We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great indoor pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Scottsboro, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great views, great indoor pool”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed in room 725 a few days ago. We had two queen beds with a balcony overlooking the river. The rooms were tiny. You could barely turn around in the bathroom. The balcony was tiny also. My kids loved the indoor pool and whirlpool. They were heated but the pool was still freezing cold. The beds were heard as a rock so we didn't get any sleep that night. The view from the balcony was of downtown Gatlinburg with the mountains in the background. Overall it was an average stay but I think we will find somewhere else to stay next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alatham2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    345
    167
    83
    44
See reviews for
371
306
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Our Church has been hosting a marriage retreat for 16 years now and The Edgewater is our most requested destination. Working with Tonya Young to set up the seminar is always a pleasure. Debra Adams does a great job setting up our catered lunch for the group. She works very hard to stay within our budget and the food is wonderful. This year Kimberly was in the group sales department and we got to meet her as well. These girls are great to work with and work together so well!

Our group loves the simplicity of the check in and the friendliness of the front desk. We place a goodie bag in each couples room and housekeeping is quick to help us accomplish this prior to our guest arriving. (Angie helped us this year and she was a big help to us).

The retreat is set for 2 nights and 3 days but many of our couples enjoy coming up earlier and/or staying over an extra night. Special thanks to Tonya and the front desk for helping make this an easy transaction.

The location is great for walking downtown and the riverview is beautiful. Look forward to returning again!

Room Tip: Riverview on a higher floor. Great view and less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Nice setting, hard to get to for business purposes since you have to fly to Knoxville or Nashville and then drive to Gatlinburg. This would be ok if it were a vacation choice, just poor choice for business. Hotel is dated and elevator is awful; you have to wait forever. Crowds of people stand and wait for long periods of time for elevator to arrive.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RubyAmysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

When you pull into the parking garage check the height of your veheicle VERY carefully, the roof is very low and our standard antena hit several times. The woman who checked us in was simply rude. She walked away when i stepped to the counter and, when i followed to her new spot, went back to where she started saying she would get me over there. i should have paid attention to the "I will get you" comment. No mention of the breakfast we were supposed to get and found out about just before they closed. The room was supposed to have a king bed, no such thing. When we got to the room and saw that we called down and were told there were no king rooms available. Odd since they were advertising walk in specials for jacuzzi rooms which, in my experience, have always had king beds. Different person, same attitude, no offer to make things right or apollogize for it not being right. The balcony was rusted and loose, the back door did not have any way to lock it. We were told later the place had recently been updated but it still needs work. The location is wonderful, the town is great, and the creek right outside is nice. Easy access to gatlinburg and all it offers but the hotel and staff were just not right. When we checked out there was no mention of the issues we had, no signs of concern of any sort, and not even a thank you for staying with us. Just an "OK, that's it." was all the woman said. At least she got that part right. There are a lot of hotels in gatlinburg. I recommend you try one of them.

Room Tip: Don't know what to say here, they got our requested room wrong and could have cared less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeM3863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, TN
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed here for 3 days over Christmas of 2012. The hotel staff were friendly and the location is hard to beat. Our room was clean but the lighting was poor and the room itself was dated and worn out. The rooms were fairly large so that was a plus. The breakfast was just plain bad and I only ate there one morning. Overall I would much prefer the Park Vista if I stayed in Galtinburg proper again. We've stayed there a few times over the years and it's now a Hilton hotel. Edgewater needs to put money back into it's hotel and hire some better interior designers.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csblinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Wonderfully located hotel on the back side of the Gatlinburg. You’re in walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The hotel is older but is very well maintained. I do have a couple things that were displeasing during our visit.
1. First was the fact that the balcony door was only looked by a thin aluminum bar that looked like a curtain rod. I know you are over a river but if someone wanted to get in it would be no barrier to prevent them from entering.
2. Parking is underneath the hotel and is very tight. I have a midsized SUV and it was tight fit to get parked, especially since others seem to take two spots. My advice is if you have an SUV, park to the right of the entrance to the garage, there are a couple spots that seem to be wider than the others.
3. If you like a soft pillow, bring your own. The pillows and bed are very firm. I can handle the bed itself but would liked softer pillows.
4. The pool area was nice. Although on busy nights it gets crowed quickly as there are only 10-12 chairs around the pool area. Our first night the pool was warm, second night is was ice cold.

Overall a very nice trip and I would stay here again for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shorty74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Front desk was wonderful and helped us with discount tickets for local attractions. We visited during the off season so the room was inexpensive and just a short walking from all the shopping. Rooms were clean and roomy. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheColliers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#30 of 78 in Gatlinburg
462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Property: The Edgewater Hotel
Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing