We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Inn & Suites
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Place looked and felt old and dirty--odor of disinfectant in the room. Staff was abrupt and acted like they could care less if we stayed. Room with a "city view" was actually a room with a view of a congested street.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Squirephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion G, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking time to make us aware of your concerns. The hotel strives to provide the most excellent customer service to our guests. With July being one of Gatlinburg's most visited months the street will be congested especially on weekends. However, this does not affect the views of the Great Smoky Mountains from our private balconies and we provide secured parking that gives you the convenience of being able to access all of downtown Gatlinburg via walking. The Clarion Inn Gatlinburg hopes that you will join us again during your next visit to the Smokies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel lacks management, value for your money, and our balcony room with a mountain view is actually a view of a restaurant either being torn down or remodeled. For a $159.00 room expect to pay $200.00. This is not a hotel worthy of those kinds of fees.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skysis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion G, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

The Clarion Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. Due to the last phase of the construction for the undergrounding of the utilities still being underway the parking area of the closed restaurant was utilized for the process. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have been staying at this hotel ever since it was built at least once, sometimes twice a year for 1-2 weeks at a time. We always stay in the 1 bedroom suite facing the city. It has 2 tvs, bedroom and living room, fireplace in the living room, and hot tub in the bedroom. Fridge, microwave and balcony also. It is always very clean, the breakfast is awesome with made to order omelettes. The staff is very friendly and helpful with any questions you might have. It is located in the best place, right at the beginning of town. God willing, we will continue to visit every year. I can honestly say this is the best hotel we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: City view, great for sitting on the balcony and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler55Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion G, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

The Clarion Gatlinburg would like to thank you for posting such a positive comment. We look forward to your vacation every year in November. We enjoy talking and visiting with you. We consider you party of the Clarion family. We look forward to seeing you in November as every year. We would like to thank you again for the comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Breakfast was awesome. Omelettes made to order, waffles, eggs, sausage, grits, potatoes, bagels, fruit, etc. Saved us 20 bucks every morning. Rooms were clean w fridge and microwave. Nice balcony. Good location. Only complaint is the pool and hot tub, located out back, enclosed. No sunbathing :-(

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bucketlist2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

The Clarion Gatlinburg is pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to post and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We were very satisfied with our 3-night stay at the Clarion in Gatlinburg. Great parking, located at entrance to Great Smoky Mt. Nat'l Park, clean hotel, comfortable beds, quiet, close to lots of great restaurants (the North China Restaurant at 639 Parkway was the best), friendly, helpful staff, excellent hot breakfast with made-to-order omelets. AARP discount was very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abndoc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

The Clarion Gatlinburg is delighted that your stay was enjoyable. The hotel strives to provide the most expectional getaway to all our guests and pleased to hear that you experienced it. We look forward to your next visit with us in the Smokies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed in a King Jacuzzi suite that faced the Parkway; the paper was peeling off the Jacuzzi, ants on the bathroom floor and the balcony chairs needed to be cleaned before we could sit on them. We asked for our room to be made up and the bathroom floor to be cleaned. We won't be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank letstravelTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

The Clarion Gatlinburg regrets that your stay didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed in Gatlinburg's Clarion for 5 days, with NO regrets. Smokey National Park entrance maybe 3 blocks to the South. A 2 mile hiking trail to the Parks visitor center, about that 3 block distance, of the street near the stream. Safe and nice trail. Great resturaunts within 2 blocks. (I mean REALLY GREAT!) The Ober tram about 2 blocks away. I'm pretty particular as I get older and don't stay at hotels too often, but I'm telling you, for the price...($100 ish per night during the week) you can not go wrong. Oh, and if you're going, use the trolley/bus system in town. Its sorta adventurous, cheap and saves wear and tear on your own vehicle, not to mention you don't have to pay for parking in Gat./Pigeon Forge.. Good Luck

Room Tip: Street side, or rear side is good. Did you come Gatlinburg....to stay in your room? I doubt it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

The Clarion Gatlinburg is very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The location of the hotel does make it very accessible to all the local attractions, restuarants, shopping and to the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We hope that you will join us again on your next adventure to the Smokies..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
390 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#17 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,015 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn & Suites

Address: 1100 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3108 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £81 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn & Suites Gatlinburg has a sleek, stylized look! From the lobby to rooftop Penthouse Suites and every room in between. Start your morning off right with a delicious full, hot complimentary breakfast including omelets cooked to order and Belgium waffles. The Black Bear Inn & Suites's location is ideal for everyone! Interested in a scenic drive or hike? The hotel is located only 100 yards from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the most visited park in the Nation! Want to walk or take a Trolley around downtown Gatlinburg and experience the town's many popular attractions and wide array of restaurants? Not a problem! Black Bear Inn & Suites is located right on the Parkway! Thinking about driving to Pigeon Forge to visit Dollywood, Dolly's Splash Country, Titanic Museum Attraction, shopping at Tanger Outlets or seeing Pigeon Forge's many theaters and dinner shows? Black Bear Inn & Suites is only a short drive away from Pigeon Forge. Black Bear Inn & Suites Gatlinburg is "Definitely a Cut Above!". We hope to see you in the Smoky Mountains soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Black Bear Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing