We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Gatlinburg Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Edgewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Gatlinburg Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have stayed at Edgewater many times and always enjoy our time there. We ask for the same suite each visit and have always gotten it. This time it was extremely cold and the fireplaces were lit when we walked into the rooms...nice! The breakfast is a nice convenience. The staff is always friendly. It is like every other Gatlinburg hotel in that when large groups, especially youth, are staying there, the pool area is crowded and rowdy and the elevator service is slow.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and the Edgewater. We appreciate your positive comments and I will pass them on to our staff. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    317
    158
    80
    43
See reviews for
344
288
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was our first time staying at The Edgewater and were truly impressed with the hotel. The rooms were very nice, you can tell they were recently updated. The entire hotel was clean. The staff was extremely friendly. The location was ideal as we could walk to any attractions in town. Overall, we were very satisfied and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnoxvilleTraveler865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the Edgewater and our staff. We appreciate your giving us an opportunity to host you and I'm glad your accommodations and service were satisfactory. We hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to your return visit when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stopped on way back home. It is simply a hotel room. It had been updated though and the bed slept really well. The outside and hallways don't look updated but the rooms were and that's the most important to me.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for choosing the Edgewater during your recent stay in Gatlinburg. We appreciate your comments and your patronage. We look to hosting you again when travel plans bring you back to our area.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I love this hotel. Extremely convenient to downtown, love to sit on the balcony and watch the river and the ducks go by. The rooms are not the most elegant in the world, but they are clean and comfortable at a reasonable price. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Always stay on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate all of our guests and comments. We look forward to your return visit when travel plans bring you back to the Gatlinburg area.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

- GREAT location! Walking distance to everything in town. (Hands down, stay in Gatlinburg if visiting the area.)
- I thought the pool was okay, kind of dark. However, my kids loved it and they were the ones using it!
- Hotel IS older. If you like brand new, it isn't for you. However we were comfortable.
- Room accommodated my family of 5. (Paid an extra $10/night for a fold up bed but so much more affordable than having to book two rooms.)
- Free breakfast was nice. Enough options that we all had enough to stay fueled through the morning.
- Parking is below the building. Vehicles over 6' 6" won't fit. Ours didn't but parking was provided for us about two blocks away which was okay but lot is hidden and I had some concern for vehicle safety.
- For what we paid, well worth it.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Meltonkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate your comments and recommendations to family and friends and we look forward to your next visit to Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel during Extreme and it was a nightmare. It took anywhere from 15 to 30 minutes to get to our room (8th floor) from the garage due to the number of kids going up and down constantly. They also took to running up and down the stairwells and the halls. On a side note, since we did not have our room serviced, we were told we would have to get more towels from the front desk vs. the ones on the cart?? Yes the location is ideal but unless you are interested in vacationing with teenagers, I would skip this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamala74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay during the Extreme Conference. I apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory due to the large volume of youth in the hotel. We appreciate all of our guests and hope that you might consider staying with us again during a quieter time of year.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinckneyville IL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel with our Church youth group Dec 29 thru the 31st. Its not the nicest hotel we have stayed at but not the worst! The rooms where clean, the beds where nice. The Breakfast to me don't waste your time! I believe the hotel was sold out and our room got cleaned so I think that is a big plus! If I was going down with my family don't think I would pick this hotel to stay at but it wasn't bad for what it was!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Wright0769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We appreciate your recent stay at the Edgewater during the Extreme conference and thank you for your comments. We value all the Extreme participants and look forward to hosting the conference in 2014.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.4 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#38 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Property: The Edgewater Hotel
Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing