We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Inn & Suites
Ranked #44 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 20 August 2014

While not in the center of the action in Gatlinburg, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to be pretty quickly. We needed a pack and play for the baby and they provided one. The staff were very accomodating. The room was very clean. Multiple items on the free breakfast offered, including made to order omelets, blueberry waffles, biscuits, gravy, grits, etc. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the strip so you can make better use of the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Americanhoney_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. The location of the hotel does make it very convenient to access all that downtown has to offer. We're very pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the full hot breakfast, friendly staff and the cleanliness of your room. We look forward to your next visit to the Smokies and once again thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. Everyone was very nice at the hotel, great breakfast. Omelets made to order. The hotel was very clean and within walking distance to everything in Gatlinburg!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigi234599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We so enjoyed our stay on Fri & Sat night. We were able to up-grade our room to a city balcony which we loved. Had a great room on the 3rd floor. The hot tub and pool were great also. We really enjoyed the low-lighting at the indoor pool. We had a night time swim & it was superb! The breakfast the next morning was so delicious! Hope you never change anything Clarion! :)

Room Tip: Delicious full breakfast with made-to-order omelets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. The city view balconies are our most preferred due to guests like to sit out there and people watch. We're so pleased to hear that your enjoyed the enclosed heated pool area during your stay and the full hot complimentary breakfast. We will look forward to your next visit with us and thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

When we arrived at the hotel and went to check in we were overcharged $47.00. When we questioned them about it they told us we were charged $15.00/night for Hotel fees. When we asked them what that was the girl was pretty offended that we asked. Then she told us that it stated that on the website BUT when we booked no one ever told us that and even gave us our total price. We asked her again what the $15.00/night charge was for and she said it covered the coffee, newspaper, contential breakfast and the parking lot and grounds. First of all they offer free contential breakfast. What about if you do not drink coffee? We never saw the first newspaper. When we came in from shopping one night late~~we did not have a parking place in the parking lot. We had to park in the space marked "no parking loading and unloading only"~~ We called front desk to tell them and that had better no tow our car away.. The breakfast was a one trip only; We actually saw them embarrass a woman who went her second trip to the bar. They did not serve her again and yelled out to her about this being her second trip. Also they state on the website that they have an indoor/outdoor pool. We took this to mean that they had both.. NO the pool was outside in a separate building...... Inside the Hotel in the hallways it was very hot.. Will not stay at this Hotel again

Room Tip: Back side rooms no outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We sincerely regret your stay didn't meet your expectations. Once again thank you for posting your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

2nd time in 10 years staying in the Clarion. Location, location, location is awesome! Walk out the front door to eat, play, or relax! Front desk staff was very cordial and helpful. No problems with check-in or check-out. Room was clean and a nice size. However, it's time for some updating with the room decor, Pool area and exercise room.

Room Tip: The city view rooms are excellent for people watching!! Lol!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sisconner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us and look forward to having you back on your next visit to Gatlinburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at this location from August 1 - August 6 and had a great stay. It may be the best location for a hotel in Gatlinburg honestly. The hotel is at the end of the strip right at the entrance to the National Park and sits in between 5 different quality restaurants within less than a five minute walk.

We found the rooms to maybe be a bit days in areas but they were clean. Housekeeping did an awesome job every day and we never lacked for towels or washcloths or other items. Breakfast wasn't a five star buffet but it was better than average for a "free" breakfast. Each day there was eggs and sausage, biscuits and gravy, omelette a made to order, and plenty of coffee and juice plus the other stuff you would expect like cereal and bagels.

I highly recommend the Clarion and am already checking availability for another upcoming trip.

Room Tip: The balconies on the front of the building overlook the street for people watching. The rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Noleball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

The Clarion Inn & Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We're so pleased to hear that enjoyed all of your accomodations such as the location, the cleaniness, the private balconies overlooking the parkway and of course the full hot breakfast. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was the newest and cleanest motel on the strip. I had an opportunity to check out most of the motels on the strip and they were all outdated and musky smelling. the only other decent motel was the Hamption inn and they were more expensive and not as nice as the Clarion. This Clarion had a great free hot breckfest that included omlets made to order. The location was great. Even though there was an added resort fee it was still the best value considering the free hot breckfast and location. I had a room facing the main street which gave us a beautiful view of the mountins and everything going on. it was like having a room on Bourbon St in New Orleans but being in Downtown Disney.
The room had Clean white bedding and granite contertops in the bathroom. all the furniture was modern and all the rooms exit in to an interior hallway. The parking was perfect and they had resort style carts to transport your luggage to your room. The pool and hot tub area was indoors but had an open roof for the summer months. The main desk area was very upscale and impressive. This was a good 4 star motel.
I would definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. Most likely a room under $100 in gatlinburg is going to be outdated and M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionGatlinburg, Manager at Black Bear Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

The Clarion Inn Suites Gatlinburg would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything about your recent stay with us including the full hot complimentary breakfast, the private balconies overlooking the parkway and just the convenience of the location of the hotel to access all that downtown has to offer. Once again we thank you for posting your comments and look forward to your next visit with us while in the Smokies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 77 in Gatlinburg
1,320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 77 in Gatlinburg
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn & Suites

Address: 1100 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3108 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £78 - £853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn & Suites Gatlinburg has a sleek, stylized look! From the lobby to rooftop Penthouse Suites and every room in between. Start your morning off right with a delicious full, hot complimentary breakfast including omelets cooked to order and Belgium waffles. The Black Bear Inn & Suites's location is ideal for everyone! Interested in a scenic drive or hike? The hotel is located only 100 yards from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the most visited park in the Nation! Want to walk or take a Trolley around downtown Gatlinburg and experience the town's many popular attractions and wide array of restaurants? Not a problem! Black Bear Inn & Suites is located right on the Parkway! Thinking about driving to Pigeon Forge to visit Dollywood, Dolly's Splash Country, Titanic Museum Attraction, shopping at Tanger Outlets or seeing Pigeon Forge's many theaters and dinner shows? Black Bear Inn & Suites is only a short drive away from Pigeon Forge. Black Bear Inn & Suites Gatlinburg is "Definitely a Cut Above!". We hope to see you in the Smoky Mountains soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Black Bear Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing