in Gatlinburg, so I did my research first this time. We only stayed overnight while traveling through, but it as a delightful place to stay. Great multi-choice hot breakfast and european bedding, which I prefer. I would stay there again, and hopefully soon.

Howard's Restaurant a few doors down was a very nice evening for us on their deck. Saw some wildlife around the creek. Very relaxing. Went through the National Park next day and that made the trip complete without Gatlinburg's tendency toward being a tourist trap.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back with a nice balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RetiredPilot69wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion G, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

The Clarion Gatlinburg is very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that on your next stay with us it will allow you more time to experience Gatlinburg. We're glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We had a horrible experience in this hotel when we stayed there in May 2012. We were there with our 3 yrs old son and after a very tiring day when we came to the room the door card didn't work first time since my son was very tired he just wanted to go to the room and started crying so my wife ran to the lobby and they reprogram the card , it didn't work second time also .. and it was already 20 mins we were trying to open the door.. so she went again to the lobby and requested that if someone can come with her to help opening the door since it's already being reprogrammed and still not working and .. the on duty manager's reply was " that's all they can do , reprogram again" .. so my wife came back and it was still not working .. then we saw a hotel stuff and he tried with his master key still it didn;t work , so we started complaining .. and the hotel stuff's response was "we will ask you to leave the property" since we were complaining about service .. we were shocked .. all our stuffs were inside the locked room , our son is constantly crying and there response was "we will ask you to leave the property" in late night We started calling to cop .. but somehow one reasonable stuff came with a mechanical key and opened the door and started to cool down the situation. Please don't stay in this hotel .. horrible staffs and on duty manager.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ohtrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion G, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

The Clarion Gatlinburg is proud of the performance of our electronic key lock system. We regret this isolated incident of damaged wire in the computerized element of the lock. The entire Clarion staff strives for excellent customer service and hopes to have the opportunity to be of service to you again in a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I have read some bad reviews of this hotel but it treated me very well. It has been rehabbed and looks good. A nice clean up to date room with a very comfortable bed. Also a big plus, plent of hot wated with a nice shower head. Convenient to restaurants and a stones throw from the NP. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopsaregood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This hotel is very well kept, clean, and a great breakfast for the price. However, I do have a few minor complaints. One being the water temperature in the shower (my parents were also staying in this hotel at the same time/different room and had the same problem. The shower was either hot (very hot) or cold, no in-between. Also, the breakfast was great but there were not enough tables and chairs to sit out. Lots of people were standing around to eat a sit-down breakfast or they were standing by tables waiting on people to leave. The dining area does not have enough tables and chairs to accomodate all the guests this hotel seems to have. The only other thing, which isn't really a complaint but something good to know, the pool is located in the middle of the parking lot. It is not attached to the hotel in any way. This makes for a cold sprint back to the hotel during winter hours! Other than that, it was great, staff was pleasant, no problems what-so-ever. If the water temperature issue is fixed, I will stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion G, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

The Clarion Inn Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comment regarding your recent stay with us. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We actually left another hotel and came here. Rooms were nice and clean.
The breakfast in the morning was above and beyond what you normally get at a hotel.
They had someone there making omelette's and you had the choice of grits, biscuits and gravy, sausage, bacon and scrambled eggs. They also had the bagels, scones, cereal, waffles,etc. to chose from as well.
The eating area was clean and was large so you didn't feel cramped when large groups or families came down to eat.

There was some road construction going on in front of the hotel but they stop working around 5pm and don't start until 8 or 8:30 am. Not really that much noise at this point b/c they are to the point of pouring cement not breaking it up. It does give you some confusion as to were to pull in to register so that is the reason for me mentioning it. Look for the signs to guide you.

The Location is great. It is right next door to The Park Grill which is an excellent resturant.
You can also walk right out the front of the hotel and walk around Gatlinburg and the shops if you want.

There is an indoor pool and it looked to be full sized. I did not go and check it out but saw the building it was in and saw it through the windows.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tufferbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion G, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

The Clarion Inn & Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comment regarding your recent stay with us. The hotel was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Full Hot Breakfast that we offer to all our guests complimentary. The construction has moved down from the hotel, however there are still construction bariers near the hotel's entrance. Construction is still on track to be completed by the end of June. The location of the hotel does make it very accessible to downtown attractions, shopping, and restaurants. We look to your future stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast was great. Resort fee was strange since its not a resort. Just put it in the price. Would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2012
1  Thank Procket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#9 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.1 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn & Suites

Address: 1100 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £85 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn & Suites Gatlinburg has a sleek, stylized look! From the lobby to rooftop Penthouse Suites and every room in between. Start your morning off right with a delicious full, hot complimentary breakfast including omelets cooked to order and Belgium waffles. The Black Bear Inn & Suites's location is ideal for everyone! Interested in a scenic drive or hike? The hotel is located only 100 yards from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the most visited park in the Nation! Want to walk or take a Trolley around downtown Gatlinburg and experience the town's many popular attractions and wide array of restaurants? Not a problem! Black Bear Inn & Suites is located right on the Parkway! Thinking about driving to Pigeon Forge to visit Dollywood, Dolly's Splash Country, Titanic Museum Attraction, shopping at Tanger Outlets or seeing Pigeon Forge's many theaters and dinner shows? Black Bear Inn & Suites is only a short drive away from Pigeon Forge. Black Bear Inn & Suites Gatlinburg is "Definitely a Cut Above!". We hope to see you in the Smoky Mountains soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Bear Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing