We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edgewater Hotel new home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
South Central Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Edgewater Hotel new home away from home”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Wife and I stayed for four nights over the 4th of July. We arrived at 12:30 and the room wasn't available until 4:00, which is check in time. This was our first stay here and it won't be our last. Everything about this hotel looked to be new. Carpet was in excellent condition, walls appeared to have been freshly painted, and there was a nice, new flat screen TV in the room. Beds are extremely comfortable and have four pillows each. Being an older hotel, the walls of the rooms must be thicker or something, because the hotel was sold out our entire stay and we never heard anything that went on that was not in our room. Maid service was perfect and the air conditioning was good and cold, which was good because there was record heat during our stay. Roberta (check in clerk) had a great sense of humor and treated us like royalty. All rooms at this hotel have private balconies and there is a game room, indoor/outdoor pool, and two hot tubs. The restaurant is only open for their continental breakfast and there is no room service. The free continental breakfast consisted of waffles (make your own at two stations), scrambled egg patties, biscuits and gravy, yogurt with trimmings (fruit, granola, etc.) two kinds of donuts and cereal, coffee, milk, and coffee. I think it is served 7:00-10:00am.

Yes, the elevators are slow, but only at peak times. Probably because there are only two for 221 rooms. There were several times that we used them that wait time was less than 15 seconds. And yes, the parking in the garage is tight. Very tight, but manageable if you know how to drive. Location is perfect. We are in our early 50's and walked everywhere we went in Gatlinburg. Only moved the truck to go to Pigeon Forge and to Cherokee.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers overlook the stream and face the Parkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crashpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    331
    164
    80
    44
See reviews for
355
296
6
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morganfield, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The Ac in the hotel is horrible dont stay in hot weather!!!! Also the staff is rude and hotel rooms are small. DONT STAY!

Room Tip: Fiind A different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sampson Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
I appreciate your taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. We take all posts seriously and will address these concerns as soon as possible.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
234 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This hotel is in a great location, its in walking distance to everything. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a view of the city and a balcony over the river. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. It has covered parking which was good but its very tight. Overall a very good place to stay we have stayed here twice. We had stayed at four other hotels in Gatlinburg but we will be choosing this one from now on.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room. You will get a much better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This was a comfortable stay. We had a king-sized bed and the room was nice. Continental breakfast was just like any other hotel, nothing spectacular. They had Internet access without the hassle of some hotels. Nearly everything in Gatlinburg is within walking distance. Aquarium is right next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front, as the river runs in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wickett52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Edgewater Hotel. We appreciate your patronage and your comments. I hope you will stay with us again when future plans bring you back to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I recently had a request from one of my clients for a hotel in Gatlinburg. I worked with Tonya in the sales dept who was great! After the stay I received an email from my client. He said" I would highly recommend the Hotel we stayed at in Gatlinburg. They had our keys ready for us and had us all checked in when we pulled up. The easiest and best check in of any hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
I appreciate your taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Edgewater. I will let Tonya know your positive remarks as well.
We look forward to a future visit the next time you're traveling to the Gatlinburg area.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed on the 8th floor queen room with jacuzzi and fireplace facing the mountain. The room was very clean and comfortable. The street view would have been nicer but the mountain was pretty as well. It was very quiet both nights of our stay which was a Friday and Saturday. All the staff we were involved with were very nice! We were close to downtown and the aquarium which made it convenient - didn't even move our car all weekend! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the first time with some girlfriends of mine. One of them had stayed here before and loved it. She was right! The location can't be beat right in the heart of Gatlinburg. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean. I had a balcony over the river and a great view of the city with the mountains in the background! You can walk to everything. I will be back with my husband next time!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Property: The Edgewater Hotel
Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing