We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It was our 1st time stay here, it was good, and quiet:: only dislikes was the elevators are slow, parking spaces are to close, and our view was at back (yuck), nowhere else to sit outside except for at pool!! BUT overall we enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bks91199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for choosing the Edgewater during your recent stay in Gatlinburg. I appreciate your honest comments and hope we can again host your family when you next visit the Great Smoky Mountains area.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel in great location......however, hard to find registration on first visit, parking too tight, elevators too slow, too few luggage carts, ran out of breakfast foods on buffet and too slow to replenish, carpets need cleaning in hallways and bathrooms way too small......needs lots of remodeling and updating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Markaudrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Edgewater. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will again choose the Edgewater when travel plans bring you back to the Great Smoky Mountains and Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

First time staying here and thought it was a nice place. The elevators were extremely slow and parking is not for trucks! Loves the sidewalk next to creek in front of hotel! The pool was nice.... Wish the outdoor part was bigger, but an ideal place for the winter months! But overall, was pleased with our stay and will stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheyennetiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Wife and I spent 3 nights here for a quick trip in June. This was our 3rd stay here over the last 5 yrs. had mt view room. Do not reccomend. Check in not friendly, hotel showing age,SLOW elevators,TIGHT parking. Better choices in area but you'll pay more.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Elliesoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post regarding your stay at the Edgewater. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay and hope to see you again when you are next in the Gatlinburg area.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Edgewater is in a great location. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean but very dated and tired. Beware of the parking for large vehicles. The Edgewater hotel sits on top of its own garage;great we thought. The garage is as old as the hotel and built for smaller vehicles. The bottom floor (only) has space for large trucks, vans, etc. Theses spaces are tight and require much maneuvering to park. An alternate parking area is available at no cost a block away. After our first night we opted for this alternative. We would stay here again only after other options were explored.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annette0990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay at the Edgewater. I appreciate your honesty and concerns. I will pass all comments on to our Management Staff. We look forward to hosting you again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Hotel is dated, but clean. Staff is friendly and knowledgable, and more than willing to help with all your reservations and attractions. Hotel is centrally located, next to the Aquarium and within walking distance of all Gatlinburg attractions. Excellent on site complimentary covered parking. Downside is that there was no staff supervision at the breakfast bar and area, the breakfast area was a mess and they were out of food by 9:00 am. My suggestion would be to have staff monitor the area and maintain it during breakfast as some guests didn't know how to keep control of their kids and clean up after themselves.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate your comments and suggestions regarding your stay and the Continental Breakfast. We look forward to hosting you again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have been to Gatlinburg so many times I can't count them. Have always wanted to give the Edgewater a try. Wanted a room with a balcony overlooking stream and walk way which we had. Enjoyed sitting out there and people watching. Front desk person was incredibly hospitable and professional; as were other employees that we encountered. Room was clean. Yes the rooms here are outdated HOWEVER THAT IS PART OF THE CHARM of staying here!I wish I had taken a picture of the Mantel over the gas fireplace. Very 1920's and CHARMING! As long as it's clean and has the necessities that's all that really matters to us. The SHOWER was THE BEST shower of ANY place we have stayed INCLUDING Chalets and The Holiday Inn Express. The reason? There is actual ROOM for shampoo, soap, conditioner etc. They have a tub surround with cubby holes for your stuff. This gets a BIG A PLUS for me...AND there was adequate lighting in the bathroom to dry hair and apply make up. So many places do NOT have this! The mattress and pillows were very comfortable! Hard to find in hotels/motels.... The breakfast buffet was very nice. Check in and check out was easy and fast. Parking was great! Was within walking distance of SO MANY things to see and do. As we were there only one night all we did was walk to dinner. Would for sure come back here if we want "town" experience rather than Chalet which we usually prefer through Chalet Village. Did have trouble with the window A/C...it DID keep the room cool however was so loud it became frustrating. A/C trouble seemed to be a problem at the other place we stayed before Gatlinburg which was not good for my husband as he is hot all the time in the summer.

Room Tip: Back side of Hotel has mountain view only so if you want too people watch get a front view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holly121416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Edgewater. I appreciate your comments and look forward to another opportunity to host you when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Gatlinburg, TN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: £71 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing