We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for the weekend. When I got to the hotel the staff was quick to get us checked in and very professional and polite! When we got up to our floor the fireplace in our room was already going! It felt amazing. The room was warm and inviting! The location was even better. We could walk anywhere we needed and wanted to go. I will be coming back to this hotel next time I come to Gatlinburg!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jnbe222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Edgewater. We appreciate your comments and are glad your room was comfortable and our Front Desk staff gave you excellent customer service. I will pass on your comments to them.
We look forward to your next visit when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Edgewater hotel has been our Gatlinburg home in February for our church group for years. The expertise in booking, meeting space and front desk staff is incomparable. We love working with them! We highly recommend the Edgewater.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northatlantacofc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Edgewater. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to having your youth group again during the 2015 Church of Christ event.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have stayed at Edgewater many times and always enjoy our time there. We ask for the same suite each visit and have always gotten it. This time it was extremely cold and the fireplaces were lit when we walked into the rooms...nice! The breakfast is a nice convenience. The staff is always friendly. It is like every other Gatlinburg hotel in that when large groups, especially youth, are staying there, the pool area is crowded and rowdy and the elevator service is slow.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and the Edgewater. We appreciate your positive comments and I will pass them on to our staff. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was our first time staying at The Edgewater and were truly impressed with the hotel. The rooms were very nice, you can tell they were recently updated. The entire hotel was clean. The staff was extremely friendly. The location was ideal as we could walk to any attractions in town. Overall, we were very satisfied and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnoxvilleTraveler865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding the Edgewater and our staff. We appreciate your giving us an opportunity to host you and I'm glad your accommodations and service were satisfactory. We hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to your return visit when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stopped on way back home. It is simply a hotel room. It had been updated though and the bed slept really well. The outside and hallways don't look updated but the rooms were and that's the most important to me.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for choosing the Edgewater during your recent stay in Gatlinburg. We appreciate your comments and your patronage. We look to hosting you again when travel plans bring you back to our area.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I love this hotel. Extremely convenient to downtown, love to sit on the balcony and watch the river and the ducks go by. The rooms are not the most elegant in the world, but they are clean and comfortable at a reasonable price. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Always stay on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate all of our guests and comments. We look forward to your return visit when travel plans bring you back to the Gatlinburg area.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

- GREAT location! Walking distance to everything in town. (Hands down, stay in Gatlinburg if visiting the area.)
- I thought the pool was okay, kind of dark. However, my kids loved it and they were the ones using it!
- Hotel IS older. If you like brand new, it isn't for you. However we were comfortable.
- Room accommodated my family of 5. (Paid an extra $10/night for a fold up bed but so much more affordable than having to book two rooms.)
- Free breakfast was nice. Enough options that we all had enough to stay fueled through the morning.
- Parking is below the building. Vehicles over 6' 6" won't fit. Ours didn't but parking was provided for us about two blocks away which was okay but lot is hidden and I had some concern for vehicle safety.
- For what we paid, well worth it.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Meltonkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate your comments and recommendations to family and friends and we look forward to your next visit to Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £71 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing