We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This hotel is in a great location, its in walking distance to everything. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a view of the city and a balcony over the river. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. It has covered parking which was good but its very tight. Overall a very good place to stay we have stayed here twice. We had stayed at four other hotels in Gatlinburg but we will be choosing this one from now on.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room. You will get a much better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

731 - 737 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

This was a comfortable stay. We had a king-sized bed and the room was nice. Continental breakfast was just like any other hotel, nothing spectacular. They had Internet access without the hassle of some hotels. Nearly everything in Gatlinburg is within walking distance. Aquarium is right next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front, as the river runs in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wickett52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Edgewater Hotel. We appreciate your patronage and your comments. I hope you will stay with us again when future plans bring you back to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I recently had a request from one of my clients for a hotel in Gatlinburg. I worked with Tonya in the sales dept who was great! After the stay I received an email from my client. He said" I would highly recommend the Hotel we stayed at in Gatlinburg. They had our keys ready for us and had us all checked in when we pulled up. The easiest and best check in of any hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

I appreciate your taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Edgewater. I will let Tonya know your positive remarks as well.
We look forward to a future visit the next time you're traveling to the Gatlinburg area.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed on the 8th floor queen room with jacuzzi and fireplace facing the mountain. The room was very clean and comfortable. The street view would have been nicer but the mountain was pretty as well. It was very quiet both nights of our stay which was a Friday and Saturday. All the staff we were involved with were very nice! We were close to downtown and the aquarium which made it convenient - didn't even move our car all weekend! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the first time with some girlfriends of mine. One of them had stayed here before and loved it. She was right! The location can't be beat right in the heart of Gatlinburg. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean. I had a balcony over the river and a great view of the city with the mountains in the background! You can walk to everything. I will be back with my husband next time!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed on the 6th floor in a double Queen roon and found it very enjoyable. We had the Creekside / City view with a balcony. THe room was very clean and had a 32" flatscreen TV.
We have been coming to Gatlinburg for over 30 years and have stayed in many properties. Other thab the tight covered parking it was nice to have the cover when it was a rainy day. We plan on staying again in the future.

Room Tip: Ther riverside/City side really give you a view of the lights and activity of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thank you for your review of the Edgewater Hotel. We appreciate your taking the time to post your comments on this site. We look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Best Regatrds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I really like this hotel. Me and my friend went here on a girl's trip. Its right in the center of everything. Nice pool with 2 hot tubs. Balcony can overlook the business strip of Parkway (if you get the riverside view). Room was cozy. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginapooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thank you for your post and your comments regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you in the future.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £71 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing