We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
2 reviews
“Very nice service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I checked into the motel on oct. 4th and was was checked in by a very well mannered young man, I believe his name was Jason or Justin, the other older woman at the front desk was also very kind although I was unable to catch her name, and between the two they recommended several nice restaurants. I stayed for 3 days and 2 nights, the room I stayed in was very clean with a nice view of the river. The service in this motel was very nice and I enjoyed my stay, I will defiantly be returning.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. We always strive for excellent customer service and I appreciate knowing that our staff made you feel welcome and appreciated. I wiil pass on your remarks to everyone. We look forward to another chance to host you in the near future when travel plans could bring you back to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    322
    162
    80
    44
See reviews for
349
291
5
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with our 20 month old son October 13th through October 19th. We stayed in the King suite rooms 831 and 833 (joining rooms). Large room with good size mini fridge, fireplace and balcony with a great view of mountains and the parkway. The room connected to another room with a pullout couch, 2nd bathroom, bathroom and fireplace. It was perfect for us. My son slept in a portable crib in the connected room which was nice to be able to utilize the balcony and fireplace after we out him to sleep. The room was clean and nice. The hotel staff was friendly. I didn't have problems with slow elevators, we found them average and no slower than any others. The breakfast was nice and the breakfast room was huge and very clean. I love that they had high chairs! The parking garage is a tight fit but it's not a reason to not stay. We have a mid size SUV and we fit in the spaces but it was a tight fit. We loved the location. Close enough to walk easily to the parkway but far enough back to be quiet! The stream in front of the hotel was so nice! My son loved going to feed the ducks every morning! Great hotel and will be back for sure!!! (Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is the hotel is slightly outdated, nothing major, just decor. Nothing that can't be overlooked!! ) I'd recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience here at the Edgewater. I appreciate your positive comments and am happy that your stay was pleasant and enjoyable. I hope to see you in the near future when travel plans bring you back to the Gatlinburg area.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was our 3rd time staying at this hotel. They have actually updated it since our last stay. The hotel is very clean and the beds are very comfortable. I have no complaints about that part at all. My only issue with this place was the parking. If you go out of an evening, there is absolutely no parking left in the parking garage. We had to park out on the street along with others. BUT....we will definitely stay here again :)

Room Tip: I would ask for a room facing the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cybersid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you chose to stay with us during your mountain trip. I really appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. This a no frills, fairly price hotel in a great location. They have friendly assoaiates and it is very clean for an older hotel. The continental breakfast left something to be desired, but is was free.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor regarding your stay here at the Edgewater. I agree that our hotel is in a great location to the attractions in downtown Gatlinburg. A short walk and you're on the Strip. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to a future visit when travel plans bring you back to the Great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boaz ky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Nice clean room hotel staff very friendly. Hotel garage is really too small and breakfast was nothing to brag about. The location is great tho! Spaces in garage are way too small hard to get in and out and breakfast needed better donuts and maybe gravy for your biscuits.

Room Tip: one on street side or creek side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I appreciate your suggestions, and will certainly discuss them with upper management. I hope when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg, you will again choose to stay at the Edgewater.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, KS
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Was on a tour with about 50 people. We were in our rooms in a reasonable time. The place is just ok, used and abused, needs a facelift. Don't expect much for breakfast. First day was biscuits and patty sausage, no gravy, no eggs, a biscuit and a sausage patty. Second day was a biscuit and an egg patty. No gravy, no sausage or bacon, a biscuit and a egg patty. Maybe I expect too much. We were on the sixth floor. This place has the slowest elevators ever. Wasn't a terrible stay, all and all just ok.

Room Tip: Most of the hotels along the river have age on them. If you want a newer hotel you would probably b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCMJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Edgewater. We strive for excellent customer service and appreciate your feedback. I hope that when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg, you will again consider staying with us again.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We waited a bit on check in, but other than that we enjoyed the location and view. The elevators were slow and seemed to be the only downfall. The the staff left us complimentary drinks as it was our 25th wedding Anniversary. Wish we could of checked in sooner than 4 so that we didn't get in the traffic jam up the road for an hour.
Breakfast wasn't the greatest.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dudetta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will choose to stay with us again when you are in Gatlinburg for a future visit. If you choose to come to the area early in the afternoon, please feel free to call the hotel and we will do our best to accommodate you before the 4pm check in time.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Property: The Edgewater Hotel
Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing