We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very pleased!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Inn & Suites
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My disabled husband and I spent a few rainy days in Gatlinburg 6 months ago; we stayed at a hotel across the Parkway from this Clarion. THAT hotel left a lot to be desired. At the Clarion we had a beautiful, handicapped suite, with separate bed and sitting rooms, plus a balcony. The linens and decor were updated (no ugly, multi-colored bedspreads, for example). Two nice flat screen TVs. The "transfer" shower with a bathing stool worked well for my husband, but if someone had to wheel a wheelchair into the shower, that could have been done as well.

We liked the breakfast so well, we never went out for pancakes! They had a cook making eggs, including omlettes, and there was a small buffet of hot items, from sausage links to grits to potatoes...It's true, as another reviewer said, that nobody wiped off the tables between diners dining, but the overall appearance of the dining area was excellent (compared to other breakfasting areas in middle-of-the-road hotels).

The swimming pool in a separate building was very nice. There was also a whirlpool as well as what appeared to be a kiddie pool. The deck furniture was clean and abundant, and there were several nice bathroom/changing rooms, too. I was at first delighted to see there was a handicapped lift for the pool, which my dh could have taken advantage of. But after talking with hotel personnel, who seemed willing, if not eager, to try to operate the lift, I got the impression nobody ever used it and employes weren't so sure they knew how to. They only had it because TN state law requires it. So, my dh did not experience the hydraulic chair lift into the pool.

Another thing we liked was the automatic doors leading to the parking area, which are a blessing when you have someone in a wheelchair.

Only downside to our Clarion visit was one day (out of 3) housekeeping kind of forgot us. The front desk said our room was listed as having been attended, but it hadn't been. I get that a mistake could have been made and our room simply overlooked. However, somebody had obviously brought in a pile of clean towels and set them down on our bedroom dresser--and left. No tidying up at all. So, housekeeping didn't get their tip from me.

Room Tip: ask for the "mountain view" handicapped suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for posting your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We were very pleased to hear that our handicap accessible suite was more than accomodating for your families needs and that you were able to enjoy our full hot complimentary breakfast. I have notified the Director of Guest Services regarding your concerns of the room not being serviced. We appreciate you making us aware of this issue. We look forward to your next visit with us in the Smokies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Went there on our honeymoon. Well satisfied overall except for some minor things: Elevator was slow and one out of the two was shut down for service. Breakfast was good but no one wiped off the tables after people quit eating. After this trip I found fraudulent charges made to my credit card from companies I did not know and had never done business with. I rarely use my credit card so I wonder if one of their desk clerks sold my information. If this happens to anyone else after using their credit card then management needs to be made aware.

Room Tip: This hotel is on the far end of Gatlinburg not too far from the national park so if you want to go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenkinsrawhide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and was able to enjoy the full hot breakfast. The hotel did recently have some issues with the elevator, however then have been resolved. The Front Office Manager advised you upon arrival and initial presentation of the card to contact your credit card company and you were made aware of charges prior to the arrival of the hotel. Once again we appreciate you taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times. This time it was so generic. Elevator one of two was out. The breakfast tickets are tacky in general. This used to be the only hotel we would stay in Gatlinburg. Not anymore........

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballmom1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. The hotel did experience some issues with the elevator recently, however the issue have been resolved. The breakfast tickets are delivered to every guest upon check in to verify that you are a guest staying at the hotel for your morning breakfast. Once again we thank you for posting your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and knowledgeable.Nice breakfast. The blinds on the balcony door did little to keep out the light from outside, but other than that, very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

The Clarion Inn & Suites would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you were welcomed with a friendly and knowledgeable staff. The hotel strives to provide the most excellent customer service. We looked forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I normally do not send reviews to any web site but I just had to on this one. We are Choice points customer and are Platinum status. We requested a balcony room when placing the reservation they had us on the six floor no balcony and we had to pay $10.00 more dollars for the view. In the pass with our point on choice we normally are offered a up grade but not here. Also our room smelled of mold so bad gave us a headache. We told front desk and they sprayed some awful orange spray not sure the mold smell was better. Wall paper was peeling off wall it just made the place look like a motel. Breakfast was good location was good but we will stay in Pigeon Forge from now on. Was not happy for the price.

Room Tip: Always look at room before purchasing......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desuhu62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

The Clarion Inn & Suites would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We regret that it did not meet your expectations. We have forwarded your concerns to the proper management. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the full hot breakfast. Once again thank you for posting your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was good. Only two complaints. ..very moldy smelling air conditioning system and balcony light at night lit the entire room at night. Other than that, we were very pleased and would return again A great value with very courteous staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

The Clarion Inn & Suites would like to thank you for posting your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We were very pleased to hear that you found the hotel clean, comfortable and able to enjoy the full hot breakfast. We appreciate you letting us know about the a/c units and will pass that on to our maintenance department. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

I would stay here everytime we went to Gatlinburg. This was such a nice location where you can walk up and down the strip of Gatlinburg. It is across the street from Ober so if you wanted to go snow skiing you would not have to drive if weather was bad. We had a room with the parking lot view but it is still nice. You can get parking lot view or parkway view. Next time I would try to get parkway. The continental breakfast was very good. It has about everything you would want. Juices, cereals, sausage, eggs, pancakes, waffles, someone there making omelettes and you choose what you want on it. After breakfast my husband walked 100 yards to the river just as you are entering into the smoky mountains and listened to the river and just enjoyed being outdoors while I went up to the room to take my shower. The only complaint I have about this place is that the charge a $15.00 a day resort fee which is taxed. They add it to your bill when you leave. Luckily I caught this on my bank statement and called them immediately and they took care of the expense. When we stay here again I will talk to them first about the charges and see if they will waive the fee. The rooms were very clean and roomy. Ours had a refrigerator and microwave to keep snacks, drinks and our leftovers.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandy680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for posting your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. The location of the hotel does make it very convenient to access all that downtown has to offer. The parkway balconies are the most preferred by our guest that enjoy people watching. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the complimentary full hot breakfast. Once again thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#9 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.1 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#31 of 78 in Gatlinburg
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn & Suites

Address: 1100 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £95 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn & Suites Gatlinburg has a sleek, stylized look! From the lobby to rooftop Penthouse Suites and every room in between. Start your morning off right with a delicious full, hot complimentary breakfast including omelets cooked to order and Belgium waffles. The Black Bear Inn & Suites's location is ideal for everyone! Interested in a scenic drive or hike? The hotel is located only 100 yards from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the most visited park in the Nation! Want to walk or take a Trolley around downtown Gatlinburg and experience the town's many popular attractions and wide array of restaurants? Not a problem! Black Bear Inn & Suites is located right on the Parkway! Thinking about driving to Pigeon Forge to visit Dollywood, Dolly's Splash Country, Titanic Museum Attraction, shopping at Tanger Outlets or seeing Pigeon Forge's many theaters and dinner shows? Black Bear Inn & Suites is only a short drive away from Pigeon Forge. Black Bear Inn & Suites Gatlinburg is "Definitely a Cut Above!". We hope to see you in the Smoky Mountains soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Bear Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing