We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Inn & Suites
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at the Clarion from 05/11/14-05/16/14, we always stay here when we are in Gatlinburg, you have great access to the parkway, the rooms are always clean and they are
very spacious. We had a minor flaw upon check-in, the air in our bedroom did not work, however maintenance was called and they responded immediately and had a new AC installed within 10 minutes, needless to say I was elated, I want to give a big shout out to the maintenance department for a job well done, and the housekeeping department went above and beyond to make sure our room was spotless and well stocked everyday, not to mention they did it with a smile! The one downside to our entire stay would have to be upon check-in, the customer service is lacking in a big way, but I gave them the benefit of the doubt and didn't let it ruin my trip, there was so many positive things about our stay and we will definitely be staying at the Clarion on our next stay in September, keep up the great work!!

Room Tip: The suites are very spacious, city view balconies are awesome, and the higher up you are the quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We're very pleased to hear your compliments regarding the Maintenance & Guest Service department. We regret that your check-in was not greeted with the excellent customer service that we strive for and I have relayed that to the proper department head. Once again thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to your next visit with us in the Smokies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Service was great an employee name Caleb was the best. He was always asking if he could help. We had a small issue with our room and he went down stairs and returned in like 2 minutes with keys to new room and even offered to help us move. Each day when we seen him he would say " I am here until x time if you need anything just ask ". This hotel should award this kid with employee of the year! The room's were nice size and the location was good to walk to shopping and national park. The bad thing I could say is when you walked across the carpet in white socks you socks will turn black. I am sure this is something the hotel will fix with a good carpet cleaning. My family will stay here next time we are In town.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank car2chief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the Clarion. We do schedule professional carpet cleaning often so the carpet issue will be taken care of. Thank you for your kind comments regarding a member of our staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a great place to stay in the heart of Gatlinburg. You can walk to anything from here- it's a great location. The staff was very friendly, especially the cook at breakfast time; she was wonderful!! The rooms were very clean and have a nice balcony to sit on outside. Also, the pool area was great!! It's a heated pool inside a seperate building with a nice jacuzzi as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaQ105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

The Clarion Inn & Suites would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. The location of the hotel does make it very convenient to access all that downtown has to offer. We're so pleased to hear that you received excellent customer service from all our departments. We are looking forward to your next visit with us. Once again thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I decided to get married in Gatlinburg. We chose to go with Sugarland Wedding Chapel (located conveniently right across the street) for our modestly sized wedding party of approximately 85 guests. We were treated like royalty by both the Chapel and Clarion. Our reception was top notch and the Staff went above and beyond to make sure our day was perfect! The location is ideal for any activity located in Gatlinburg. It would also be a great hotel for any seasonal event that involves a parade as all of the rooms on the front side have balconies and a terrific view of the street activities as well as the mountains. They also offer a great hot breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Parkway have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwylaMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us. We're so pleased that you allowed us to be apart of your special day with memories that will last a lifetime. We look forward to you all making many memories with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is an older Hotel, However it is clean, In a great location a very friendly staff, Great Hot Breakfast, including made to order Omlets! FREE!!!!!! Indoor pool is detached overall a Nice stay! Just beside the Convention Center, Bubba Gumps nearby

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utvolman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear that your enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel, friendly customer service and the full hot complimentary breakfast. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My family & I stayed here overnight for the Rod Run. We stayed in a 1 King Bed, Suite, No Smoking. The room was very spacious, with a fireplace in the living room area & a Jacuzzi tub in the bedroom. It was one of the better hotels we have stayed in. The breakfast was really good also. Made to order omelets, biscuits, sausage links, eggs, potatoes & gravy. I would also like to say how amazing, Sarah at the front desk was. My youngest son left his i-pad in the room and we had already checked out. I let Sarah know and she let us back in to get it. Then, about 30 minutes later after my family & I had left the hotel, I realized I had left my 4 rechargeable batteries plugged up in the bedroom. I called the hotel & spoke with Sarah. We turned our car around and headed back to the hotel. Sarah had my batteries & charger waiting at the front desk for me. Will definitely stay here again! Closer to the farther end of Gatlinburg, but well worth the travel time to Pigeon Forge!

Room Tip: Higher Rooms that are odd numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

The Clarion Inn & Suites would like to thank you for posting your comments regarding your most stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the full hot complimentary breakfast and to receive such excellent customer service from Sarah. The Luxury King Suites are very spacious when accommodating a family of four. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit to the Smokies with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our recent trip to the Smoky Mountain National Park. When you are leaving the park, this is one of the first hotels so it makes for easy access back into the park if you aren't going to be camping. We liked the fact that the hotel was on the quieter side of town and away from all of the hustle and bustle, but we were still close to restaurants and were able to walk up and down the main strip. One of the downsides was the beds were on the hard side.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank OrganicTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

The Clarion Inn & Suites would like to thank you for posting your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. The location of the hotel does make it very convenient to access not only the park but also everything that downtown has to offer. Once again thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#16 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,015 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn & Suites

Address: 1100 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3108 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £80 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn & Suites Gatlinburg has a sleek, stylized look! From the lobby to rooftop Penthouse Suites and every room in between. Start your morning off right with a delicious full, hot complimentary breakfast including omelets cooked to order and Belgium waffles. The Black Bear Inn & Suites's location is ideal for everyone! Interested in a scenic drive or hike? The hotel is located only 100 yards from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the most visited park in the Nation! Want to walk or take a Trolley around downtown Gatlinburg and experience the town's many popular attractions and wide array of restaurants? Not a problem! Black Bear Inn & Suites is located right on the Parkway! Thinking about driving to Pigeon Forge to visit Dollywood, Dolly's Splash Country, Titanic Museum Attraction, shopping at Tanger Outlets or seeing Pigeon Forge's many theaters and dinner shows? Black Bear Inn & Suites is only a short drive away from Pigeon Forge. Black Bear Inn & Suites Gatlinburg is "Definitely a Cut Above!". We hope to see you in the Smoky Mountains soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Black Bear Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing